We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape From Reality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seabreeze Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seabreeze Resort to your Saves list
Seabreeze Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Paradise Cove, Upolu 1234, Samoa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Upolu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Escape From Reality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

This was our 2nd trip back to Seabreeze, once pre-tsunami and now post in the essentially rebuilt and redesigned resort. We love it and plan many trips in the future. We went on a special where you get $ 25 tala towards lunch and $50 tala towards dinner which I like because you know up front that most of the trip is covered. The knew rooms are lovely, simple but up market decor with the same stone bathroom which gives it a Samoan feel. They have added a covered deck area
to each Room which is great if it's too hot in the sun. The new pool is beautiful overlooking the sea with good quality deck chairs and very cool circular shaded "beds". There is a new pool side bar which is serviced most of the time and a wide range of yummy and well priced cocktails. We loved the food last time and this time it was even better. The chefs are always happy to whip up something specific too if it's not there (still dreaming of the massive plate of sashimi and oka they made us specially!). The staff are great, real people not trained monkeys. Mostly employed from the local village and always happy to chat. The beach is small but sandy for sunbathing. The tides and currents have changed post tsunami with the reef being damaged it is less like a lagoon than it was. If you want to swim out to explore the island where the fish are any time other than low tide then I recommend taking your own flippers. Also reef shoes There are snorkel sets available and kayaks
both complimentary.
We found out eventually after fiddling with the phone settings that there is 021 and 027 reception for NZ but they also offer complimentary cellphones with pre pay credit available if u luck out.
It's important to know that Seabreeze is about an hour from Apia and from the airport. Transfers are free but if u are new to Samoa then I recommend getting a hire car for at least a few days as there are many natural wonders in Samoa and some of the best very close to Seabreeze including Lalomanu beach the the trench pool.
Finally a huge thank you to everyone at Seabreeze for giving us such a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    25
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
212
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Seabreeze Resort, A beautiful brand new resort.
 
Where do I start, we stayed here for three nights in mid July and wished we stayed for longer. We came to Samoa to get married at Le Lagoto ( A beautiful resort) and were not disappointed when we arrived at Seabreeze for our honeymoon.
 
We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which was just amazing. It was brand new, and looked great. The honeymoon suite is out on a point and is very private. You enter the suite through a private garden that has an outdoor shower and garden table and chairs, it is surrounded by a rock wall so no one can see in. The suite has a deck wrapped around it and the deck looked out over the resort but also out onto the other side of the bay which can only be seen from the honey moon suite, the deck is a lovely size with a big pool side couch/lounger that comfortably seats/or lying down two people. On the deck there is also table and chairs. The room itself is beautiful with a large king size bed and another couch/lounger. The shower inside is huge and over looks the water. The room also had double hand basins, a wardrobe with a safe and a small fridge.
 
The ocean view rooms are also amazing, right on the water side and have a private deck looking out over the water, we had a look through them and they are lovely.
 
The fales are also nice inside, they are smaller than the ocean view rooms but still very nice, everything being brand new. The fales each have a deck out the front of them with table and chairs and the staff are happy to serve you your breakfast here. The fales are quite close together and sit next to the pool so if privacy is very important to you then you may prefer an ocean view room or the honeymoon suite.
 
We were greeted by the assistant managers Chris and Patricia who we had meet the previous year in Samoa. They were most hospitable while we were there. We also meet the owners Chris and Wendy who were most helpful, it was lovely to see Chris make the effort to have a chat to each table at dinner in the evening. The rest of the staff is all clearly new, they try to be helpful but don’t always get it right, to be fair we were there in there first few weeks of having guests and Im sure under Chris (assistance managers) guidance they will develop into the most helpful staff in a resort in Samoa.
 
The food is the best part about this place, the chef and Chris write the menus together and so the dishes are refreshingly different from anything you will try in Samoa, the ingredients are traditional Samoan food but cooked to a European pallet. Just amazing we loved every meal. The meals ranged for dinner from about 40 - 55 tala and lunch from about 25-35 tala. I personally would normally call this expensive food but it was sooooo yummmmy that I was happy to pay it. My husband enjoyed having a real coffee as we had not found one anywhere else in Samoa (after staying at 5 different resort/hotel throughout our stay). The breakfast (which was included) was a fruit platter to start with and then the option or bacon and eggs or eggs on toast. They were nicely cooked. Tea and filter coffee was also included.
 
The pool is awesome we spent many hours in the pool and lying by the side of it. There is a pool side bar and seats in the pool with a surf board table to place your drinks on while you sit in the pool.
 
The beach is not the most amazing beach but is swept everyday of rocks and shells. Lalomanu beach (the most beautiful beach in Samoa) is about 15 minutes down the road, it is worth a drive down there. There are places to stay there as well but they are more budget accommodation and I would not call them resorts at all.)
 
Unfortunately the reefs have been ruined from the Tsunami and there are only small amounts of fish that have returned. We did enjoy snorkelling though looking at the little buds of coral that is slowly growing back around the reef.
 
There are kayaks that are free to use that is an enjoyable way to spend an afternoon.
 
Overall we had a wonderful stay and have been recommending it to everyone back in NZ. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked out that we had a typed bill that clearly stated all of our meals and other spending while at the resort. All the other places that we had stayed at (including the famous aggie greys) had produced lots of little hand written receipts with a big bill on the end of them which made it almost impossible to check whether your bill was correct. It was the first bill in Samoa that I paid with 100% confidents that I was paying the right amount as it was all very clearly labelled.
 
