We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seabreeze Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Seabreeze Resort to your Saves list
Seabreeze Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paradise Cove, Upolu 1234, Samoa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Upolu
Kiama NSW
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“EXCEPTIONAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Samoa and we were guided by the TripAdvisor. Initially we tried to book at another resort on the south coast but they were full, so we went for the Seabreeze instead. Much to our surprise the package price was cheaper for a better room (more about that in a moment!) and breakfast and airport transfers included.
The Seabreeze is a small resort - around 13 or 14 Fales total, which means that there are up to about 30 guests if the place is full. We had the Honeymoon Suite which was the only accommodation available. This is a stunning Fale set aside from the others, built on a rocky outcrop with the sea on three sides. The room was spotlessly clean and beautifully appointed. Every thing works - you can drink water from the tap (should you choose to do so) - plenty of hot water; telephone; internet is available (via the Samoan digital network rather than through the hotel); tea/coffee; aircon etc. Housekeeping is prompt and thorough. The furnishings were excellent and the outlook and facilities also excellent.
We were initially worried about how small the resort is - we thought we would run out of things to do. The beach is very small and the reef that is exposed at low tide was damaged by the 2009 Tsunami so is not too exciting yet (it is actually regenerating). Snorkling gear and canoes are available on request. It was easy to allow a few days to slip away, however, just eating, reading, lying on the beach (or on the beautiful deck to our accommodation) or chatting to the staff who are marvellous. There is a bigger beach about five minutes walk away. You can't walk to other resorts, and the only local shop is very limited. You will need a car if you want to eat elsewhere and/or see something of the island.
Hiring a car is therefore essential for longer stays and this was easily achieved as Chris (who co-owns the resort) is a marvellous host and was very knowledgable on what to do around the island. He arranges car hire if you are prepared to pay the transfer fee to and from Apia - about WST$75 (approx AUS$32) each way unless you can take up a car that is already there. We had to pay a one way transfer and together with a full three days of hire it cost AUS$260, so prices are not dissimilar to Aus. Driving is easy (speed limit = slow!) and there is a lot to see around the island.
We thought the food was good, and we didn't get fed up with the choice at all. We ate dinner in every night for a week and there was sufficient variety for us. Breakfasts were good too, and although the helpings were not huge they were sufficient (and you can always ask for extra toast etc).
The staff are wonderful - really helpful, friendly people who start off as staff but finish as your friends, without exception.
Interestingly, we went to the Resort that we tried to book and was really glad that we didn't get in - the accommodation there was tired and it was a much bigger, more impersonal place. The meal we had there (lunch) wasn't a patch on Seabreeze's food.
So - all in all, we have NO hesitation in recommending the Seabreeze. Chris and Wendy are wonderful hosts; the accommodation is great and the resort is small enough for you to quickly get to know other guests. We left after a week having made some good mates and enjoyed several nights of great company with them. All in all, FIVE STARS! (We'd be happy to provide more detail for any prospective visitors). Carol and Marcus.

Room Tip: All accommodation is clean and beautifully presented. The 'standard' Fales mostly share a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
182
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our Seabreeze experience exceeded our expectations. Chris & Wendy and the entire team at the resort combine in a friendly and attentive manner yet you can still get the feeling of space and solitude to relax and enjoy.
The restaurant and food was fantastic with plenty of choice for all tastes.
The setting of the resort is picture postcard stuff, the fales top class
The recent addition of a masseuse added another luxury touch which we enjoyed
The effort the staff put into the Fia fia night is a reflection of their pride in their culture and their commitment to their determination to make your stay enjoyable
Cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

It’s difficult to find anything about Seabreeze that wasn’t exceptional!

The staff are friendly, attentive and never intrusive – they often know what you want before you even make a move. Chris has done a great job building a team mainly from local villagers – who after a couple of days felt more like friends than staff.

The chalets are immaculate – high quality finishings, double hammocks and views over the pool and ocean (we had an ‘ocean view room’).

The restaurant is great – the breakfast options (included) are good, and lunch and evening meals are excellent quality at reasonable prices. The pizzas at the weekend are yum.

The fiafia night on Fridays is really good fun.

The location is lovely – around a small private beach. You can snorkel off the beach, or borrow one of the kayaks and head to one of the nearby beaches for snorkelling. You can borrow snorkel gear too, if you don’t have your own. Just a short 20 minute walk away is Vavau Beach – a beautiful lagoon, well worth exploring. And a short drive away are To Sua Trench and Lalomanu Beach.

We really can’t wait to come back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent a week at the Seabreeze resort. Chris & Wendy couldn’t do enough to help us. They oriented us to our beautiful room.. it was beautiful & very comfortable. The resort itself was just magical. A truly amazing, breath taking place! Chris advised us of the best places to go – he couldn’t be more helpful. We hired a car which cost around 450 tala for 2 days...in hindsight we should have hired a car in Apia and drove down rather than accepted the free incoming transfer and tried to swop it for a return transfer. It Cost an additional 150 to have the car dropped off and picked up. So it wasn’t cheap.... just if not more expensive than hiring a car in Sydney. We were however glad we did it. We visited some magnificent places and it was good to get out and about to see the villages & Samoan life. The waterfalls are all beautiful. I would highly recommend a day trip to Namua Island... that was the highlight of our trip. You can drive down and from one of the shops opposite they phone the island and a local appeared in a small boat to take us across. There where just 4 of us on the whole island, we got the chance to have a taste of traditional Samoan food, snorkel & see turtles! The Sliding rock in Apia & the Cave pools would also be something we’d recommend. The neighbouring beach from the Seabreeze is also unbelievably beautiful along with Tu Sua water hole just down the road. It was just a slice of heaven.

