We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel - more like a summer home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Manteles

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Manteles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hacienda Manteles
Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 28 Banos B&B and Inns
Taylorsville, Utah
1 review
“Awesome Hotel - more like a summer home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff and Manager at Hacienda Manteles were super friendly, like family. The Rooms were very cozy and comfortable. It was more like visiting family than a hotel. Rasta, the donkey, was a highlight of the stay. There are lots of animals to keep you entertained. Also the surrounding garden was beautiful. I would recommend the Hacienda Manteles to all my friends and hope I will also be able to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you where happy with our staff and amenities.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    19
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
55
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victorville, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this wonderful hacienda this past week as part of a Gate 1 tour. Let me say that looks can be deceiving because when we first saw the hacienda, I started to panic thinking that it was some sort of joke. Luckily for me, it was no joke and it ended up being one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

The hacienda used to be a house and was converted to a hotel some time ago. There are only like 6 rooms at the Hacienda but there are more rooms in other buildings around the property. Our room was room #2 and it was located in the hacienda. The room was small but charming and cozy. It was perfect for my wife and I.

The dinner was good, my wife and I both had the steak. We asked for the meat cooked medium but it was rare, really rare. We asked for it to be cooked longer and it was perfect after being cooked a little longer. It was no big deal for us.

The highlight of this hotel, though, was that the volcano that graces the view from the hotel was actually active for the night that we stayed. The plume of smoke was visible all evening and at night we could see the lava spurting out of the volcano. Not enough to cause trouble but just enough to put on an awesome show. It was an unbelievable night.

The staff is friendly and helpful. I was impressed with how polite they were.

Overall, this charming hotel is worth the drive and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for something different.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards from the HACIENDA MANTELES. It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda and to share some unforgetable moments and chats with both of you.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities. Also we are delighted to hear that Volcan Tungurahua while you stayed with stay with us. It is really an incredible experience!

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Pros:
A charming house, very tastefully decorated, surrounded by breathtaking scenery. A good selection of CD’s in the large living/dining room.
Two very friendly dogs will accompany you on your daily hikes, there is a cute donkey named Rasta and a cow that you can practice milking.
Good hiking trails.
Staff is friendly and helpful, food was pretty good, coffee and tea available 24 hours a day.
Our rooms were in the main building, they were large, beds were comfortable, and there was hot water in the shower – this can’t be taken for granted in Ecuador.
The newer rooms/suites have panoramic views of the mountains.

Cons:
Its really in the middle of nowhere, cab ride to Banos is 35-40 minutes, $30 one way, so If you are not with an organized tour, and don’t have a car, this will be an added time and expense.
Your choice of activities is limited to what Hacienda has to offer, and there is no place to have lunch other than Hacienda.
The WIFI wasn’t very good – there were only 6 of us when we stayed, and even that overwhelmed the connection. They offer a computer with internet connection for guests’ use, but its just one computer, besides everyone
Is spoiled these days and expects to be able to use their handheld devices. We had better WIFI in a cheap hostel in Amazonian village.
The floors in our rooms were squeaky (minor point).
On the days of our stay there were no other guests – we had the whole house and grounds to ourselves. Some people might have preferred it this way, but we actually enjoyed meeting and talking to other travelers in every other hotel in Ecuador. After the sunset there is not much to do, so a company would have been welcomed

Bottom line: I think it is a very good place to spend a weekend if you have plenty of time in Ecuador, or need to relax and recharge after a long hiking trip. If your time in the country is limited, you might be better off staying in Banos.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director de Recepción at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards from the HACIENDA MANTELES. It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda and to share some unforgetable moments.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.

We are sorry to hear that you had difficulties with our internet connection while in Manteles.
We are looking for better ways/ internet providers to help us improve this service for all of our guests.

We offer a variety of activities that can be enjoyed during your stay with us, please find a list below, for more details you can see our web site:

• Relaxation Massage
• Horse Back Riding
• Walk to the waterfall of Payacucho
• Hikes ( we offer different hikes, depending on our customers experience, we could offer a 2-3 hour hike up to a 5-7 hour hike. All of our hikes include breath taking views, and interactive trails with a variety of nature and fauna)
• Zip Line or Canopy
• Canyoning
• Bird Watching
• Cooking classes
• River Rafting at Pastaza River
• Mountain Biking
• Visit the indigenous community of Salasaca ant it´s market
• Visit the city of Baños and its surroundings (Pailón Del Diablo, etc.)

Also, we organize tours and activities in the city of Baños and its surroundings with private transportation from and to Hacienda Manteles for all our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

From the minute you arrive to the minute you depart this Hacienda is absolutely wonderful. We were greeted and welcomed by the owner and the manager and of course the dogs.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean and so charming. We had two rooms separated by a living area with chairs and a fireplace and a large window with a beautiful view of the volcano.

We contacted the hotel in advance and arranged horseback riding. The dogs guided us on our rides and were pleasant companions who ensured our safety and guided us back to the hacienda.

Everyone was so accommodating and friendly. The food was also very good.

Hacienda Manteles is a place where you truly feel welcome and that the owner, manager and staff are honestly wonderful people who take pride in being ambassadors for Ecuador and in the hospitality which they offer.

