We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip to samoa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savaii Lagoon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Savaii Lagoon Resort to your Saves list
Savaii Lagoon Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to samoa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in the honeymoon suite, and wished we'd booked for longer. The managers, Wayne and Sarah were great. The owners, Bruce and Margaret, were visiting from NZ, and were particularly friendly and helpful, and a delight to talk to. The food was excellent, even for vegetarians, and the accommodation was extremelycomfortable. The snorkeling was good and the coral and fish compared well with many of the places we regularly visit in the tropics. We recommend booking transfers with Sam as the bus from the ferry was packed to capacity. A laid back and relaxing place to visit. Would love to go again. Great value. The neighbouring rooster adds to the charm of the place. We slept well, and we're light sleepers.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Guys,
It was great to meet you and so good to know that you enjoyed your stay, You were a lovely couple. Remember to advise that you are returning guests if you decide to holiday with us again. Warm wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    43
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
103
191
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great holiday at the resort but I must add a warning don't use Polynesian Explorer as their charges are over the top, we were charged 227.50Tala for transport from ferry to Resort one way could have got Taxi for 70. Tala The resort beach fantastic went snorkelling every day, just sit back and relax at this resort food wonderful. A must to book Sam for his half day tour, great value.

Room Tip: front units are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Look I'll be honest, this is not a bad hotel. The rooms are spacy and well appointed, they're ensuite with what pretends to be an outdoor shower (but the mosquito covering means you might as well be inside as you can't see the promised stars). The resort is clean and has a reasonable beach.

This is not however deserving of its rave reviews - it's epically over priced (although this isn't that unusual for Samoa) and the restaurant is desperate considering the massive price. They have a good policy of local and fresh which I admire but the chefs are young and inexperienced based on the poor food they're producing. Very disappointing for the price. Breakfast was equally poor - the fruit plate was brown bananas, 2 tiny pieces of watermelon and some unrecognisable and inedible white fruit. I love fruit and general devour it so for me not to like it is saying something.

The reef off the beach is marked as a non fishing zone which is good and the reef is accessible at all but low tide. However it is an unremarkable coral area with little diversity. This is not uncommon in Samoa but in comparison to to those in nearby Fiji the reefs are disappointing.

Personally I don't think the hotel is worth the price tag, but it is better than most you'll find on the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear travelling Turtles,
Thank you for your complimentary comments about Savaii lagoon resort. It is good to hear that you consider the rooms to be spacious and well appointed and that you think that the resort is clean with a reasonable beach. Our beach is looked on to be one of the nicest in Samoa, all part of the reason why our resort is fully booked for the greater part of the year with guests returning each year.
To address some of your concerns, we feel that our restaurant is fairly priced . We offer meals which are inclusive 0f side veges - ( many restaurants charge extra for side dishes) - at a price ranging from NZD17.00 to NZD 25.00 the latter being eye fillet steak locally grown.
Perhaps also you are not aware that many commodities have to be shipped from New Zealand adding greatly to the cost of accommodation in Samoa.
Our outdoor showers are advertised as outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalows and the insect screen on the roof prevents guests from being bitten alive by the marauding mozzies.
Your review appears to say that you are disappointed in what Samoa has to offer which is regrettable. Samoa has a wealth of warm hearted, smiling people. We do our best to ensure that our gueats are happy, so we have read your review with a tinge of sadness that in this case we did not achieve our objective. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Amazingly this place lives up to and exceeds all of its reviews. The owners and managers have clearly been doing this for a long time and do it very very well.

As well as being able to safely play in the water by himself, our two year old particularly loved being able to help himself to the banana safe (haha not safe enough from him!) and the toys and books we could borrow from the office.

Our tips: Even if you snorkel the glass bottom boat is definitely worth a ride plus the fare helps the local village. There is some noise overnight from the roosters in the village next door which our toddler found very exciting but if you won’t bring along some ear plugs. And make sure you catch a big ferry to and from Savaii, the trip in the small ferry was stressful, uncomfortable, and very long.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arretron, Owner at Savaii Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi LeahS
Thank you for a lovely review. We remember you and your happy little man who loved to play with the toy cars from our toy box. It has encouraged me to increase our selection of toys. Great to know that you enjoyed Savaii lagoon. We enjoyed having you as guests. Best wishes. from Margaret on behalf of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our family of six, including 4 teenagers, had the most wonderful six days at the Savaii LAgoon resort. We were made to feel so welcome and that nothing was too much effort. The staff were also so friendly, engaging and helpful. Our two fales were excellant value and included a seperate, unique bathroom with a lovely hot shower, separate master bedroom and cooking facilities. We were right on athe most beautiful beach with white sand, coral reefs and coconut trees. What more could you ask for as a get away in winter! We will be return visitors!

Diane

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Savai'i Lagoon Resort is a wonderful relaxed placed to stay. The resort is situated perfectly on the stunning blue lagoon, and the people are amazingly friendly and wonderful hosts! We travelled as a family and stayed in one of the separate bedroom beach bungalows. It was perfect in its simplicity, and had a good kitchen, always handy with children - and often hard to come by. The food at Savai'i Lagoon resort is actually very good - the best we had during our whole 10 days in Samoa. We loved it, all our thanks to Wayne & Sarah our kiwi hosts.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This resort is situated about one hour from the ferry by road on a beautiful small beach, adjacent to the Le Lagoto Resort next door. We stayed for three nights in mid July. We had a separate bedroom beach bungalow and these are like someone's bach which has been tastefully decorated, with basic amenities for cooking (elec frypan and microwave). I loved the relaxing atmosphere on Savaii, and at the resort. However, we found sleep quite difficult as the resident rooster crows intermittently throughout the night, beginning at about 11. There are three kayaks, two with working paddles. The glass bottom boat trip is worthwhile and ticket purchases partly support the local village. In the time we were there, the petanque and volley ball advertised on the website were not apparent. We enjoyed delicious open sandwiches for lunch at the intimate resort restaurant. The dinner menu changes daily and you order what you want for dinner, and the seating time, around about midday. I recommend the pina coladas as you watch the sunset. There is also a delightful pizza restaurant directly across the road- and a small shop with basic supplies.

Transport: Getting ferry tickets on the Upolo side is a pain and you have to queue on the day no later than an hour before departure. Cash only and you cannot buy a return ticket so you have to do the same thing over again from the Savaii end. We were met at the ferry although we weren't expecting to be- and the taxi ride to the resort is WST70. Ignore the touting taxi drivers who harrass you as you exit the ferry and if there is noone to meet you, walk to a taxi and choose your own otherwise you end up in any old vehicle. Also ensure you agree to the cost of the fare before you start as taxis aren't metered in Samoa.

The resort is on land leased from the local village and the owners clearly work hard to build good relationships with those who live in the vicinity. The resort owners, non-resident, are New Zealanders and the two managers- who appear extremely busy- are also New Zealanders- as are most of the guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savaii Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savaii Lagoon Resort

Address: Main Coast Rd, Fagamalo, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savaii Lagoon Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique resort situated on a beautiful sandy beach surrounded by a lagoon with sparkling clear warm waters, safe for snorkeling and swimming. Bungalows are self contained with some cooking facilities, catering for families, singles or couples. All have outdoor showers enclosed within the bungalow to enable you to have a shower under the stars. Restaurant is on the beach also for those pina coladas or cold beers while you watch the magical sunsets for which this area is renowned.resort has a glass bottom boat and fishing charters with fishing gear provided operating from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Savaii Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savaii Lagoon Hotel Savai`i
Savaii Lagoon Savai i
Savaii Lagoon Resort Samoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savaii Lagoon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.