We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location, torturous facilities for the handicap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Runtun Adventure Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Luna Runtun Adventure Spa to your Saves list
Luna Runtun Adventure Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos EC180250, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Banos
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location, torturous facilities for the handicap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This property is in the most beautiful location, wonderful views of the mountains, however there is not an inch of a way to bring my husband with is handicap, not with his walker, nor with the wheelchair, between two of my friends from Florida we were able to bring him to the Cafe del Cielo for a very poor and very expensive lunch, I wanted to go to the main restaurant for a special meal but we were not able to transport him there. I will never recommend anyone to see that place unless their age range from 16 to 40 years old with the money of a 50-60-70.
The owners should be somehow friendly for handicaps.

Room Tip: Not hot water, long walk to the other facilities like the Spa or Dining Room forget to the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We will take your comments into consideration and you are right, we are located in the mountains, where, among the main characteristics of this area, is that nothing is flat. The hotel has been built as a little town, and that's the reason of the distances between the facilities.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites, and some new ramps in the entrances.

Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico and Runtun Restaurant have become major attractions in the region and are a "must visit" for every tourist visiting Baños.

We look forward to attend you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    50
    36
    14
    16
See reviews for
54
144
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Yes, the views are stunning but for the price that Luna Runtun charges you should expect much more.

The service was very poor and not accommodating. We waited 45 minutes for our spa appointment even though we had reservations. The hot tube water was lukewarm so you couldn't really enjoy the gorgeous views. The staff wasn't very service oriented. The food in the restaurant and drinks were average but very pricey. The place is isolated from anything to do so you're really stuck up over Banos, with great views but not really being taken care of. You should expect that at those prices.

We got out of there quickly and spend our time in Banos at a Hostel type of place. Amazingly at 10% of the cost we had a warm welcome and fantastic service. We went and got massages in town also at a fraction of the cost (We found out that Luna Runtun uses therapist from Banos anyway, just marks it up.)

This was the only blemish on the whole trip to Ecuador. You just feel ripped off.

Do yourself a favor and take a look at other options. If you're considering this place you have the budget to really find something else special. This isn't it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We will take your comments into consideration.

stuck .... we offer 25 adventure activities, 25 SPA treatments, 4 pools and jacuzzi with hot volcanic water, 2 restaurants, 3 hikes around the hotel...
All our therapists are professionals and we have very good prices compared to the operation in Baños, our SPA has 500 m2 and 11 rooms with spectacular views. For sure you are going to find it cheaper in Baños, the quality is by far different.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico and Runtun Restaurant have become major attractions in the region and are a "must visit" for every tourist visiting Baños.

We look forward to attend you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We were looking forward to an unusual , tranquil surrounding in which we found this and more at Luna Runtun. The resort is set among breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains. We were drawn to Luna Runtun because of its lure of the volcano and waterfalls . . The waterfalls we're amazing in the surrounding areas , as we toured them thru the resort and were not disappointed . Our guides and drivers were very professional and knowledgeable . The room was quite beautiful in a rustic way - stucco- stencil walls with a large fireplace that was lit every night upon request ( RM 38) . The views of the mountains were spectacular from our room and also soaking in the thermal bathes . We found our rooms clean and the beds very comfortable . We did keep our electric heater on to take the chill from the room which we attributed to the massive stone wall in our room and tiled floors - it was never uncomfortable . The food and service we found excellent. There were also plenty of available options in town .Wonderful and peacefull . Very much recommended for those looking for the unusual vacation experience

