We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, kind staff, great sleep, beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Hotel to your Saves list
Volcano Hotel
Rafael Vieira s/n y AvMontalvo, Banos 17-10-7077, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Banos
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, kind staff, great sleep, beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We had a great stay at the Volcano hotel. The grounds are very beautiful with flowers and bright green hummingbirds. The staff was very kind to us; the owner came off as a bit brusque at first, but we actually found her to be very sweet and helpful throughout our trip. The other staff is kind and helpful. We found the restaurant service to be a bit slow, but the food is delicious once it comes. We slept the deepest here out of any place we stayed in Ecuador.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    22
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
19
36
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Hotel is good except the staff.

Good pool with no heating. Nice house with great view of Tungurahua volcano foothill.

Arrogant owner

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Volcano in November 2009 on our Equador trip. It is definitely not a bad place to stay and has a decent cost-performance ration, just that it does not have much of atmosphere. The hotel is located in a very quite street, but still very close to the center and to the baths. The rooms a large and tastefully furnitured and also quite clean. The breakfast was also fine, but do not come too late as there is a risk that some of the food will not be available. We would recommend this place as we believe it to be one of the best options in Banos.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

What a great hotel for a great little city. Had a great time in Banos and the Volcano Hotel was a great place to crash while we were there for 3 days.

We had a 3 person room. Great view, clean, great mattress. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The internet was not working properly when we were there but we could do with out if for a few days. A block away from the public bathes and waterfall. 3 blocks away from the down town area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My wife, daughter, and I spent close to a week at this small pleasant hotel in Banos, Ecuador. We arrived as part of a wedding group, and stayed after the group left. The hotel is clean and the staff work very hard. The garden is pretty and there is a small swimming pool. There is a problem with room acoustics and when the hotel is full the sound travels loudly from room to room.

But my complaint is that when I got the bill the owner, just in from Quito, had increased the cost for the room without telling us. When i objected he implied that I was not telling the truth, and then said that we could have checked the rates on his web-site! What a joke. He refused to reduce the rate to the agreed on level that we had been paying as part of the wedding group. Just a small-time cheat. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

This is the best hostal we stayed at in Ecuador. It is just outside of the central area (5 minutes walk). It is quiet for Ecuador (in other words you will still hear chickens and dogs so bring your ear plugs if you are sensitive). The bedding was incredible - nice big plush pillows. The breakfast was delicious with nice big croissants (2 per person). They also have tvs in the room.

I don't know how much English the staff speak because they preferred I speak in my broken Spanish.

If you are looking for value around the $50 mark (double), this is the place for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

We stayed at the Volcano Hotel for two days. The hotel is in a good location, next to the Thermal Baths and a waterfall. The hotel has a small pool and gardens. The room we had was big and very clean. The bathroom was a little small, but clean. The room has a large (shared) balcony with a fantastic view of the mountains and the waterfall. A good breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, breads and coffee was served in a pleasant dining room. We did not eat any other meals there, so can not comment on the food. Would definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — The large room with the mountain view
  • Disliked — small bathroom
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Hotel

Address: Rafael Vieira s/n y AvMontalvo, Banos 17-10-7077, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, volcano, restaurant, pool, jacuzzi, is situated in the best place in the town of Baños, Tungurahua province, an hour of the Amazon rainforest. spacious, sunny and clear rooms , some with views of the city, others to Mount Runtun. Facilities for taking more than 12 tourist actidades, eg, canoping, bungee jumping, tours to the waterfalls, on horses, Buguis, vicicletas, or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Volcano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.