We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of a hotel...staff need serious training.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tanoa Tusitala Hotel to your Saves list
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Apia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waste of a hotel...staff need serious training.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I could write a novel about the lack of professionalism in ALL areas of this place. The only thing this place has is the location, the pool and the rooms (when they're cleaned properly).

Management needs to pay attention to details, pay attention to their guests, know how to work their billing system and staff need to seriously attend some kind of customer service course. And of course, SMILE!!!

Chef needs to taste his own food and see if he likes it. We didn't. It was dry, bland and boring ESPECIALLY breakfast. Yes, we are fussy but we're also paying heaps so we expect the best. Thank God Amanakis and Swashbucklers is only down the road. Strongly recommend these 2 restaurants if you're staying at Tanoa but looking for tasty food, quick service with a smile and reasonable prices. Tanoa needs new beds, beddings and at least a couple of chairs for the verandah. And housemaids need to learn to clean...maybe a trip overseas to see how other hotels operate will be good for them.

So many things we weren't happy with here we were close to checking out but we didn't want to pack up the kids again and relocate. Management seriously need to look at surveys for customers or come out, meet your guests and ask about their stay...then fix the problems or at least TRY. I would like to stay here again as the location is perfect for my travels and I like the pool but I know I will only get disappointed and pissed off again...especially for the prices they charge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We obviously did not meet your expectations and I am sorry. We are always working on training and improving our standards and our staff. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to get it right for you on your next visit. Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    160
    68
    19
    19
See reviews for
88
88
33
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The location and amenity of public spaces of the Tanoa Tusitala is excellent and can't be faulted. However there were inconsistencies in the level of service and facilities that I couldn't quite fathom. For example, the rooms were really a basic motel room given a fancy name like 'deluxe king' and then provided with really cheap and nasty plastic chairs on the balcony and no table. We asked for a table to be brought in 3 times but it was a no show on each occasion. It's not as if the hotel was full and there were better quality fittings on some empty balconies. I think Reception just does the 'nod and smile' and then ignores any request which is too hard. Another example was in house keeping. Excellent generally but then would tidy and replace tea/coffee making area but not wipe any spills. Stale milk in the tropics is not a good smell. These little inconsistencies got to me. The bed was the worst I've ever slept in - a saggy, baggy old thing that left us with aching necks and shoulders every morning - not what I expected from a 'king deluxe'. The underlay didn't fit the mattress size and came only half way across the bed which made sleeping on it very uncomfortable. I mean really! Get some linen that fits the bed. Spend a little to make these rooms really live up to the fancy title they are given.
Some of this may sound petty but we were paying top dollar and expected a little more. This is an expensive place. Every other hotel in Apia charges $5 for a local beer but at TT it is $9. A late check out is charged at $25 per hour which is very, very expensive!
The staff were generally wonderful and the Fia Fia night was just fabulous - well worth the cost. Iva, especially was a delightful staff member - very helpful and friendly. A couple of the young men who work around the pool area were 'friendly' to the point of being annoying and we just wished they'd go away and leave us alone
I would return to this hotel and we did very much enjoy our time there but it just needs some attention to detail to justify the cost per night and really make it a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Talofa and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed our Fiafia night, and would return to the hotel, even though you had a number of issues.
Our balcony furniture is currently being renewed, Unfortunalty the furniture that was originally bought for the balcony's & patios only 3 years ago, has not lasted in the heat over here, so we are in the process of renewing all outdoor furniture. The plastic chairs are an interim measure.
Your comments on the front office and other departments will be addressed with the staff, and I do hope that next time you visit Samoa you will stay with us and hopefully the issues you had will have been rectified. Thanks & Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKJL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms are very well presented, very clean and very comfortable. Good variety of food, both local and international. The Fia-fia night showcased some qulity local entertainment featuring hotel staff. Very friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: Rooms in the 100 and 200 range are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and our Fiafia night. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Samoa.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Tanoa Tusitala is located right in Apia so it is central to everything. The staff are wonderful, warm and welcoming and the hotel itself is lovely. Our room was really well appointed and the central pool area was well visited at 30 degrees every day! Fabulous place, we would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had a double deluxe room facing the back of the hotel out to the gardens and banana plantation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello and many thanks for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay with us. So pleased that you had a fabulous holiday, and enjoyed The Tanoa. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Samoa.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The grounds were lovely, the rooms were clean, the shower was hot and powerful, the staff were friendly and took the time to chat, the food was better than average for the island.
Great value. We took our parents with us and they loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Talofa and Thank you for your positive comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time at Tanoa and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Samoa.
Thanks & Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koto-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of Apia city, so we can walk around the governmental office and favorite shop. i recommend this hotel for newcomers in Apia!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Talofa, Appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback on the Tanoa Tusitala. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Samoa.
Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tanoa Tusitala Hotel was this icing on the cake of what was a beautiful and relaxing stay in Apia Samoa. The hotels website photos do not lie. The rooms, pool, restaurant and grounds are very accurately presented and we were very happy with all the facilities in our room down to the little things ie the can of fly spray for those Mosquitos. The air conditioning unit was great and the filter in the inside unit was spotless and lint free allowing full force cooling. The complimentary bottled water on arrival in the small room fridge was appreciated along with note about the tap water if you have sensitive stomachs. What was also appreciated was the refreshing of small milk containers for teas and coffee. I know in NZ after you initial use of the supplied milk you purchase more yourself. The housekeeping staff were friendly helpful and kept our room to a high standard and were unobtrusive in doing so.
The standard of food from breakfasts and lunches to dinners was very high and value for money as was the selections of beers, wines and cocktails. Waiting staff were great and more like hosts. They were a wealth of knowledge not only of the hotel but of Apia and Upolo in general. Check in was smooth as was check out. But give yourself time to review your bill and don't leave it to the last minute, particularly if you've charged all food drinks etc to your room. The staff were most obliging and helpful in resolving any hiccups. The location of the hotel is great. Close to the bus park , flea market and downtown Apia but quiet and peaceful. We found Apia suited our style of holiday, we are not long stay beach resort people but with the pool at the hotel we were happy to indulge in lying around then when needing vibrancy heading out on photography walks round Apia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanoa T, General Manager at Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Talofa. Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Tanoa. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciated some of the smaller touches, such as the water and insect spray. We look forward to welcoming you back to Tanoa on your next visit to Samoa. Thank you & Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tanoa Tusitala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Tusitala Hotel

Address: Beach Rd | Sogi, Apia, Upolu 1, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanoa Tusitala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Apia, the Tanoa Tusitala Hotel is the ideal Hotel for Business and leisure. It is located within walking distance to all major offices,and is easily accesable to all major tourist spots.There is 95 beautifully renovated guest rooms all with individually controlled Air Conditioning. Situated on 12 acres of landscaped gardens and offering all the facilities you would expect of a 4 Star Plus Hotel. The hotel features a swimming pool and children’s pool, Tamarind Specialty restaurant, tennis courts and Poolside Bar.Senakai Spa is located at the Hotel, and is the perfect place to rewind, relax and enjoy some wonderful Spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Tanoa Tusitala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Tusitala Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanoa Tusitala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.