I would recommend Hacienda Manteles to anyone visiting Ecuador.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director of Sales at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards from the HACIENDA MANTELES. It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda and to share some unforgetable moments and chats with both of you.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities. Also we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Horse Back riding activity.

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The Hacienda Manteles was a wonderful place for us to recharge our batteries after volunteering in Quito. It is nice and quiet atmosphere with nature's calming all around. Walks in the countryside to waterfalls accompanied by the world's friendliest dogs makes wandering in the forests even more wonderful! We were fortunate to stay in one of the newer rooms and what a magnificant palace it was!!! Felt very spoiled indeed.
We were treated to wonderful meals and did probably added inches to our waistlines! Thanks for the wonderful food, conversations and giggles. The flying cat was a lot of fun and certainly he and the rest of the staff made us feel invited.

I would certainly support your choice to stay at the Hacienda Mantelles to recharge your batteries before plunging off and doing the varied and exciting adventures that Ecuador has to offer!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms that are outside of the main building as they are larger and newer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director of Sales at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards from the HACIENDA MANTELES. It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda and to share some unforgetable moments and chats with both of you.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities. Also we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Room!

Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you where aible to rest. We hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Whar can I say, unbeleivable.The hospitality and the way that you feel from the moment that you arrive. The owner and the manager were both there while we visited. They treated us like family and treated us to a tour of the Hacienda and the organic farming they do. The animals and their dogs were so friendly. Nice warm fire in the main house with cocktails. A great view of the volcano and the food was so good. The best !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director of Sales at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards, It was a real pleasure to have you with us at the Hacienda.

We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff and amenities.
Our staff is always delighted to provide the best service and to make your stay more comfortable.
We are always trying our best to make our guests feel like they have found a home away from home, and we are just delighted to hear this is how you felt while in Hacienda Manteles.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you here in Ecuador and at the Hacienda Manteles in the not too distant future.

Thank you for your comment!

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela López
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed in Hacienda Manteles for two nights. The location is very nice, but far away from everything. I guess it is a place to spend a weekend but nothing more. Breakfast and dinner were nice, but expensive.

There are two things I would like to point out as weaknesses of Manteles:

- the owner as drunk and talking to guests during dinner our first night. He seems a good fellow, but he should NOT make his guests uncomfortable!!

- there are few things to do once you are there. It can get boring.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaManteles, Director of Sales at Hacienda Manteles, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Greetings from Hacienda Manteles,

We would like to send our warmest regards.

There seems to be a misunderstanding regarding the Hotel you stayed in while in Ecuador.

All of our rates include Breakfast and Dinner; we do not charge these meals separately.

We offer a variety of activities that can be enjoyed during your stay with us, please find a list below, for more details you can see our web site:

• Relaxation Massage
• Horse Back Riding
• Walk to the waterfall of Payacucho
• Hikes ( we offer different hikes, depending on our customers experience, we could offer a 2-3 hour hike up to a 5-7 hour hike. All of our hikes include breath taking views, and interactive trails with a variety of nature and fauna)
• Zip Line or Canopy
• Canyoning
• Bird Watching
• Cooking classes
• River Rafting at Pastaza River
• Mountain Biking
• Visit the indigenous community of Salasaca ant it´s market
• Visit the city of Baños and its surroundings (Pailón Del Diablo, etc.)

Also, the Hacienda´s owner, my father (Mr. Duran) is a person who rarely drinks. He only drinks just one glass of wine during special occasions and has never greeted our guests or accompanied them through dinner in this kind of condition. This is another reason why we believe there is a misunderstanding regarding the Hotel you stayed in while in Ecuador.

Your suggestions and comments are very important to us. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' comments before booking their own visits. For this reason we would really appreciate if you can send us your information* to the following address:

sales@haciendamanteles.com so we can verify our records in order to resolve this situation a.s.a.p.

* Name, last name and exact date of your stay

Thank you for your comment.

We hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,

Gabriela Lopez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Manteles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Manteles

Address: Ecological Route Banos - Patate km. 18.5 (Via Las Antenas), Banos 0000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Manteles, a hotel near Banos, awaits your visit, offering you a homely and welcoming atmosphere in one of the most beautiful haciendas in Ecuador. Manteles, built in 1965 was transformed into a hotel in 1992. Little by little, the property has been remodelled and refurbished to include all the home comforts and services that our guests deserve. Located 18km from the town of Baños and offering stunning views of the active Tungurahua Volcano, the hacienda has become a ‘must see’ during any trip to Ecuador.The natural environment and ecotourism come together in Hacienda Manteles. Along with the wonderful gardens surrounding the main house, the hacienda encompasses a 200 hectare area of protected primary and secondary cloud forest, through which one can reach the entrance to the mystical Llanganates National Park. This forest, among other wonders, is home to an abundance of wild orchids and animals. For those who love mountain biking, horseback riding, hiking and trekking Hacienda Manteles offers the perfect setting, with a whole network of natural trails to really enjoy these activities. The surrounding peaks of the Andes provide the perfect back drop for an unforgettable visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hacienda Manteles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Manteles Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Manteles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.