We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Time to Vaisala Beach Resort, and not the last we hope” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaisala Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vaisala Hotel
Save
You added Vaisala Hotel to your Saves list
Northern Coastal Road | Vaisala, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
AKJL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“4th Time to Vaisala Beach Resort, and not the last we hope”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Just back from my 4th visit to Vaisala Beach Resort, and can't wait to go back. We stayed nine days this time, which is unusual as most people seem to be 1 or 2 nights.
Yes, it is run down. Yes, the food is very basic, and the service can be a bit patchy. BUT for the price and location there is nothing else to touch this place. The staff really are very hospitable, and if you take the time to communicate, will do anything for you. Nice to see that a little maintenance had been done since last year with new tiles in the showers etc.
For a change of menu we wandered down to Va i moana, about 15mins away. It's a great resort, but the snorkelling at Vaisala is much better.
If you want a really peaceful, relaxing holiday, this is the spot.

Room Tip: Singles/couples rooms 16-21 are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I love this place. The rooms overhang an absolutely beautiful cove and beach. It invites you to snorkel. The rooms are clean and have porches over the beach, air conditioning, bathrooms with showers, really everything you could want. It is far from the busy town of Apia, on the far side of the "big Island" Savaii.
The food is fine; the personnel are attentive. I cherish my memories of the quiet beauty and kind people.

Room Tip: call
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

million dollar view from your doorstep if you ask for a room down by the beach. Rooms are clean & comfy and have aircon but fans did us fine. Very cheap here, its price per room and includes breakky so if you have two ppl in your room then two ppl get breakky. its simple breakky and yes you can ask for more! dinner was very cheap at $10AUD per person, very basic menu of fried fish/chicken with chips and salad. i think you can order other things but i just get specials lol. secure place also, the security is onsite 24 hours. we were sad to leave this place coz we actually felt like we were on a holiday! loved it here. it is secluded and don't count on running into anyone, just the way holidays should be lol. We went exploring at falealupo tai and caught the sunset, a very romantic experience. its about a 20 minute drive to falealupo from vaisala. vaisala is about 1 1/2 hours from salelologa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I stayed here 2 nights recently with a friend at the end of our 2 week stay in Samoa. I just loved it! The room was large and the beds were comfy, not to mention the fabulous view and the private beach. We couldn't fault the service. There was hot water (which is rare in Samoa at this price) and room service is offered at no extra cost. I'll definitely stay there again next year. Thanks to the welcoming friendly staff!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We checked out of the hotel after only one night. The shower in the bathroom did not really work and the toilet was leaking. We had asked for a different room but they did not even accommodate us. We had 3 small children and we needed to make sure there was running water in the shower. The site for this hotel is great but the hotel looks run down. Too bad because my wife and I had stayed at this hotel a number of years ago and found it ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

This hotel has a wonderful location. It is secluded, beautiful surroundings and a great white sandy beach to swim and laze about on. It has a really nice charm about it, but sadly it is let down somewhat by its run down state and poor quality of food (though breakfast was lovely and looking out from the balcony over the beach is breath-taking).

The room we booked was the beachfront double standard economy with A/C. We found it to be a clean room, but very run down (even for an economy standard). For example, the wardrobe door fell off when you opened it, the toilet seat required a strong sense of balance as it was broken and the water pipe from the basin just empties outside due to a broken pipe. These things are minor repairs and we were surprised that they had not been attended to. I must stress, I cannot abide dirty rooms or substandard accommodation and my partner thought I'd have a fit about the room and insist on leaving. But I really liked the place. It was clean and its something about the 'chram of the ole girl' that just got me. We didn't need the A/C, just the ceilng fan as the breeze was cool and it was lovely falling asleep to the waves breaking on the beach just metres away.

While the rundown state of this place is well known, we found the food very expensive for what it was - but Vai Moana (10 minutes away) does a great meal. The service was okay and friendly. However, I was surprised about the lack of a checking-in protocol. It was like fill this out, here's your key and your room. It would have been good to be told about the amenities of the hotel, times for breakfast, any snorking equipment etc. But something we noticed from staying in several places was that if you were dealing with a staff member who had been to NZ/Aust then they were very comfortable in dealing with you and generally offered good information. However, often you are dealing with people who haven't and so they were never forthcoming with information.

Anyway, if you are wanting a beautiful, secluded and not busy place to wile away days on a sunny beach and you are not to concerned about the flash stuff (though our room was economy so hopefully their standard rooms are better) ... then I would recommend this place, particularly if you have a car to pop along to other restarurants.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This large hotel is designed like a school camp - so it might be better experienced as part of a big group. We were there on our own and enjoyed the lovely beach - which was deceptively rough, the surges dumping us under even in knee-deep water. The food was basic but ok. The staff were friendly.

We had a good time, but felt like we paid too much for a stay in an old place that badly needs to be renovated. Our room was really just a row of four beds. There were tea bags but no kettle. We were looking forward to our first hot shower for a while, but it was only a lukewarm trickle. We could hear every word spoken in the next room.

For little kids there are quite a few hazards, like rickety staircases high above ground with no handrails, others with broken handrails with jagged ends, and hundreds of rusty beer bottle lids lying around waiting for a bare foot to cut.

There are very few accommodation alternatives in this part of Savaii, so here's hoping the owners have a plan to give this rusty old place a facelift and a safety review.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vaisala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vaisala Hotel

Address: Northern Coastal Road | Vaisala, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 114
Also Known As:
Vaisala Hotel Samoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaisala Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.