We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Savaiian Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Savaiian Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Savaiian Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Salelologa
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing in paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Savaiian Hotel was everything I needed for my stay on the island (3 nights August 2013). The staff were very welcoming when I arrived and throughout my time there. The room, restaurant and the grounds were always tidy and well kept. The swimming pool was great to hop into and refresh yourself whilst looking back across at Upolu. And the breakfast was really nice i loved the esi, fresh coconuts and the pancakes! Though I was the only one booked to stay at the hotel - staff were more than happy to accommodate my girlfriend as well, whenever she came around. She was Samoan too and got along fantastically with staff.

I would recommend the Savaiian Hotel to anyone looking for simple comfort and a great place to relax after a day enjoying what Savai'i has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    51
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
58
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Upon my second stay at the Savaiian this year, i couldn't have asked for better service.
Everything from clean facilities to the warmest and friendliest staff is only part of what they have to offer (no to mention the fantastic restaurant that is a must!). No doubt, will be happy to return hopefully in the near future.
The Savaiian makes it that much harder to leave :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Savaiian hotel is located on the coast and what a wonderful location it is. We stayed there on the budget fale but that is what you need here on Savaii, a bed and shower. The premises itself is wonderful. Nice small swimming pool (enough to cool down) with a gorgeous view to the sea and Upolu. I must say the dinner we had was the best dinner we had during our stay on Samoa. Breakfast was simple but enough to have a good start of the day. Great place to do nothing for a day. Staff were fantastic and very helpful. Big thanks to Olivia, Vaitele, Turkey and Tofua (I hope I spelled the name right).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I were on business in Savaii and stayed here for 5 nights. I wanted a location near to town and close to a supermarket ....and the Savaiil Hotel ticked both boxes. The rooms are clean, well equipped and the beds comfortable. We also really enjoyed the pool and swan here every morning and evening.

The tropical breakfast includes tea / coffee, a selection of 3 fruits normally and bread or toast with jam. Quite adequate. For those wanting a hot breakfast, this is available for an extra charge. For the evening meals there is a good selection and you place orders in advance so that the meal is ready when you sit down to dinner.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the most expensive ones (the ocean view aircon ones) but all are set in quiet sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at Savaiian Hotel leading up to White Sunday 2013. Great place to stay, private and beautiful natural surroundings. All the staff made us feel welcome. Would definitely go back and stay for future trips. Affordable, small and peaceful.

Room Tip: Rooms by the waterfront are awesome. Sunrises in the morning and sunset in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitaia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our 20mth old twins and 6yr old. Very family and child friendly. Affordable - the cheapest place we stayed. Good food with a mix of local dishes, included buffet breakfast. Awesome friendly staff and great managers who are gradually improving each area of the place. A little pool for the toddlers. Not far from the ferry so easy to travel to. Our room was clean and tidy. We will return to the Savaiian Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week and it was one of the most relaxing weeks I spent. The staff were awesome and couldn't have been friendlier. The owner even lent me his fishing gear!
Meals are fantastic and all freshly cooked to order.
I am planning on coming back very soon to show my mother the beautiful Savaii! We will certainly be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Savaiian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savaiian Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 7009, Salelologa, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Salelologa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Salelologa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savaiian Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Savaiian hotel offers comfortable affordable accommodation in 6 self contained units with aircon/en suite bathroom/hotwater/fridge/tea coffee/patio/kitchen facilities available as well as 5 traditional styled fales for those on a tighter budget-all fully screened with ceiling fan and en suite. We provide haven to those wanting to get away from the busy city life and you will not forget your stay in the tranquil village of Lalomalva. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Savaiian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaiian Hotel Salelologa
Savaiian Motel Salelologa
The Savaiian Hotel Samoa/Salelologa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Savaiian Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.