We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent central location - very relaxed and pleasant,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tanoa Tusitala Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Apia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent central location - very relaxed and pleasant,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Accepting the few 'Samoa Time' issues lack of pool towels, dodgy internet connections and such very minor issues when in Samoa this is a delightful place to stay.

Poolside bar and restaurant atmosphere was just lovely as was the evening entertainment, rooms, meals and reception.


Took taxi trip around island to villages, hotels and countryside - such delightful people to be with to experience and enjoy their life at their pace.

Thank you Samoa.

Room Tip: All area are good but no lift to any upper floor rooms. Often such a relief to enter the air con roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Talofa lava Roninspector,

New Year greetings from the treasured islands of Samoa and the Tanoa Tusitala!

On behalf of our Management and Team Members, I thank you most sincerely for sharing your online feedback.

We are avidly working towards further improving our internet services and we are hopeful that this will be completed early in the first quarter of the year. A recent consignment of additional pool towels has assisted with elevating previous service issues at our poolside area.

When it‘s time to embrace the culture of these islands, "Fa‘a Samoa" involves discarding our watches, as many clothes as is decently possible and finding humour in every situation.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the South Pacific again soon.


Fa’afetai

Peter Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    127
    55
    21
    27
See reviews for
73
84
29
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I recently stayed for two weeks at Tanoa Tusitala in Apia for business. The friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere ensured this was a trip I will remember. Tanoa was a great base to explore the rest of the island.

The food at Tanoa was always good and the barista coffee was one of the best we encountered in Apia.

I thoroughly enjoyed my short time on Upolu and hope to get back to visit with the family one day. With the Samoans always welcoming and happy to see us. There is so much natural beauty around Upolu make sure you find time to get out and see the rest of the island.

AAA+++, highly recommended in my books.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Talofa lava Senator 425,

Warm greetings from “the treasured islands” of the South Pacific!

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Tanoa Tusitala and thank you for your kind words of appreciation. All the team, were delighted to read your very favorable impressions of our property.

We are seeing Increasing numbers of guests using the Tanoa Tusitala as a base from where to explore the many natural wonders that the main island of Upolu has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to enjoy our surrounds, friendly services, cuisine and great coffee.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you together with your family back to our beautiful part of the South Pacific again soon.


Kind Regards and best wishes
Peter Kerr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Tanoa Tusitala. For most of us it was our fist time to Samoa. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and an easy walk to Apia town.
The staff were friendly and accomodating and looked after us the whole duration of our stay! We even had the pleasure of meeting the General Managers who do a fantastic job here and were so friendly to our group.

I would definetly stay here again and I would highly recommend hiring a rental car, This accommodation is in Apia town, however easy to drive to other places.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Talofa M and SH,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review in relation to your recent stay at our Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your first visit to Samoa and our hotel.

Just like you, we are Increasing numbers of guests are using the Tanoa Tusitala as a base from where to conduct business or to explore the many natural wonders that the main island of Upolu has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to enjoy our surrounds, services and comfortable spacious rooms.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the South Pacific again soon.

With kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We found this hotel to be ideally located for our needs. We walked into town easily. Not far from the markets or the main street. They can orgainse any tour you may require, even car hire. Food and drink here is more expensive but other options are close by. Great happy hour prices.The rooms were modern and clean. The staff are very helpful, but do have a little trouble with english. so be prepared to explain things to them, if you have problems in your room, better to show them rather than tell them. Overall I have a great time here, and the staff were wonderful. Very clean, very safe and very well looked after.....a big thank you to all......

Room Tip: If you want an early night, don't stay too close to the bar, they do have sing a longs etc but c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Talofa Vanessa A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review in relation to your recent stay at our Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your first visit to Samoa and our hotel.

Just like you, we are Increasing numbers of guests are using the Tanoa Tusitala as a base from where to conduct business or to explore the many natural wonders that the main island of Upolu has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to enjoy our surrounds, services and comfortable spacious rooms.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the South Pacific again soon.

With kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a week at the Tanoa. It was beautiful, i definately reccomend this place to stay at if you want friendly room attendants, great security guards, very helpful reception ladies and last but not least the best bar staff ever. A special shout out to seri, roudolf, keli, terry, tina, fou, lisa, ben, andy, lauli and tia you are all BEAUTIFUL and made my stay so memorable. I will definately be staying at the tanoa the next time im in samoa.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Talofa Teraniah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review in relation to your weeks stay at our Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your first visit to Samoa and our hotel.

Just like you, we are Increasing numbers of guests are using the Tanoa Tusitala as a base from where to conduct business or to explore the many natural wonders that the main island of Upolu has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to enjoy our surrounds, services and comfortable spacious rooms.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the South Pacific again soon.

With kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The rooms are very clean and they feel like home. Being young and travelling with a friend the hotel was great to meet other young people but there were also families that seemed to be enjoying themselves just as much as I. The hotel is beautiful but the staff are the best thing about this place. I hardly left the hotel because the staff are just so friendly! The bar staff are so friendly and welcoming. But overall all the staff are great! They all made my first trip to Samoa perfect and I will most defiantly be going back to Samoa and back to this hotel. a massive thank you to Seri, Ben, Terry, Tracey, Tia, Rudolph, Andy, Lauli (sorry can't spell your name), Kelly, Lisa and the security guards that all made my trip so much fun! Louisa xoxox Faafetai!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Talofa Louisa S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review in relation to your recent stay at our Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you enjoyed your first visit to Samoa and our hotel.

Just like you, we are Increasing numbers of guests are using the Tanoa Tusitala as a base from where to conduct business or to explore the many natural wonders that the main island of Upolu has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to enjoy our surrounds, services and comfortable spacious rooms.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the South Pacific again soon.

With kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very good location if you are doing business in Apia, and only a few minutes walk to centre of town. Nice modern spacious room, very good service and nice staff, very good food served at the Deck restaurant. The downsides were that breakfast was ordinary; the air conditioner in the room was very noisy, so sleeping was disturbed. Hotel is about 30 minutes drive from airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTTH, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Talofa AA & AR Travellers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review in relation to your recent stay at our Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our rooms, guest service delivery and quality of cuisine in the Deck Bar.

I appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast and agree that this is something we need to further improve as does the regular servicing of our in room air conditioning units.

Increasing numbers of guests are using the Tanoa Tusitala as a base from where to conduct business or to explore the many natural wonders that the main island of Upolu has to offer whilst at the same time returning each evening to enjoy our surrounds, services and comfortable spacious rooms.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I do hope we are able to welcome you back to our beautiful part of the South Pacific again soon.

With kind regards

Peter Kerr
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to all major offices,and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There is 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features a swimming pool and children’s pool, Tamarind Specialty restaurant, tennis courts and Poolside Bar.Senakai Spa is located at the Hotel, and is the perfect place to rewind, relax and enjoy some wonderful Spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.