Room Tip: Request a room that has a fireplace , great to fall asleep by .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Promotional material for this "Adventure Spa" only touches on what was, for us, the reason to visit Ecuador. Yes, the scenery is breathtaking, the climate agreeable, and the tours spectacular. But what sets this resort apart from anything else in the area is it's pristine setting far above the diesel exhaust and clamor of the typical Ecuadorian town of Banos. Luna Runtun is self-contained, but not isolated, rustic but not run-down and modern without being slick. The artwork in the rooms and public areas is exceptional and adds to the ambiance.
We hiked both up the mountain past the hamlet of Runtun and down the steep trail to Banos for a change of scene. A $5 return taxi ride was cheap for the uphill 10-minute ride from Banos.
The hotel's front-desk staff was helpful and strove to meet our needs but could use more training about the resort amenities. Our Spanish is so-so, perhaps that's the problem. Upper hotel management and the tour organizer were fluent in English and contributed to making our week-long visit a real pleasure.
Spa services were the best we ever enjoyed at less than half of US rates. The volcanic pools were well maintained but unreliable in temperature, sometimes hot, sometimes cool. The staff adjusted the temperature upon request. The beautiful views from the pools cannot be described in words.
While we can't fault the variety, presentation and taste of the meals served, we didn't find prime meats, ocean fish or the shellfish for which Ecuador is renown on the menu or at the buffet. That was perhaps healthier for us. Ha!
Wine was overpriced at close to$10 for a medium glass, double the price of a four-star Quito hotel, spirits were also high priced. A find was the awesome coffee selection available inexpensively at the resort's cafe. Ecuadorian mountain coffee is tops as is the Luna Runtun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients about the pool. Now we have the temperature regulated automatically.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The location of this hotel is spectacular, and it could be an absolutely amazing hotel. Alas, it is not – by far. We paid $360 a night for a suite – suite 51 . On opening the door, we were almost knocked out by the STINK of damp. We returned directly to the administration, who said the only way they could “help” us (the conversation was entirely in Spanish) was by lighting a fire, placing a heater and a dehumidifier in the room. For a hotel rated by Lonely Planet as “one of the most luxurious hotels in Ecuador”, we were not impressed by this answer. We asked for another room, but the only one they had available was room 48 which, the manager on duty admitted “had the same problem”. We explained that we had travelled from Italy to stay there, that the price of the room did not match the quality, and that staying in that room was totally unacceptable – our clothes would smell, the air was unhealthy and the noise of a dehumidifier through the night was an intolerable prospect. We got nowhere with the administration, who had a ‘couldn’t care less’ attitude. The next option they offered us was to refund our prepaid room charge – a particularly flippant remark, as they knew that ALL hotels in Baños were full for the holiday weekend. We said we would sit in the reception and inform all incoming guests until a better solution was offered. Eventually, the manager came back with his final offer – a free spa treatment for each of us, worth $30.

It was clear the hotel know that the rooms have this problem of damp and an overpowering stink, but they have done nothing to remedy it. The problem is probably caused by the fact that the gardens go right up against the back walls of the rooms – a relatively simple problem to solve.

In addition to the above, the hotel has a slightly run-down, tired feel to it. Broken shampoo dispensers in the bathrooms and missing tap heads. Showers with a missing rose-head which only produce a single heavy jet. Reasonable but mass catering type food in the restaurant. Unhelpful meal times – dinner ends at 8.30. Non-existent wifi except in the lobby, restaurant and café – even though they boast a property wide service.

All in all, this is an overpriced hotel, with lacklustre service. For the price, best avoided – unless you are desperate for the view.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We will take your comments into consideration.

You are right, your reservation was on a standard room, which are the old ones, far different from the new ones. You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites with eco heated floors, fireplaces and terraces. The smell has been eliminated from these rooms.

We look forward to attend you in the future, Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

In september 2008 me and my boyfriend stayed a couple of nights in Luna Runtun. When we were all alone in the swimming pool enjoying the beautifull view, we later found out that our money was stolen from the lockers at the swimming pool!
There was only a pool boy from the hotel and afterwards we found out that with one key we could open all the lockers. When we wanted to leave the pool my boyfriend opened his locker to get his flipflops, but they weren't there anymore. We openend all the lockers with the one key we had and they were all empty. We said to the management that we lost his flipflops from our locker and then all of a sudden the pool boy came to us with his flip flops and said that they were just in our locker, what wasn't true, because they weren't there 5 minutes before.. So that was pretty strange. We decided to go and have a look in the town down the mountain and when we wanted to pay for the taxi I found out that there was money missing from my wallet! Which i also kept in my locker at the ladies side that morning at the pool. When we came back we went to the management again to say that we also lost money. It had to be at the pool, because before and after the pool i used my wallet. Before i had the money and afterwards not anymore. The management started turning things around about us accussing their staff and that we should not keep our money in our wallet but in the safe in our room. There we kept our other money and pasports etc, but you should think that a locker at the pool would keep our belongings safe. Before they were really nice but after these really weird incidents they treated us like spoiled European rich kids who made up false accusations. We were glad to leave as soon as possible! So be carefull of your valuable belongings and the fake hospitality at Luna Runtun!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun.

