We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Stone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magic Stone
Save
You added Magic Stone to your Saves list
Calle Ambato | El Campamento de los Pinos, Banos 0059, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Banos B&B and Inns
Weinheim, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It was like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at the Magic Stone and we felt like being at home. Aase and Ove did everything for us, we talked a lot about travelling and they gave us tips what to do during our stay. The breakfast was the best we had after 7 month of travelling!!! I wish to meet such nice people more often!!! Thank you, Ari and Benny

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
84
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The rooms are much better than what they seem, which is great!!! The room we had had two beds and it was very very comfortable. For 50 dollars approximately you'll have your room in one of the best places in banos. You'll have a quiet, pleasant stay that will make you feel at home. You'll can walk few blocks to the city if you want to go to the city.

The owners, Aase and Ove were great. They are a lovely couple who made our experience amazing. Breakfast was the best part of the experience. For around 7 dollars you can have the best breakfast ever. We even bough extra bread rolls to bring home. I would love to have the recipe to make bread as good as theirs. Definitely, breakfast is a must.

For the price, its one of the most comfortable places in banos, the owners are the best and their breakfast is amazing. Come here for the best rest experience in the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

It is such a delight to encounter a gem of a Danish place in the heart of Banos.. the hosts have created a wonderful, comfortable, functional, and high standard accommodation. I love the small Danish details from the bed to the fixtures in the bathroom. The location is actually an advantage since it is quiet and away from the craziness of the town... Do take advantage of a wonderful break from it all..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

In my opinion,others reviewing this lovely spot have said it so well that all I can do is say that I totally agree. All I can add is my favorite three really outstanding things about this place:
1. the graciousness of Aase and Ove as host and hostess, their helpfulness, knowledge of the area and sincere warmth of personality. .
2. Location at one end of "Church" street making it an ideal and very safe walk to town and impossible to get lost.
3. For a very small charge a most delicious breakfast highlighted by the best baked breakfast breads and pastries you will find anywhere.

Room Tip: We were two couples traveling together so we stayed in both the red and blue rooms. Both equally nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

As with all the other reviews, Ove and Aase are the consummate hosts. Their location is perfect. On the edge of the town but still within five minutes walking distance of the city centre. I could have easily stayed a couple weeks enjoying their wonderful Danish breakfasts. Both Ove and Aase have lived in the area for years and have an extensive knowledge of the surrounding areas. My room was clean, roomy, and had everything I needed for my four day stay. For all they offer, Magic Stone is a bargain.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

we can only add another five stars for Ove and Aase. As everybody else we felt blessed to be able to stay with those friendly people. We spent four nights there in november 2013: three nights in the red, one in the blue room, both are beautiful, clean and quiet as the place is a little off the center up the hill. Still no problem to walk everywhere! We especially enjoyed the fantastic breakfast - yes, it costs extra, but it is absolutely worth its price - and the contact with Aase and Ove who are always very helpful and sincere.

We hope you will stay there for a while providing this magic place for more happy travellers who appreciate it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just a short walk from town, the magic stone B&B provides a restful and relaxing stay in Banos. The lovely hosts Ove and Aase are welcoming and make you feel at home. I appreciated the recommendations they provided for exploring the town - when we indicated we were going to cycle la Ruta de las Cascadas, they were able to recommend an affordable bike rental company in town with new bikes. After our morning cycling we returned to relax for a bit and Aase kindly set up hammocks in the backyard. Also, their homemade breakfast items (available at a reasonable additional expense) were fresh and delicious. I certainly recommend staying at the Magic Stone B&B!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Stone

Address: Calle Ambato | El Campamento de los Pinos, Banos 0059, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is located in the far end of the main street, towards the waterfall. Ask for: "Campamento Los Pinos" Magic Stone is a great place to relax, with hammocks in the garden and amazing views. If you need information about tours in the area etc, we are here to help and you can order our famous breakfast with homemade bread and jam, fresh pressed orange-juice,crepes, fresh ground coffee/tea,scrambled egg ect. everything in best quality.Magic stone make day-trips only for our guests to a special place in the highland jungle where nobody else are coming, and to a very low price.We look forward to see you here in Magic Stone. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.