Reading the previous post I was surprised to see there comments. We viewed the resort before any guests had arrived and then came back for our stay four days after the first guests arrived. The resort still has a small bits being rebuilt. We were told the restaurant was still being built and could not be used however when we got there the staff had clearly the ocean end of the restaurant and we ate our meals there. It was lovely looking out over the water every night. There were small bits of construction going on, but it was small, it never bothered us, there was no loud building construction site or anything like that.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

During our recent trip to Samoa, we dropped in on Wendy and Chris at Seabreeze to see how the rebuild is going, and to find out when we can book our next stay with them :o) Wendy took us through the resort, and it's looking absolutely breathtaking. If it was good before (and it sure was) - it's absolutely stunning now!

The resort still has 12 rooms, 9 of them are set close to the beach and to the gorgeous new swimming pool. Each room has it's own balcony, and the room furnishings are all brand new and extremely tasteful. An incredible amount of thought and design has gone into the rebuild.

There are also two freestanding beach villas overlooking the beach ... these are unlike anything else currently available on the south coast. Beautiful furnishings, tiled showers with little inset rock details (hand made), luxurious daybeds and recliners, and hammock seating. Perfect for couples - definitely a romantic getaway destination.

The honeymoon fale is in the same position, on the furthermost outcrop overlooking the beach and looking over to the restaurant and dining room. The fale has been completely redone and is very romantic! Louvered windows look out to the eastside onto a private beach, and there is also a private outdoor handcarved shower. A stunning place for a honeymoon couple, or for that special couple getaway, anniversary etc.

The new pool is in the infinity style, with a stylised pic of an octopus on the bottom. It has a wheelchair ramp so both the resort and pool are wheelchair friendly. The pool bar was still under construction, but looking great.

The restaurant has been completely redesigned and is almost finished. The kitchen has been fully furnished and is almost operational, but the restaurant dining area itself is a few weeks away.

The resort officially opens in a week or so, and whilst the kitchen will be fully operational, guests will be able to take their meals poolside or on their private balconies as the restaurant dining area won't quite be ready. However, the heavy and noisy construction should be well finished by then.

Wendy and Chris are offering opening specials - please see their website for further information. I'll be back to stay here later this year ... it's an absolutely world-class property and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The Beachside Villas are absolutely stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Some things that stand out when I think back to the time we stayed at Seabreeze:

- The resort is in an amazing location - Paradise Cove
- The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable; however, we did have an issue with these mysterious wood shavings that were falling from the ceiling and onto my luggage. We weren't sure what they were, but Chris (owner) informed us that it was harmless and just wood shavings as a result of bugs gnawing in the wooden beams.
- Chris was very friendly, providing info on what to do and provided us with bread to feed the fish off the balcony of the restaurant.
- Food was decent (however, I wouldn't say its the greatest). We appreciated the fact that the chefs were happy to create a dish for us with the wahu we had caught earlier in the day.
- We were lucky to have rented a car otherwise it would have been a real hassle to get to and from the resort.
- The snorkelling isn't great, there are other places in Samoa that offer more to see underwater.
- The hammocks are so good to just chill out and relax!
- The demonstrations of basket weaving and making coconut cream was lots of fun!
- Pity there weren't facilities or activities at the resort - we travelled to a nearby resort instead to play some golf and spa treatments.

All in all, a nice place to just relax and read a book, and spend some quality time with a loved one.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Wonderful food - the review that said "hit and miss food" were sadly mistaken - we were with a larger group (all adults) and all had a great experience with healthy well cooked tasty food. The prawns were to die for and the tuna steak was the best I have ever eaten - far better than the more upmarket resort 40mins down the road.
However, would not recommend this as a place for children, as there simply isn't enough at the resort to entertain them, apart from swimming and snorkelling. The kayaks cost around 30 tala / half hour (for a double) and that would work out pricy as probably the only amusement that kids could use.
Hope you guys all ok and survived the tsunami today with minimal damage - we are thinking of you all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

What a great place to stay for a holiday. We have just spent 10 days at Seabreeze Resort. From the time we stepped off the plane to the time we left the staff & management looked after all our needs. The food is outstanding, my wife has special dietry needs and this was never a problem, The 2 chefs went out of their way to look after her. The rooms were clean & tidy as was the whole resort. the staff were very freindly & helpful always willing to please.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nz
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

After seeing the photos and dreaming of an Island paradise this was not found. This was our third trip to Samoa and having stayed at most of the resorts and fale beach accomodation we decided on a "treat" - the staff were excellent...the owner sorry Chris not you...but the Australian owner lady was incredibly rude and condecending....beacause we did not have a rental car and had come from a fale along the beach we were not quite "suitable"...the food however is great, snorkelling dissapointing and the whole feel of the place let down by feeling the owners were looking over you from their house on the hill.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seabreeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabreeze Resort

Address: Paradise Cove, Upolu 1234, Samoa
Phone Number:
Location: Samoa > Upolu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Upolu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Upolu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Upolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seabreeze Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the completion of an extensive multimillion dollar re-build & refurbishment, Seabreeze, is now Samoa’s NEWEST BEACHFRONT Resort. Situated on the South East coast of Upolu, nestled in a small sandy bay directly on the beach, this stunning new resort is designed for couples on that totally romantic vacation that require the ultimate in Samoan Boutique Luxury. Enjoy a cocktail by the pool whilst relaxing in a double daybed, laze on the beach or take a dip within the protection of our pristine lagoon, experience the culture, watch the local fishermen on the reef, swing in a hammock, kayak to the small islets that surround this historical bay, or relax in tranquil surroundings while the waves lap around you. Guests enjoy the use of non motorized water sports equipment at no charge. Seabreeze is small & personal, our friendly staff know every guest by name, you are not a room number you are our VIP. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Seabreeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabreeze Hotel Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Upolu
Seabreeze Resort Samoa/Upolu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabreeze Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.