We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food with a stunning waterfront view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paddles Restaurant

Paddles Restaurant
Main Beach Rd | Matautu-Tai, Apia, Upolu, Samoa (Formerly Paddles)
+685 21819
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Apia
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wellington,
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrific food with a stunning waterfront view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Paddles is in the top 5 eateries in Apia, it has the best view, right on the waterfront, don't be put off by the slightly scruffy frontage ( they don't own the building) The food is fantastic, great service, very chilled place. you can just go dor a bottle of wine or drinks and soak up the views. Deffinately a must place

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossiFamily_12, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Talofa Lava Wellington Roo,
Thank you for taking the time to post your genuine comments on Tripadvisor.com regarding our restaurant. We are certainly encouraged by such fantastic review and looking forward to you next visit.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    75
    28
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum, Yum top restaurant a slice of Italy!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I returned to Samoa twice this year and both times went to Paddles. This time with our family. It is so reliable, their food and service is impeccable. Beautiful range of food from amazing Italian pasta a specialty, seafood galore and the best pork belly, as for dessert yum, amazing chocolate cake and panna cotta the list goes on.
Once again the service is wonderful and friendly, menu is suitably priced for good quality food that doesn't blow the budget.
See you next time

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossiFamily_12, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Talofa Lava Brownbunch06,
We are delighted to read that you and your party enjoyed your experiences at Paddles Restaurant. It is such a pleasure to read your comment on Tripadvisor.com and Thank you for rating our food and service as "impeccable".
Thank you for your business and looking forward to cater to your needs in the near future.
Grazie Mille e Arrivederci.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Oka in Apia and best restaurant view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stunning location. We watched the sun set over the harbour whilst watching men race their team canoes.

Best Oka in Apia but go here hungry because I struggled to eat my main course after a huge starter.

Please note though that this is mainly italian food. We were highly recommended this restaurant but were expecting a few more local dishes

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossiFamily_12, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Talofa Lava Kiwicarmen,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor.com.
We are naturally happy to learn you have enjoyed our Traditional Samoan Oka, one of our signature dish, and our amazing view.
Thank you for the patronage,
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location and good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We went for dinner with a small group of girlfriends who were visiting for the first time. The restaurant was very busy and we were seated closer to the restaurant interior, but still managed to capture some sea views. However, I would recommend if the railing was a transparent glass it would make the amazing sea views more visible :-). The meals were pleasant and good presentation. It was unfortunate they didn't stock any bubbles which is a must in tropical weather. Nevertheless we had a bottle of pinot gris which wasn't great, but we received very good customer service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossiFamily_12, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Talofa Lava Jettway,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Tripadvisor.com.
We are pleased to learn you have ejoyed our meals and customer service. Thank you for your comment on our wine list, your feedback has been taken on board from Management and we have now added glasses and bottles of bubblings on our wine list.
Hope to have cater to your needs in the near future and bookings are highly recommended to ensure the best view from our verandah.
Thank you e Mille Grazie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Amazing food, service and of course you can't beat a Vailima! And the apple pies are beautiful! A real value for money :-)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossiFamily_12, Owner at Paddles Restaurant, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Talofa Lava Ange Kennedy,
It is a pleasure to read your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. Thank you for your comment and hope to see you again in the near future.
Ciao e Grazie Mille.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paddles Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paddles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddles Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.