We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Runtun Adventure Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Runtun Adventure Spa to your Saves list
Luna Runtun Adventure Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos 180250, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Banos
St. Petersburg
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stay Away!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2006

My wife and I stayed at LR for 4 nights during our 2 wk vacation around Galapagos/Ecuador mainland and our experience at this hotel was by far the worst during our entire trip.

Consider these facts:

We chose to stay at their much touted presidential suite - the place is a joke!!

- shower not working (the head falls off the wall when you try to get decent water flow);

- dirty bathtub upon arrival - it took 2 visits to the front desk manager to get someone to clean it up.

- they always brought moist logs to fire the fireplace and so the room was choking in smoke - ended up not using it in the end.

- they did not even care to change a 2 or 3-week old bouquet of roses which was all long faded and the water in the vase was yellow with really bad smell. Maybe I am being too picky but this is definitely NOT would I expect paying $340 per night in a country where one can find a decent hotel for $50-70/night.

- if you want to have dinner you MUST get back to hotel before 9pm. At that time all hotel staff simply packs up and leaves for their homes in Banos - and the guests are left with only one person with no English at the front desk. Top-notch property for sure!

The biggest complaint is their ABSOLUTE lack of attention to our tour requests. The hotel offers their own adventure programs and it seemed that unless you sign up for one of those you are pretty much on your own to find your own tour guide, vehicle, etc - really annoying! Before we arrived we requested a private tour guide and a vehicle to be made avaiable for us for our entire stay - but our requests fell of deaf ears. So we ended up renting a taxi for full several days and no tour guide at all - just a book in our hands. Thank you, Carmen, very thoughtful of you!

They have only ONE tour guide - Andreas - with a postcard smile who was absolutely useless. He was not able (or maybe did not want?) to connect us to other tour guides in the area and his only advice was "read the hotel pamphlet". But the moment we would say that we are not interested in these standard offers and prefer to have a private tour escort, this guy would simply switch off and ignore our requests completely.

Re Carmen she is very proactive and was calling me in Toronto several times a day when she needed me to book her services, but the moment the money was paid - she disappeared. She did not even come out to greet us during our entire stay at her EMPTY hotel.

My wife and I are pretty well traveled and we recognize that not all services and amenities are avaiable in distant corners of the world. The things we were missing at Luna Runtun were not Kristal champagne bottles or some extravagant menu choices. It was the sheer ignorance of clients' requests by the hotel staff that made us really upset with staying at this "hotel".

If you want to enjoy your stay at Banos choose yourself a different hotel.

  • Liked — Nearby town Banos
  • Disliked — NO SERVICE
  • Tips/Secrets — NEVER STAY THERE
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    64
    40
    15
    17
See reviews for
63
166
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NM
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2006

The setting is spectacular perched above Banos and with easy access into town. The rooms had a bit of charm and great views but otherwise pretty ordinary. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The restaurant is truly mediocre with piped in Muzak and fairly ordinary international cuisine. Service generally very freindly and well-meaning.
The biggest problem occurs if they book any of your taxis as they charge easily double or triple prices which you could obtain any where else. They are not surprisingly very eager to book these for you. Just compare before you commit.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We will take your comments into consideration.

Taxi drivers in Ecuador, as in the majority of countries in Latin America, used to charge more to foreigners for the shuttles, that is the reason we published the normal rate of $5 in our publicities. This way, tourists have this information ready to negotiate with the taxi driver before they pick one. Of course, we have not control to the 100 taxi drivers in town and we always recommend to have $5 change ready to avoid the over-charge.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

Out of this world. Wonderful feeling ! Extremely relaxing ! Gracias.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Very precise.

Thank you very much for your time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Runtun Adventure Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Runtun Adventure Spa

Address: Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Runtun Adventure Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA is a Romantic Hotel for couples, family or friends. It is located in Banos, 170 km (3 hours drive) from Quito, the capital of Ecuador, 300 km (5 hours drive) from Guayaquil and 62 km (1 hour drive) from the Amazon rainforest. The setting is unique, surrounded by mountains, 70 waterfalls and thermal water. Spring weather, with an average temperature of 17 - 25°C all year round, and some rainy days. Luna Runtun's 310 acres of unspoilt Andean forest are located on the oriental flank of the active Tungurahua volcano (5.016M), 400m above the charming town of Banos, gateway to the Amazon rainforest, surrounded by Sangay and Llanganates National Parks. Enjoy 25 adventure activities: 11 hikes, rafting, canyoning, biking, horse backriding, travelling throughout the countryside, Amazon rainforest and birdwatching programs; 25 SPA treatments, 4 pools and jacuzzi with hot volcanic water, Runtun Restaurant with fusion food, Cafe del Cielo with 34 varieties of coffee, themed rooms and Romantic Suites decorated exquisitely. With your loved one, family or friends; Luna Runtun has become the ideal place to celebrate special events: weekend getaways, vacations, relaxing, birthday, wedding anniversary, marriage proposal, honeymoon, reconciliations and romantic getaways. Our Adventure and SPA packages are the perfect combination for your trip to the Galapagos Islands. The volcano has been constantly active since 1999 and showers the sky with her spectacular show of fire and lava, allowing our visitors to partake in one of the world's most impressive natural fireworks displays from the safety of Luna Runtun and the charming town of Banos located in the secure area in the oriental flank of the volcano. Banos and Luna Runtun have not been affected by any type of material in the 16 eruptions in the last 400 years. The Basilica of Our Lady of Holy Water, built in 1944, is made of volcanic stones, as well as Banos City Hall. Adventure, rest, fun and a volcano in eruption. Welcome to the most complete destination in Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Runtun Adventure Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Runtun Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.