We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can find much better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Regina's Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Regina's Beach Fales
Manase, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Savai'i
London, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Can find much better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

My fiance and I had booked this place for 5 nights but left after only a couple. Anne-Marie, the young girl who runs the place, was helpful when she was there, but it was obvious from talking with her that she is completely overwhelmed with doing all the work herself. The food was awful, and we ended up having to pay to eat elsewhere half of the time because they offered nothing for vegetarians. We told them repeatedly that we are vegetarians and when Anne-Marie was there, we were able to get some non-meat meals, but any other times, there was nothing (even the soup) that didn't have meat in it. We stayed at a bunch of other places in Samoa and we never went hungry, so it is possible to get good veggie food here. The fales were fine, bathrooms were fine, and beach was nice (though you have to walk down to Stevensons for good beach access) but the service and food was not good, and I definitely think there are better options. We met other people who had the same problem and left after only a night or two and headed to Vacations fales which they said were much better. They looked much nicer too, as did Stevenson's. Overall, this beach is nothing compared to Lalomanu so I wouldn't spend more than a couple of days here. Check out.Racis Beach bar if you are on Manase though, it was the best part of our stay there. Raci and his wife are great, hire good snorkel equipment, and make amazing drinks!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
14
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tobi Doering
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

I had the same problem, waking to find Annamarie's father next to my bed in my fale in the middle of the night, and he had put a cat on top of my stomach underneath the mosquito net for cover. Fortunately, after making repeated ridiculously stupid excuses as to why he was there, he left when I demanded it. Supposedly, he was sent away when I told the head of the extended family. I could have put up with the horrible food, but "the incident" was too much. Also, I saw them refilling water bottles from a big jug for re-sale, and somewhere I caught Hepatitis A from either the food or water. I moved next door to Vacations, where there was a door to my fale with a latch on it and the food was very good with excellent, friendly service.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

The food is terrible. We were served spaghetti sandwiches for dinner and crackers and cheese (2 per person) for lunch. I would head for Stevensons instead.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

We arrived at Regina's having booked a beachfront fale through the Samoa Hotel Association. On our arrival, we were told the only fale available was not on the beach but was instead right beside the toilet block. Furthermore, there were people sleeping in it when we arrived and it was not cleaned prior to being offered to us. We asked for something on the beach and were offered a "new", very small fale without lighting. Upon expressing our discontent at the unavailability of what we had booked, the woman who seemed to be in charge scolded us for having booked through the Samoa Hotel Association and was singularly unhelpful. We left and stayed at Jane's Beachfront Fales down the road and had a wonderful experience there. I would not recommend Regina's unless you want to deal with a whole heap of attitude and, apparently, unwelcome nighttime visits (see previous review). There are plenty of nice places to stay in Manase and many, many very nice people in Samoa - just don't go to Regina's to find them.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

We've spent in Regina's 6 days and enjoyed very much our stay. It's a budget accommodation run by a local family. We had an accident, our torch was stolen from the dining room, we told to the manager about that and she really tried her best trying to find the torch. The news spread all over the place and I think the thief realized that since everyone knew, he/she wouldn't be able to use the it any longer and placed the torch into our backpack somehow. On the other hand the manager was ready to pay us a kind of compensation for the stolen torch.
We are very thankful for everyone who works in Regina's, very responsible and friendly people who work hard.
The hotel was always full and we had pleasant time meeting new people. Since the weather wasn't brilliant we spent many hours chatting with other gusts in the dining room.
The only thing we didn't like much was the beach, it's slight rocky there, so you have to walk like 5 minutes to the sandy place. That's the only so-called problem :)
Room rates I think were the best all over Manase, 60 Tala/per with everything included (breakfast, light lunch and dinner).
The fales were fully made of natural material in a traditional samoan way, no plastic.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I've stayed at Regina's twice. The first time was with a friend a month ago. We were overbooked, but accommodated in a nice fale in front of the family's home (a short strill down the beach). Annamaria looked after us well, the food was great, the fale was beautiful.
Based on this good experience, I returned again on my own on Sunday. Again, I got a nice fale (but because the people who were meant to take it had apparently left in a huff because it wasn't completely beachfront). Annamaria was again very helpful and lovely. Unfortunately, I woke up at 4 am with what I thought was a cat or lizard sitting on my belly. I threw it off and couldn't work out what it was, when Annamaria's father revealed himself to be next to my bed. He had been rubbing my abdomen with his hand. Long story short, he wouldn't leave me alone, so I had to get in my car, drive off and sleep by the side of the road.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

stayed here for 4 nights and wished we had found it sooner.!!
Everyone very welcoming - Lefa kindly looking after us each meal time... only down side was the rooster at 4am.....but that isn't totally a 'regina' thing....they are all over the place!
Internet cafe and shop right across the road, also Raci's - kayak hire etc only moments away. Don't drink the water - they provide water for you from the local spring and refridgerate it as well.

Met some lovely travellers whilst here....
Oh....and Savaii Dive - well worth the snorkling for 3 hrs approx $35 NZ....total bargin.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Regina's Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina's Beach Fales

Address: Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Savai'i
Also Known As:
Regina`s Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Regina's Beach Fales Samoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regina's Beach Fales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Regina's Beach Fales to your Saves list