We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lovely lovely, can't say enough about Va-i-moana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge to your Saves list
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Main Island Road, Asau, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely lovely lovely, can't say enough about Va-i-moana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for six days in June 2012 and had a magical time. We were lucky with the weather and spent three nights in an open beach fale and it was just heaven. The people are lovely, the beer is cheap and the food delicious. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    29
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
33
78
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Booked for 7 nights, stayed for 10. Would definitely go back! Excellent value for money!
Great meals - Very generously sized Breakfast & Dinner included with heaps of variety.
Missed dinner one night & it was delivered to my fale.
Stayed in a sunset fale, which had an excellent over water balcony - with stunning sunrise and sunset views. Perfect for just relaxing.
Accommodation was clean, tidy and comfortable
Water was at times turned off, but will always be turned on as requested – so it wasn’t an issue .
Beach is small but great area for swimming, lots of fish and a turtle to see around the jetty.
A platform to jump off, floating raft.
You can swim or kayak to the small island opposite.
The guys are happy to take you out on the boat snorkelling and fishing
Kayak’s & snorkelling gear available for guests.
Reasonably priced bar, local beer, standard spirits, cocktails and cocktail jugs.
The staff are very accommodating and are happy to make anything for you – nothing is too much trouble.
Vaimoana is excellent value for money and has a great atmosphere. All of the staff are really warm and friendly, and soon feel more like an extended family.
The staff go for a early morning walk once a week & guests are most welcome to join in
About 1 hour 45 mins drive from Salelologa Wharf. It’s a beautiful drive, with lots to see along the way if you want to.
A great base from which to see the rest of Savaii, for ½ day or full day trips.

Room Tip: Stunning view from sunset fales!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

During our 10 day stay in Samoa, travelling around both Savaii & Upolu, of the 5 different places we stayed (plus we checked out a few more) Va i Moana is without doubt the place to stay in Samoa.
Location - a small beach, but a huge bay great for swimming, kayaking (free), jumping off the raft etc.
Fales - clean, tastefully furnished; the over water ones have a superb balcony over the water. Opening the doors each morning to the view was magical.
Customer Service - faultless. People couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.
Food - the dinner's were the best we found in Samoa. The breakfasts were very tasty pancakes & fresh fruit ... after we told them we wanted to try local food, they also made "cocoa rice" and "papaya porridge" for breakfast, and were happy to bring us seconds when we asked!
Value for money - compared to everywhere else we stayed and prices paid, this was excellent value for such a great place to stay.
We extended our stay from 2 to 3 nights because it was too good to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days last year in July and came back for a week this year in May. There is everything to love about this place, the location, the resort, the people, the food, the snorkeling....it's ALL gorgeous!

We stayed in the Sunset Fale both times, a fabulous Fale, comfortable bed, really clean and a great bathroom and shower with excellent appointments. The view from the deck is stunning!

The overall resort is really lovely and there's a lot to do, or nothing if you choose. We used the (free!) kayak most days and snorkelled locally every day. We got to see a turtle in its natural environment and amazing fish and marine life.

The Va-i-moana team are just fantastic. Sale' and Rosie run a really happy, friendly and professional crew who we are proud to call friends now, and their children Ruby, Brian and Vaimoana are just adorable! Michelle, Nu'u, Andy, Finoa, Ulu, Lana, Leata, Tile and Eleni made both our visits soooo memorable and made us feel like such valued guests, while at the same time making our stay just like a home away from home. We had an amazing time sharing ice cream spiders with the crew, laughing and sharing great times.

The service is second to none and nothing seems to be a problem for them. We enjoyed nights with dinner set up right on the sand, Nu'u on the ukelele, Kele on the guitar and the girls on percussion, playing and singing until late, are memories that stay with us always.

And then there's the food. WOW, the food! Ina and Apo in the kitchen are just stars. Breakfasts are events to be lingered over (included in the nightly rate) - lots of good, thick bread and spreads, cereals, fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs, puddings - supo-esi and cocoa rice - crackers with salad and cheese...and always nice coffee and a giant pot of Cocoa Samoa for us! It was enough to last us until dinner most days - although we couldn't resist lunch a few times, just to have the chicken bosciola, fish and chips, lobster salad, tui prawn skewers and the GIANT seafood basket. The dinners, ALSO included in the per night rate, were first rate, and very, very generous. We had delicious stir fries, curries, chops, steaks, fish, salads, potatoes, pasta - and LOBSTER 3 times during our stay!! And all for some of the BEST per night rates in Samoa!! Andy and Nu'u make some of the best cocktails around and they have a very well stocked bar with really reasonable prices.

