We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plants and White Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plants and White Hostel
Save
You added Plants and White Hostel to your Saves list
12 de Noviembre y Luis A Martinez, Banos, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Rattvik, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this place and can highly recommend it. Our room was really nice with plants. It was a big room with view of the waterfall. The staff were friendly and helpful but didnt speak much english. The rooftop breakfast area was beautiful with view over the mountain. If you are planning to go to Banos, stay here. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    37
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
3
29
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Key points:
-a little far from the bus station, but otherwise located near lots of attractions, with a short walk to the famous hot water springs and local indoor soccer gymnasium (where you can watch a game).
-The rooftop terrace is clearly a selling point. Beautiful views, mostly covered from rain, with basic kitchen materials to cook for yourselve
-The clientele is, as expected, young white backpackers.
-The rooms are bare-bones but fine. Ours had 2 beds and plenty of storage for stuff. We got one facing the street rather than the pretty views but it was fine.
-Internet room was well used; you may have to wait a bit.
-Massages up the street from the hostel are OUTRAGEOUSLY cheap and good!
-Horsebackriding in the area is cheap and very strenuous - we were galloping on back trails and hiking up to waterfalls!

Overally, I'd recommend this hostel for young people interested in meeting others and who don't plan to be in their rooms much at all. Banos is lovely!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The rooftop is incredible with a view of the town and a waterfall. There are chairs and tables for reading and relaxing. The hostel provides many amenities including complimentary DVD rentals and fresh towels each day. There's also a refrigerator stocked with beer and drinks that you can keep a running tab on. One of my favorite parts was the strong hot showers. The indoor cafe area on the rooftop has a kitchen that can be used to prepare your own food. The walls aren't that thick so noise will filter in from outside. We stayed in a three person room on the first floor and they put shutters down at night which doesn't allow any light in during the morning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean rooms that are serviced every day, amazing views of banos and the surrounding mountains from the roof, and centrally located. Worth every penny. I don't think you could get a better view from anywhere else in the city!

The indoor portion of the rooftop is where you can use the kitchen and where they serve breakfast. There is beer for sale there, but I do wish they had more in the way of drinks and food through the day (although I think the nature of Banos is that people are usually out on tours and adventures during the day). They have self serve tea and coffee all day for $1.50 but the water was always cold and the coffee is the instant kind, so I quickly learned not to bother.

Room Tip: After being shown a room on the bottom floor, my friends and I opted for a private on a higher floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The bed was full size and seriously solid, just like the floor! Pillows and blankets come with the scent of an aged male. The cacophonous sounds of the Baños nightlife hammered through the streets up to our room until late in the evening. There is no TV to drown out the noise, but that's okay because they offered old videos found at the front desk. Important hint about the videos: first go to the unique video selection map found on the second floor by the Internet room; select and communicate your video number to the person at the front desk on the bottom floor. Hint to find the too thin sheet-like towels: see closet top shelf. Hint to find mini-postage sized sink: beside toilet that does flush. There is a great hot, hot shower with a window that did not close. Hint to find hairdryer: there is none; but really if you ask they think you are a silly person to want dry hair in a place that rains all the time. The shower produced a lot of water on to floor with nowhere to go! The Internet room is as most found in Baños but this one is special as it has a bathroom that many people use, and every noise is heard, every smell from their experience is also available! There is a sweet roof garden café, with flowers to behold! and WIFI! It is nice to have WIFI available in a place that has super loud music so if you need to work, think, digest your food, or talk to the person you are with that is just not possible. That super breed of very single, young international types are found busy with their smart phones. They don’t need to talk or eat or think because they live in ~ radio waves. It must have been too early for the café staff, the waitress had a strange attitude, like I’m not really here, don’t bother me. Eventually we did get fed because thankfully the cook clearly was there and wanted to work. Bread was plentiful. The coffee was very good. Little English is spoken at the front desk if that matters. Remember they offer videos for free!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed in every type of room there- private with three people, shared bathroom/private room, and dorm-style room. All of the rooms were clean, the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms had hot water and were clean as well. The best part, as many people have probably said, is the terrace. It has a nice view, you can be inside or outside, the breakfast is good, and you can serve yourself a beer or tea when you please. Last time I stayed in the dorm room it was about $8 per person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uetendorf, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Plantas y Blanco is a really decent hostel with an awesome sundeck. It is clean as (service daily), has a comunal kitchen, board games, dvds, internet (not only wifi) etc all FOR FREE. What makes the big difference though is the staff: Extremely friendly and helpful with anything - always with a smile: printing documents for us, using the shower & other facilities until late at night AFTER checking out and more... and all was offered from their side! And the prices are fair too. There's not one thing to complain about!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
othello20, Owner at Plants and White Hostel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi,
We are so greatfull for your comentary,,,,, we try to help the traveller to feel confortable, secure and in a friendly atmosphere....
We hope you to see again....
Thank you again,
Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plants and White Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plants and White Hostel

Address: 12 de Noviembre y Luis A Martinez, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantas y Blanco has been one of the most popular hostels in Baños. That is because we really care in having a neat place that offers everything the traveller could need. Rooftop cafeteria with one of the best breakfasts and view in town, drinks, tea and coffee self service, table games, very recomended healthy steam bath, bakery, classic films available, book exchange, laundry, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plants And White Hostel (Hostal Plantas y Blanco) Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plants and White Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.