The only thing the let the resort down was the menu. The Resort is completely isolated, so nowhere else to go for dinner. We had no other option other than to eat breakfast, lunch & dinner for 7 days at the Seabreeze minus the 2 days we had the car and we could go else where for lunch. The food isn’t bad but it is nothing to scream about either. The menu could just do with a bit more variation, we found ourselves duplicated the same meals over and over and it wasn’t due to the fact we loved the dish. I expected to see a lot more healthy seafood on the menu & perhaps more local food. I understand it is a small hotel and it would therefore be difficult to prepare for a vast menu but even if it was just prawns cooked/grilled in different ways...more salads... we just got beyond bored of the menu. The portion sizes where not fantastic either – mainly with the breakfasts & the salads. I order the salads frequently for lunch.... some days they would come out in a tiny bowl with about 4 lettuce leaves not great for the price of them! Other times the portions where more generous. My boyfriend ate his breakfast & most of mine every day. I understand a buffet style breakfast would go to waste considering it’s a boutique but an unlimited amount of toast, fruit & perhaps toast wouldn’t go a miss considering its bed & breakfast. It would of helped to fill him up.

Entertainment - They have a great night on a Friday where the staff put on a show and traditional Samoan food is served. This was our best night during our stay. They give a great talk on Coconuts being the tree of life, they was lots of singing, dancing & even fire dancing on the beach. We feel even if they had someone singing or playing a guitar another couple of nights it would work well as in a week this was the only form of entertainment. We wasn’t expecting much with it being a boutique hotel but someone singing playing the guitar would have just created more of an atmosphere. The staff where fantastic. The waiters always chatting & joking around we where on first name terms with everyone.

Drinks where expensive at 16-18 tala a glass of wine - ($8/9 AUD) and a Cocktail at 18-25 tala (8-12AUD) I guess that due to the cost of importing. The local Beer wasn’t bad at about 7 tala a bottle

We did have an amazing time. I would highly recommend and defiantly return again but perhaps just stay for 3-5 nights and maybe split our time between Upolu & Savai.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Wife and I spent 3 days here in late July before spending another 3 weeks at various other establishments around the 2 main islands.Easily the best rooms the best pool ,the best resort style restaurant and food.Not the best beach but a lot better than some others.Samoa best beach Lalomanu Beach is only 10 minutes down the road.Chris and Wendy great hosts and staff really friendly although this was the case everywhere we stayed.If you stay in only 1 place in Samoa this is it.So many people we met stayed in Apia for 10 days , might as well visit South Auckland and save your money.

Room Tip: Fale Eva (9) Simply Stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This in our view is the best resort of its type in Samoa (in fact not just in Samoa). The rooms are terrific, the staff are helpful and Chris and Wendy are the best hosts that you could wish for.

The service was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble - Chris and Wendy were a terrific source of information and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms are amazing, comfortable and with everything you could possibly wish for on hand and if you can't find it - ask Chris and he will find it for you!

The food was great and we really didn't have one complaint about this resort.

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: If you can get it the Honeymoon Suite is simply out of this world ... even if you aren't on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Seabreeze for the last two nights of our stay in Samoa and it was a fantastic end to a wonderful trip. The setting is stunning and the resort is well layed out and has a very relaxed feel. We were made to feel very welcome right from our arrival until departure and can not fault the friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Our room (beachfront 8) was amazing. It was well set out, spotlessly clean and had wonderful views, whilst benefiting from the privacy provided by a couple of palms in front. We were given beach towels for poolside use and plenty of towels in the bathroom. The bedding, loungers and chairs were all really comfortable and the air conditioning options were fantastic. Air conditioning unit if needed along with a ceiling fan and louvre windows (with bug netting) throughout the rooms allowing you to make use of the beautiful warm breeze. The beachfront villas had a little more privacy (our hammocks out of view from other guests) but the poolside villas looked nice and had hammocks on verandah overlooking pool). The food was good and the menu varied with vegetarian options available. Seabreeze is a good 1 1/4hr drive from the airport but was well worth the drive. Our only disappointment was having to leave.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seabreeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze Resort

Address: Paradise Cove, Upolu 1234, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Upolu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Upolu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Upolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seabreeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of an extensive multimillion dollar re-build & refurbishment, Seabreeze, is now Samoa’s NEWEST BEACHFRONT Resort. Situated on the South East coast of Upolu, nestled in a small sandy bay directly on the beach, this stunning new resort is designed for couples on that totally romantic vacation that require the ultimate in Samoan Boutique Luxury. Enjoy a cocktail by the pool whilst relaxing in a double daybed, laze on the beach or take a dip within the protection of our pristine lagoon, experience the culture, watch the local fishermen on the reef, swing in a hammock, kayak to the small islets that surround this historical bay, or relax in tranquil surroundings while the waves lap around you. Guests enjoy the use of non motorized water sports equipment at no charge. Seabreeze is small & personal, our friendly staff know every guest by name, you are not a room number you are our VIP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seabreeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabreeze Hotel Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Samoa/Upolu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabreeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.