Va-i-moana is quite a way away from Salealoga port, and from the tourist hub of Manase, but that is part of the appeal for us. We have always met great people staying here - it's a really good, well behaved and pleasant crowd. Try to get out to see the village in Asa'u - the people are so lovely and welcoming. We visited the school both times, and the Methodist Church on Sundays was such a treat of singing and rejoicing. The staff go for a dawn walk/run on Wednesdays, and guests are most welcome. Try to go along if you can - it's a great chance to see the village and to spend time with the lovely staff.

There really isn't anything negative we can say about at Va-i-moana, and we have referred friends here who now say the same. Try to stay at least 3 nights here and I guarantee, like us, you just won't want to leave!!

Room Tip: We LOVE the Sunset fale, but we also spent the night in one of the deluxe, airconditioned bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were booked here fro two days but arrived early and so stayed for three. The staff are great, the location very nice, the food Yum! On the first night we had a fale in the grounds and on the last two we had a fale on the waters edge.

The whole place if lovely, very clean and neat - only down side was that there is not a great beach there - but it's a wonderful place to rest, relax and use as a base to drive off and see other attractions around. Would recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southaustralia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

vai moana is definately the place to stay in this area. we stayed in the water front fales and had a lovely time, we were traveling with a six month old baby and the staff were fantastic. they helped lookafter him while I ate dinner, breakfast ect. and they catered for him also. they didnt have a cot but the room had an extra bed which worked well. there is no where else much to eat so this is the spot unless you want to drive for quite a while and not alot to see from here either. our boys went fishing which turned out very worthwhile and we were told we would be able to eat our fish which we did, andeveryone enjoyed it also for dinner. it was a big fish. although I was dissapointed that I could not eat the other fish which was on the menu for lunch the next day, the kitchen staff had filleted and frozen our fish and we were told the dish was not available. very dissapointing since we caught and paid for the charter to catch it and then would have paid extra for them to cook it for us regardless of the fact that it was a big fish with plenty to share.
The rooms were lovely and the staff beautiful, nu'u, andy and the girls were all so friendly and we loved being there. the beach has much to be desired and there is all volcanic rock at every surrounding beach access. not much to do except relax. apart from the missing fish, the only problem was the water, the power gets turned off during the day, so if you havent had a shower before 8 am dont expect to get more than a drip of water from your shower.

Room Tip: over water bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We spent 8 days in total on both Savaii and Upolu. Had a hire car so travelled around heaps and saw all the main sites. Va-i-Moana was our first stop for 4 nights and we had a brilliant time. The staff are fantastic.... super friendly without being in your face. They are attentive and always willing to go the extra mile.
We had been recommended Va-i-moana by some friends so glad we found the place. Little Nu-u is a champion, and Sale and Rosie's kids are gorgeous. It was my wifes birthday whilst we were there and they really went all out to make sure she felt very spoilt. And the best thing was i could leave it all to them.
I really can't say enough about the place. Sure you can be fussy and find a few things to pick...... it is a long drive from the ferry terminal and not near the Manase accomodation strip but then in my view that adds to the appeal. And where else can you go hunting for flying fox and 'enjoy' a meal of it. Now that was an experience.
Whilst the snorkelling off the beach is average, if you don't mind taking one of the free kayaks and paddling 20minutes you will come across the best snorkelling I saw on Samoa after the Palolo Deep Marine Reserve in Apia. And of course, you can also get Sale to take you snorkelling nearby looking for sea turtles.... and the best part is these turtles aren't tame and on exhibition to tourists. The only downside for wife was that water supply can be a bit hit and miss which made showers a challenge at times.... but again very minor.
I could keep on about the place..... really, just make the effort and stay for at least 3 days.... once you get to know the staff you won't want to leave.

Room Tip: Go for one of the Sunset Fales..... literally hanging over the waters edge. Fan cooled but that'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge

Address: Main Island Road, Asau, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i > Asau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Asau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Va-i-Moana Seaside Hotel Asau
Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge Samoa/Asau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Va-i-Moana Seaside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.