We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home stay at Apia.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samoa Marina Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Apia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Samoa Marina Hotel
Save
You added Samoa Marina Hotel to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Matautu-tai, Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Apia B&B and Inns
Moscow,Russia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
“Great home stay at Apia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I moved to this hotel after one terrible night at Tatiana Motel near the bus station. The location is perfect - near the sea port, on the street of good bars and restaurants. 15 min drive to Robert Luis Stevenson Museum. I paid just 99 tala for a single AC room. its very competitive price. The manager Tatiana is very friendly and helpfull organized great tour around the island. Many thanks. Only one thing which i dislike was the swimming pool. its a slime on the pool floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
6
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Apia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Charged late checkout after a long stay and no guests checking into room after us. Espresso machine not utilised and now turned off because nobody knows how to use it. Get some training!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Viewing on the web is misleading as in reality the Hotel is not so appealing.We booked 2 rooms downstairs but on arrival they were not available so took a more expensive room upstairs which was not value for money.Room full of mosquito's, no pillow cases which revealed badly stained pillows, carpet had clumps of sand/mud on it, bedspread had blood on it, sheet had suspect dirt on it and the shower was filthy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were not looking for a modern and luxurious sort of hotel during our three days tour. What we wanted all was a comfortable stay at affordable price. Luckily we arrived at Samoa Marina Hotel through a reference. The hotel stood simply perfect on our expectations. The hotel staff were certainly a surprise. Never expected them to be so hospitable and friendly which they actually were. Our room was more than big for us and even the bed was comfortable. We slept with no difficulty all nights. Now we would be required to wonder where to go and where to stay on the next visit. We will directly be coming to Samoa Marina Hotel for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I felt this hotel looked better on the web than in real life.
It is clean. It is ok.
The best thing about this hotel is the people who work there. Really lovely, friendly people.
The room was more expensive because of a marina view...but actually window and view not really feature of room due to construction. Room pretty basic. All decor very basic.
Room aircon was good. Cleaniness was good. Breakfast was out the back in a courtyard....some slices of toast, butter..i had to ask for a spread and got marmite. Coffee not good.Waitress with nose sniffling at service.
An airport pick up was arranged via email but turned out to be a regular taxi driver. So why bother?
I don't know- I feel this hotel would do best by lowering their prices and just being who they are.
They are trying to come across as really pro. charging like pros and then there is abit of a let down.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

We found this hotel to be one of the best we stayed at during our trip. The airport transfer was there waiting for us when we got in at 0020, which was great. We booked a downstairs room and they were very clean and comfortable. The only downside was we were put into a very small room that was a bout 3ft from reception (and so could hear everything) as well as the water pump which was located just outside our window. However, the next day when we mentioned it they promptly moved us to a much quieter and larger downstairs room. If we were to return, we'd either try to get into rm 105, or just pay extra and go upstairs. This was mainly because the downstairs rooms are a tad close to reception and most likely a bit noisy

All of the staff were friendly and very helpful. We got some good shopping tips from the ladies on reception. There are two very nice restaurants very close by and a geat ice-cream parlour (oh la la - btw thats the name of it I'm not trying out my french accent). It takes about a 15-20 minute to walk into the centre of Apia (which we did after we had acclimatised) along the very pretty harbourside but taxi's are very reasonable. They are in the process of putting in a cafe/bar and a pool, which will be great..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samoa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samoa Marina Hotel

Address: Matautu-tai, Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Apia
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Samoa Marina Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Samoa Marina Hotel Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samoa Marina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.