We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super nice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Molino Blanco

Save Saved
You added La Casa del Molino Blanco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa del Molino Blanco
Misioneros Dominicanos y Mera | Subida a la Virgen/Barrio San Jose, Banos 180250, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty lodging in Banos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super nice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hostel is run by super nice, warm, caring people. It is new, very clean, has a cosy common spaces and sweet garden. The breakfast is different every day and always delicious.
I stayed in the dorms, and there was enough space in the room and the bed was very comfortable.
The hostel is not located in the center, but everything in Banos is in the walking distance. I loved my stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
26
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and was really happy with everything. Since it's only a year old the mattresses are still super comfy, the free towels are nice and fluffy and the kitchen is great and has everything you need to cook with. Breakfast was also a lot better than the majority of hostels I've stayed at and changed each day. The only drawback is that it's up a steep hill and a bit further away from the centre than others, but still only a 10min walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here 4 nights together with my gf in September 2013. Our privae room was amazingly comfortable and clean. have stayed in hotels with star ratings with less comfort! The owners are super friendly and try everywhere to help and advise. When I tolld her that we had to take the bus the next morning at 6 she even offered to make us lunch boxes! GREAT!
The breakfast every morning is good and includes bread, fruit, juice, cake, coffee/tea, cereals, yoghurt and most days eggs, pancakes etc. Outstanding for a hostel!
Are there any negatives? Yes! They don't offer private ensuites (but the bathrooms are kept in excellent condition) and it's locate a bit outside the town's center. (But a walk takes less than 5 mins and taxis are cheap)
Wish every hostel was like this! :)

Room Tip: Stay here when in Baños!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I was recomended this hostel by a friend and was not disopointed! I also met plenty of other people throughout my trip who had either been and thought it was great or been recomended to go by other people... It's also only 9 months old or so (hence why it's not on guides)

The rooms are great, really clean and cosy, the communal area is veery nice! You can get a bed in a dorm for 8 dollars ish and that includes a really good breakfast. Bathrooms are spotless, with warm showers.

And that's just the accomodation. The people there are so nice, Elba and Jimmy are really friendly and help loads with anything you need or want to do. I had a really good time at that hostel and would definitely go again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This exceptional hostel doesn't feature in the lonely planet guide to South America. I can only assume that's either because it's too new (lonely planet was published in 2009) or because the LP reviewers were blind and/or retarded. Personally I'm leaning towards the former as an explanation as, unlike pretty much every other hostel on the continent, the floorboards, beds and other furniture don't creak and squeak and groan when there's a slight breeze.

In this lovely family run (but not boring) place, the owner, Elba, makes you feel at home from the minute you step through the door. As do the rest of her family/staff - including her 11 year old daughter Sophie, who seems entirely capable of running the place on her own already! Everyone is extremely knowledgable and helpful when it comes to organising activities etc, and Elba's own company provides good quality adventure activities like white water rafting which pick you up and drop you off at your door. The breakfast is a cut above other hostels' standard toast, cereals and cold coffee - as well as the usuals there's cold meats and cheeses, tea, coffee, occasionally scrambled eggs (made with love - butter, salt, pepper) and a selection of sweet breads like banana or chocolate bread that changes daily. There's a nice garden, a friendly little dog called blacky who loves belly rubs (he is black, but I'm sure they weren't being racist when they named him) and a tv room with the obligatory 10-tonne stack of DVDs. Oh, did I mention that its only like $7/8 a night for a dorm bed? Excellent value for money, gem of a hostel, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm traveling since more than 20 years in Latin America and I know all the countries, but the best budget hostel was this one. In dorms paying 8$ and that includes a rich breakfast (In restaurant they would charge you 6$ for this breakfast). Perfect rooms, super clean, hot showers, nice terrace, fireplace ... well the list is very long. I enjoyed it so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

You will find all what you are looking for in this place. I loved to stay there. I loved all !!! Big , spacious, very clean , nice helping stuff like Elba , best prices ,hot shower , if you want you can use the stove and much more.... I will come back soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa del Molino Blanco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Molino Blanco

Address: Misioneros Dominicanos y Mera | Subida a la Virgen/Barrio San Jose, Banos 180250, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty lodging in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal "La Casa del Molino Blanco" is not only a meeting point for travelers and backpackers from all over the word; it is as well a green house. 90% of our light is powered by solar and wind energy.We are offering you luxury rooms and awesome dorms for a backpackers price. Check it out .. you will love it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your La Casa del Molino Blanco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa del Molino Blanco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.