We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overall experience for our family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Manteles

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Manteles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Manteles
Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Banos B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
1 review
“Great overall experience for our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are living in Lima and wanted to get away from the city. We had painstakingly, over several months, planned a trip to the Arequipa region of Peru and had to cancel and change plans at the last minute. We decided on the Tungurahua region of Ecuador and hastily planned a trip, not knowing what to expect. The whole trip turned out wonderfully and our time at Manteles was no small part of the overall success. The surrounding area is breathtaking (with trails for hiking), the staff courteous and attentive and the management went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed (information, transportation, some children's Tylenol when my son got a mild fever, and engaging conversation). Even the owner visited with us and made us feel at ease. In terms of the facilities, I again have nothing but praise. The interior of the main house has a warm and cozy feel (even my wife, who incessantly redecorates every space she encounters, said she felt her eye could rest and the space was "finished"), and the suite we stayed in was spacious, lovely and comfortable. The food was good and fresh with a nice variety of fresh juices from the Hacienda's orchards; they were even able to accommodate dietary restrictions and did so with a much appreciated attention to detail. In a sentence: it was a lovely experience in beautiful surroundings and we were made to feel at ease by personalized and flexible attention from detail-oriented staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    19
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I took a tour in July 2013. One of the places we stayed was Hacienda Manteles. From the minute we walked into the door we were made to feel like family. The manager Fernando was wonderful and had a great sense of humor, the food was fabulous, the rooms where gorgeous and the atmosphere was fantastic. The view from the hacienda is amazing. If I ever go back to Ecuador I would definitely go back to Hacienda Manteles!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What words are there to describe such a beautiful experience as Hacienda Manteles?
For years in my mind's eye I have imagined the perfect place to retire. Hacienda Manteles is my imaginings come to life.

This working hacienda redefines the meaning of "farm to table" as I can to experience first-hand.This off-the-beaten-path respite from city chaos and noise will change your outlook online. Nestled between 2(3?) extinct volcanos and at Angels-in-the-Heavens altitudes (sorry about all the hyphens), HM offers vistas that quiet the spirit, renew one's faith (or at least reintroduces the question) and redefines simplistic beauty.

The long and winding road (and for me a little altitude sickness) to reach HM only adds to the excitement of arriving there. The attentive staff come out the door to personally welcome you and immediately hustle you luggage off to your room.

The rooms consist a small number of bungalows set off from the main house which also sleeps guests. The food and wine are 5-star and exceptionally priced. World class retreat for those who wish to be closer to earth and nature.

Be sure to play with the chocolate lab and the golden retriever whose names escape me but who refuse to be ignored. I WILL be back to replenish at HM early next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We visited Manteles with Gate One in June 2013 and after an amazing bus journey from the bottom of the valley through clouds and haze, we arrived at this lovely property with an amazing view in all directions. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite and it is one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever enjoyed. Fernando and his staff were very pleasant and our group enjoyed our evening there altogether in the common room. I would love to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at this hacienda while on a Gate 1 tour of Ecuador. It was by far our favorite place. It was out in the country, quiet, and had a beautiful view of the Tungurahua Volcano. The manager, Fernando, gave us a tour of his garden and walked us around the grounds. The dinner we were served in the dining room was amazing - the best food we had on our entire trip. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean, and recently renovated. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

During August and September 2012 we did a road-trip through parts of Ecuador. In Quito we stayed at Boutique Hotel Café Cultura and the owner told us about Hacienda Manteles. 'Exclusive Hotels and Haciendas of Ecuador' offers a UNIQUE collection of boutique hotels, haciendas and lodges - Hacienda Manteles is one of them.

We arrived at night, and it felt like a very long drive, up a narrow mountain road to get to the Hacienda.
We were welcomed by Fernando, whom I now consider a family friend. He shared some really interesting stories about Ecuador - from politics to pachamama.
We had two rooms in the new buildings, one with a king bed and the other with two double's. Both had a large full wall window with beautiful views towards Tungurahua. It was great waking up in the morning, sitting in my bed with these amazing views.
The food was great. We had breakfast and dinner at the hacienda. Never disappointed. The wines were expensive though.
I loved the gardens at Manteles, Lavender, lemon trees and a huge old tree. Fernando also designed a beautiful organic garden, where they grow all kinds of vegetables. In the surrounding area, close to the vegetable gardens, there are areas with chikcens, cows, pigs, ducks. My daughter loved the farm-feel and Rasta, the long haired pony.
Banos is a scenic, 45 min drive away and once you've traveled the road to Manteles, it gets better every time.
It's a great place to go relax, and charge your batteries. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms in the new apartment buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Pine, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is an excellent hotel, with very good hosts and rooms are clean and well cared for. We had Room 1 which was in the old part of the Hotel, but was very nice. The meals were among the best we had on the trip. I would recommend this hotel even though it is hard to get to.

Room Tip: I only saw the one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Manteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Manteles

Address: Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Manteles, a hotel near Banos, awaits your visit, offering you a homely and welcoming atmosphere in one of the most beautiful haciendas in Ecuador. Manteles, built in 1965 was transformed into a hotel in 1992. Little by little, the property has been remodelled and refurbished to include all the home comforts and services that our guests deserve. Located 18km from the town of Baños and offering stunning views of the active Tungurahua Volcano, the hacienda has become a ‘must see’ during any trip to Ecuador.The natural environment and ecotourism come together in Hacienda Manteles. Along with the wonderful gardens surrounding the main house, the hacienda encompasses a 200 hectare area of protected primary and secondary cloud forest, through which one can reach the entrance to the mystical Llanganates National Park. This forest, among other wonders, is home to an abundance of wild orchids and animals. For those who love mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and trekking Hacienda Manteles offers the perfect setting, with a whole network of natural trails to really enjoy these activities. The surrounding peaks of the Andes provide the perfect back drop for an unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Hacienda Manteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Manteles Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Manteles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.