We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Simple and Basic place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Janes Beach Fales

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savai'i
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Janes Beach Fales
Save
You added Janes Beach Fales to your Saves list
Manase, Savai'i, Samoa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Savai'i
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“A Simple and Basic place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

There are other places to stay nearby that are more upmarket but we were looking for something cheap and cheerful, and this is it. The Fale's are very small but right on the beach, the bar overlooks the beach and they have all the range of drinks, snacks and cocktails. The meals at the restaurant were just OK. If you are after a holiday with all the bells and whistles (including pool) then head to Le Lagato. Even if you stay at Jane's, go to Le Lagato for dinner, it is well priced and outstanding food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
26
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
launceston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We only stayed one night at Janes Beach Fale and we loved it. The food was nice, the showers were clean and the service was great. We loved the cocktail bar on the beach and our Fale was in a perfect location right on the beach. It was very simple and basic accomodation but it was just a beautiful place to stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This place has basic beach fales and a couple of ensuite bungalows. We stayed in the bungalow which was fun and bright pink with a terrace. The windows were netted but a mosquito net would have been good. There was no fan and therefore it was hot. The bathroom was tired with just a pipe and no showerhead. A bit buggy in there at night. We were there in quiet season but in busier times it might be quite noisy. The food is included but it is very average, however I think this place has the most friendly service of the fales in Manase and the location is charming. There is a small beach bar next door which does nice cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights & from the moment we arrived it was a lovely experience...fili & her helper Wendy were a great help...we were there with our 5 kids,my mother & sister in law & we all had a fantastic stay & did not want 2 leave...Mum & sis in-law had a beachfront fale but ours was jst behind it..my kids loved evry minute there..waking up 2 the sound of the water..& the view..WOW!!!..the food was great..4 the price u pay including meals & clean shower & toilets it was a bargain...i'd recommend it 2 evryone...value 4 money...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We recently spent two nights at Janes Beach Fales at Manese Beach. The accommodation was private, very basic but clean with a proper double bed, light bulb, lockable door (bring your own lock), and a great verandah with views to die for. The fales were surrounded by grass which we thought was much better than sand, and had plenty of shade for sitting and enjoying the view or reading a book. They have a nice beach bar with a great happy hour. Breakfast and dinner are included. Breakfast was good and dinner was adequate but not really to our liking. However, the price is so reasonable that it is still a bargain if you eat somewhere else occasionally. We did not have any problems with mosquitoes. It might be handy to bring a torch for any late night wanders.
We felt that there was everything there to make a relaxing, tropical holiday. I would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at Jane's for 8 nights in July 2010. We had booked online and had been told we would have a beachfront fale but when we arrived we were put into a 'second-row' fale. We asked to move after the first night and the only beachfront fale was No.13 which was 'out of service' at the time but Penina (sp?) and her staff went out of their way to ensure our original request for a beachfront fale was fulfilled. They reinforced the roof with more thatched fronds and even cut down some palm fronds from a neighbouring tree that were banging against the roof. We spent 7 nights in our little cosy fale and hated to leave - although it was an older fale it had the best position on the beach and was more private than others!

I'm surprised what other reviewers have said about the cleanliness. We were amazed at how clean the toilets/showers were while we were there. There must have been people cleaning them out every couple of hours as they always seemed to be sand-free in a sand filled site!! We also thought the food at Jane's was reasonably good (certainly adequate) and our meals were always served hot. There is a set time to eat at Jane's (6:30pm when we were there) and if you don't show up until 7:00 or 7:30pm you can't expect the food to be as hot as it would have been if you had showed up on time! At 120ST per night inclusive for two people you can't expect gourmet but in 8 nights we had no repeat dinners and only 1 repeat breakfast and we always had enough to eat so we were happy with what we had!

The location at Manase is fantastic. We met lots of interesting people at Jane's and we would go back there again the next time we're in Savaii.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roaming
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

the pluses: oceanfront, clean, nice reef (prettiest portion of reef in manase) with good variety of fish and a turtle, grassy lawns between fales (cooler/more comfortable than sand), lockable fales, breakfast and dinner included (see below)

minus: this is a no frills fale experience. no electric outlets at fales (there is a light bulb), holes in bug nets, old mattresses and smelly pillows, leaky roofs in the two fales we were in. food was in single serving (no seconds), and was hotdog/fried chicken/or fried fish repeated daily, with a side of potato and a couple carrot slices. basically, takeaway style food with no traditional style samoan food. you don't come here for the accomodations or food. you come to snorkle twice a day and gaze at the gorgeous ocean.

nice staff, poor English communication but well intentioned. was a pretty place to laze for a week. nearby were several tiny beach bars and a petrol/service station that sold cold drinks and ice creams. convenient to captive turtle viewing pond, dive savaii (recommended), and as a big plus, janes has its own car rentals on-site.
janes would be improved with local/authentic samoan food/fresh fruits and veg.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Janes Beach Fales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Janes Beach Fales

Address: Manase, Savai'i, Samoa
Location: Samoa > Savai'i
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Savai'i
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Janes Beach Fales Hotel Savai`i
Janes Beach Fales Samoa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Janes Beach Fales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.