I apologize for the inconvenients. We will take your comments into consideration.

Safe deposit boxes are installed in all rooms and suites and we also provide a general safe in the front desk for visitors. You are right, we always recommend not to take personal valuable belongings to the pools, which are a common area for all guests, mainly because guests lost them when they are changing clothes or taking a shower.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico and Runtun Restaurant have become major attractions in the region and are a "must visit" for every tourist visiting Baños.

We look forward to attend you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I went with my boyfriend, his sister, and her boyfriend. We got two suites, the Manzana Roja and Manzana Verde. The suites were spectacular, very clean, large, king size bed, great jacuzzi, and 2 large facing windows looking over the hill down to the valley to the outskirts of the city of Banos. It was raining the whole weekend, so instead of partaking in Banos outdoor adventures we took advantage of the hotel's pools (great views from these natural springs pools!), of the restaurant for a buffet dinner (delicious, although nothing exotic), Cafe del Cielo (situated high on a hilltop, windows overlooking the clouded valley down below - really feels like you're in the sky!), and the hotel's spa for exfoliation treatments.

The service was great and the location is fantastic. However, because of the rain and clouds, the view out our hotel window was more or less just fog the whole stay. Had it been clear, I'm sure it would have been spectacular!

The location is exclusive, quite, and tranquil, but quite a drive up a windy hill from Banos. Not the place for young travelers to stay who want to take advantage of the nightlife and exploring the city! Perfect for couples who want to nestle in and enjoy the scenery, spas, and baths.

Room Tip: Staying in one of the suites - ask for a chimney (choice between chimney and tantra chaise) - have h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LunaRuntun, Guest Relations Manager at Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit and comments about Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA in Baños, Ecuador.

I am sorry you couldn´t enjoy the spectacular views, after all, clouds are also part of the magic of our location.

You are cordially invited to check our new designed web page, the hotel is under renovation and we have new beautiful rooms and suites.

We look forward to attend you in the future (tip: from October to December the sun delights Baños with the best weather, sunny all days, 25°c average). Café del Cielo, SPA Volcánico, Runtun Restaurant and our new shop in the lobby with ecuadorian products such as clothes, chocolates and organic marmalades; are open to the public all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna Runtun Adventure Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Runtun Adventure Spa

Address: Via a Runtun Km 6, Banos EC180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Runtun Adventure Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna Runtun, Adventure SPA is a Romantic Hotel for couples, family or friends. It is located in Banos, 170 km (3 hours drive) from Quito, the capital of Ecuador, 300 km (5 hours drive) from Guayaquil and 62 km (1 hour drive) from the Amazon rainforest. The setting is unique, surrounded by mountains, 70 waterfalls and thermal water. Spring weather, with an average temperature of 17 - 25°C all year round, and some rainy days. Luna Runtun's 310 acres of unspoilt Andean forest are located on the oriental flank of the active Tungurahua volcano (5.016M), 400m above the charming town of Banos, gateway to the Amazon rainforest, surrounded by Sangay and Llanganates National Parks. Enjoy 25 adventure activities: 11 hikes, rafting, canyoning, biking, horse backriding, travelling throughout the countryside, Amazon rainforest and birdwatching programs; 25 SPA treatments, 4 pools and jacuzzi with hot volcanic water, Runtun Restaurant with fusion food, Cafe del Cielo with 34 varieties of coffee, themed rooms and Romantic Suites decorated exquisitely. With your loved one, family or friends; Luna Runtun has become the ideal place to celebrate special events: weekend getaways, vacations, relaxing, birthday, wedding anniversary, marriage proposal, honeymoon, reconciliations and romantic getaways. Our Adventure and SPA packages are the perfect combination for your trip to the Galapagos Islands. The volcano has been constantly active since 1999 and showers the sky with her spectacular show of fire and lava, allowing our visitors to partake in one of the world's most impressive natural fireworks displays from the safety of Luna Runtun and the charming town of Banos located in the secure area in the oriental flank of the volcano. Banos and Luna Runtun have not been affected by any type of material in the 16 eruptions in the last 400 years. The Basilica of Our Lady of Holy Water, built in 1944, is made of volcanic stones, as well as Banos City Hall. Adventure, rest, fun and a volcano in eruption. Welcome to the most complete destination in Ecuador! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Luna Runtun Adventure Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Runtun Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Runtun Adventure Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.