We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm welcome at this boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Manumea Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Manumea Hotel to your Saves list
Le Manumea Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Faelili St (Cross-Island Rd), Apia, Upolu, Samoa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Apia
auckland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely warm welcome at this boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We arrived hot and thirsty having flown in from NZ. We settled immediately with a cold drinking coconut and all was well, if not better! Lovely little intimate hideaway, cool and shady dining area, loungers around a pool, very warm and friendly staff. The rooms are great - spacious and clean and cool with a gorgeous outdoor shower. We didnt eat in the restaurant, but breakfast was great and included. Luna was warm, friendly, couldn;t do more to help. I couldn't find my passport the day I left and Luna MADE me empty out my suitcase to look even though I knew for SURE it wasn;t in there, and of course it was...... We really enjoyed staying here for the two days we were attending to business in town, Taxi fare was about 7 tala to town, and I walked up the road to the Robert louis Stevenson Museum ( it was great, and worth waiting for the guided tour), then hiked up the hill behind the museum in the hot sun, nearly killing myself with heat exhaustion (slight exaggeration) but a neat view and a chance feel a bit smug as I descended to people who looked impressed! Spoiled a bit by the taxi driver later that day who told me he used to walk up there five times a week with his wife!!!!!
Anyway, you will find a warm welcome at Le Manumea - price is very reasonable and we would go back there without hesitation, in fact we are already planning our next Samoa trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    59
    16
    5
    8
See reviews for
63
57
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kurrajong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Amazing manumea ! We have been so lucky to have stayed at manumea 5 times over the past few years, and feel in love with it on our first stay in 2009. And I am so happy to say it’s still wonderful, the rooms are still stunning, they are really kept in the best condition, and they are spotless.
The rooms are stylishly furnished and spacious, and have a big comfy bed, with great linen, there is a kitchenette with microwave, and the bathroom is outdoor style.
The food is still really good and you get a great breaky included, fruit, toast, cereal, egg.
The best part of this place for us is how it feels like family, as it’s only a small resort the owners take the time to talk and get to know all the guests. Luna ( the owner) is an amazing host.
If you are planning to spend a few days in Apia, then I would highly recommend you stay here, the rooms are so comfortable and it’s only 5 mins out of town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of August, travelling with 2 children (youngest 14 months). Luna and staff were friendly and very accommodating. The food was sensational ! The rooms were large and very well appointed, Luna has thought of all the little things in the room such as a small kitchenette with microwave, fridge, kettle etc (very handy when travelling with children), iron - even an airing rack in the bathroom for your towells and swimmers. The rock bathroom was awesome, the large front patio just a brilliant area to relax as well. I would happily reccomend this resort - every room is incredibly private and you feel incredibly relaxed amongst the extensive landscaping. Brilliant hotel, already planning my next trip back. Thank you Luna - we had such a great time.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread out into little bunglows across the proeprty. If you have children, ask to be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were in Samoa in June this year to do some work with my husband, so we stay at Le Manumea for two weeks. They were so amazing and they look after us really well. They provide us with amazing food and good services...After that we had to go back in September and stay with Luna at the hotel, all because of the great experience there. I never seen a person like Luna(Owner) that had so much energy to wake up and wait for all her guest to arrive before she go bed. Room were amazing but my favorite is the shower.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Luna and staff are welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is great value for money; we stayed 6 nights and our deal included breakfast and dinner, every day/night for 3 adults and 1 child. The food was fresh and very tasty - just loved the Tuna steak. The rooms are large and comfortable, and bathrooms just gorgeous. I have stayed at Aggies Resort and Le Manumea's rooms are on par with Aggies. Friday night was a highlight at the hotel, dinner guests included international singers that did an impromptu performance. They were followed by Le Manumea's regular Friday night singer, what a lovely way to spend an evening. Luna also organised a tour for us to Lalomanu through their local tour provider Pete's Tours. Pete was another highlight of our stay in Samoa and I highly recommend Pete's Tours to anyone looking for a tour of Upolu - you not only get a tour but a history lesson, he is fantastic. Le Manumea is a great place to stay and I highly recommend this hotel for young and old, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

What can I say. Staff just lovely and so helpful. Luna was one of the nicest woman I have ever met. We even got a free dinner on our second night and we only stayed two nights. The hotel was excellent value and just so beautiful. Smallish pool but all you need to cool off. The dinner was our best meal we had in our time in Samoa and menu very reasonable in price. Just lovely being just slightly out of town. Taxi should only cost 8 - 10 tala from the central town area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for six nights at Le Manumea and loved every minute of it, even the moments of chaos such as loosing our wallet in a taxi. Why? Because the place oozes relaxation from the moment you arrive. We felt relaxed within just of couple of hours of getting there because Luna and her lovely staff just take such good care of you. We were travelling with our nine month old baby who they doted on, even baby sitting her when she woke up one night so that we could finish our dinner. Nothing was ever too much trouble - Luna even drove me back to town to search for my lost wallet (or rather the taxi in which I left it). The rooms are lovely and clean; cool with aircon. Each room has a kitchenette with fridge and microwave (perfect for heating baby's food) the bathroom has an outdoor shower enabling star gazing. The hotel pool is great, not too over chlorinated - our daughter swam four times per day. All in all, we could not have had a better holiday. We have never had such a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Manumea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Manumea Hotel

Address: Faelili St (Cross-Island Rd), Apia, Upolu, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu > Apia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Apia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Manumea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manumea Hotel is located on the Cross Island Road, approximately 10 minutes from Samoa's capital, Apia. Nestled at the base of Mt Vaea, the resting place of the late Robert Louis Stevenson, the Hotel is only minutes walk away from the late-author's residence which is now a museum and grave-site.The Hotel's 12 Executive Suites command panoramic views of the Pacific horizon. Fully air conditioned with a ceiling fan, each suite has a secure indoor/outdoor bathroom with hot and cold water, a quaint little kitchenette with coffee and tea amenities with a little mini fridge and microwave. A 22" TV is provided, and laundry service is available. The Hotel restaurant serves a range of Europeen and Samoan dishes and the bar is fully stocked and ready to serve a range of beverages which can be enjoyed poolside. Also on site is an air conditioned Conference Suite, which can seat up to 40 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Le Manumea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manumea Hotel Apia
Le Manumea Hotel Samoa/Apia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Manumea Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.