We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tatiana motel is amazing i really miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono

Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Apia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono
Save
You added Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono to your Saves list
Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Apia
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tatiana motel is amazing i really miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Tatiana motel is about 5 minute walk from the hospital, it was very convinent for medical student who are attached to the hospital. If you are a medical student i would really recommend this place.
Town is about 25min walk or a quik 3min cab ride which is around 4-5 talas
The accomodation is very affordable
The motel it self was amazing i had such a good experience with my accomodation.
The rooms are big and clean with air condition and double bed (if your traveling alone) mini-fridge, own bathroom and shower. i had the room up the stairs and had hot water through out the whole day. although the room the in front had cold water through out the day but get used it.
There is a complimentery continental breakfast. Bread, tea, coffee, milk milo are available all day. Safe and free water is avaiable through out the day. we are not allowed to wash up!
There is also a tv and dvd player in the common room and the dvd rental is a 4 min walk.
They have a quick laundry service for 10 tala, if you give your bag in the morning they will be washed and dryed by the afternoon.
The internet service which is available in tatianas is lava spot (wifi hot spot) and cost 40 talas for 4 hours, the more hours you buy the cheaper it gets. the speed aint bad
What i like most about tatianas is that you feel you are part of the family and they are very accepting and help. All the workers there are so nice and friendly specially su'e.
The owners brenda and papa are so helpful as is athene the manager

Athene is great manager she helps out organising trips to samoas attactions and to the other islands and places to stay near beaches especially the beach fales in lanumanu or even for nights out (you need to go fiesta on a friday at v-bar 5.30-7 pay 30 talas and its free drinks from then, its the best night out in samoa) and for places to eat.
Staying at tatianas is such a laugh with the other medical student and guest makes it a amazing atmosphere to stay in. I stayed with 20 other medical students from places around the world.

I would definately come back to this motel and would recommend it to any one looking for a cheap place to stay

Thanks alot athene, brenda and papa you have made my trip complete

Room Tip: get the room up the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Had a great time here...rooms are lovely and air conditioned, breakfast included and you really feel part of the family. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arorangi
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a basic hotel about a 25 minute walk or 5 minute taxi ride (5 Tala - or about $2.30 US ) from downtown Apia on the Cross Island road. 5 minutes walk from the hospital and close to the National University of Samoa and Fangalii Airport (if you are coming in from Pago.)

Rooms were air conditioned and clean and bright Bedding and towels were changed twice weekly or on request, a continental breakfast is included and there's tea and coffee and toast available 24/7. Laundry service is available at 10 Tala ($4 US) for a good sized bag) -- a bargain :-) Water is heated by solar energy so showers are cool to cold in the morning -- but good and hot from noon onwards.

This is not a luxury hotel but a great place for travelers who, like me, are on a tight budget and prefer to experience the local culture rather than the artificial westernized atmosphere of the resorts.

The most important component of the hotel is the family that runs it. Athene, the young, energetic, perpetually cheerful and helpful manager. Afoa and Brenda -- her parents -- who are the owners of the three Tatiana Hotels and the RSA club (Tatiana is Brenda's middle name) -- when you stay are Tatiana's you become a part of an extended family that consists of Athene, Afoa and Brenda and a the current group of medical students from around the world doing a Residency at the hospital. This extended family is amazingly close knit and welcoming -- it was a delight to stay there.

Athene is a wonder when it comes to booking those trips to the Beach Fales, -- she can certainly find the best prices :-) -- or for car rentals or a restaurant suggestion or reservation -- she is an amazing resource.

If you are a medical student looking for along term affordable accommodation, or a budget traveler looking for a clean bed and a warm welcome at a great price, Tatiana's is the place for you. I'd go back in a heartbeat!!!

Thanks Athene, Afoa and Brenda.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

If you want to stay in a family environment where the owners and staff honestly care about your welfare and happiness - you will not do better than this hotel. It is not a 'resort-type' hotel with swimming pool and bar. We stayed for almost 3 weeks in a superior room (about $50 per night) which was spotless and cleaned whenever we asked. The room had fan and air conditioning, fridge, TV, a large comfortable queen size bed, and large, separate bathroom. The remainder of the guests were mainly medical students and doctors of all ages from around the world and we had a 93 year old gentleman from NZ. The owners (Afoa and Brenda) and their family (daughters,sons and grandchildren) all live on site and make sure your every wish is catered for - you become part of their extended family. Athene ( Afoa's and Brenda's daughter) will arrange everything for you at special rates (car hire, excursions, taxis) - you name it, Athene will fix it - always with a willingness and special smile. The grandchildren who are often present in the very large lounge/kitchen area add to the charm and are well behaved. Most of the guests meet up for breakfast (complimentary) in the breakfast/lounge area and the food and drink are available all day if you need a break at any time( they make sure that you do not go hungry or thirsty at any time) We (my wife and I, both 'mature' in age) were amazed at the amount of trouble the staff went to in order to make every guest's stay a memorable event. The centre of town is only 5 minutes away by taxi ( cost $2 US or Australian) and in a quiet area. It is close to several very good restaurants and a supermarket is 4 minutes away by foot. The hotel has overnight security guards at the entrance to prevent any unwanted guests so you feel secure. Your laundry items are cleaned for you (and pressed if desired) for a very small fee - there are no hidden rip-offs- just a very honest and sincere wish for you to have a memorable holiday. Wireless Internet is availble here (one of the few places in Samoa) but is quite expensive ( about $18 for 5 hours regardless of amount downloaded - you get on and off as required until the 5 hours is up). The charge is the ISP cost - the hotel does not load the charge- Athene will sell you the token. Tours and excursions will generally pick you up from the Tatiana and return you - Athene will arrange all. If you need a quick swim - a taxi to one of the resorts or swimming holes only takes 10 minutes - otherwise Athene can arrange day/half day excursions to the beach and one of the family often drives the 12 seater bus (free of charge) to the beautiful beaches which are further away. Snorkelling is about 10 minutes by taxi.
In summation - a wonderful stay and a very emotional time when we had to say goodbye - but we will keep in touch and hope to get back there one day. Afoa and Brenda also provide accommodation at their backpackers hotel in town and at their luxury apartments on the hill.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed at Tatiana for 2 weeks in February 2011. I have traveled to Samoa a lot, staying at resorts and with Samoan families. Tatiana is certainly an amazing place to stay, you immediately feel at home and feel part of the family. The 10 minute walk to the hospital makes it the perfect location for medical students. My experience was so great that I will be making Tatiana my home for 7 months from March-October this year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

I stayed at Tatiana with a friend for 6-7weeks over the summer as part of our medical elective. We picked Tatiana because of its proximity to the TTM hospital and its reduced rates for medical students. On our arrival (after 3 long days travelling) Tatiana very quickly felt like home. We were staying in a two person en-suite room which contained a fridge and TV as well as being air conditioned. Most of our time was spent in the communal areas with the other guests (at the time ~30 other medical students from around the world at the time) and the host family. Athene, Papa and Brenda could not have been more helpful, often giving us lifts, brilliant advice on what to go and see next and even booking it for us. I would advise Tatiana to anyone visiting Samoa for any length of time but especially travelling medical students for whom the experience and brilliant atmosphere is top notch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed at Tatiana for 8 weeks with a group of medical students as part of our medical elective placement in the nearby hospital.
If you are a medical student in the same position, you HAVE to come here...but that also applies to anyone else wanting to make the most out of a trip to Samoa and meet a great group of people! The atmosphere is fantastic and the communal area makes it very easy to meet and chill out with people, but most importantly, Athene, Papa, Brenda and the whole family made us feel so welcome and were so helpful, driving us to different places on the island, giving us advice on what to do and helping us with booking things (which often proved very complicated!) They even arranged a party for all of us!
All the rooms have AC and were kept very clean. The location is good too...a 5 minute walk from the hospital for medical students. Town is not too far to walk, although taxis are quick and will not cost you much.
Staying at Tatiana with the family really made my trip unforgettable and it was so sad to leave them. I would love to come back some day!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono

Address: Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the outskirts of Apia City within a 3 minutes walking distance to TTM Samoa National Hospital; Oceania University of Medicine and is also close to the National University of Samoa; Ministry of Education, RLS Museum and SPREP. Most popular location for families, medical students, conference/meeting participants, church, sports and school groups & those who like to be near town, not 'in' town in a peaceful, quality & relaxing environment at affordable unbeatable prices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tatiana Hotel Apia
Tatiana Hotel Tanugamanono
Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tatiana Motel -Tanugamanono, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.