We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Stone

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magic Stone
Save
You added Magic Stone to your Saves list
Calle Ambato | El Campamento de los Pinos, Banos 0059, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Banos B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

All the positive comments are so true - this is the best place we stayed at in Ecuador!

The thing what makes this place truly "magic" is the hospitality of its owners Aase and Owe. You can really see the love they but into every little detail of their small hotel. And most importantly, the atmosphere on their premises and within their own house (where they serve the breakfast) is much closer to a stay with family or friends than like in a hotel. We especially appreciated this warm hospitality when my wife was sick for 1-2 days and they were amazingly caring.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
84
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Magic Stone for four nights, my niece and nephew in one unit and my husband and I in the other. It made our trip to Banos. We were enjoying a quite evening outside after a busy day of hiking when they bought us some popcorn and a large candle for our outdoor table, a memorable evening. The breakfast was wonderful, and the dark bread was something to dream about!
They arranged vans, cabs and even came with us on a tour to the waterfalls to share some extra sights. We felt very safe there and like someone was watching out for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April 2012. This is a really nice, warm and friendly place. Åse and Ove (the owners) were great! super friendly and very helpful. They also had a wonderful breakfast that include danish bread (which is awesome) and not to mention that they had a european toilet. All in all: most likely the best place to stay in Banos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Magic Stone is beautiful. It's walking distance from the main drag, but far enough away to be quiet. The rooms are gorgeous, but there are only two so you really need to book in advance! The breakfast was delicious. I stayed there the night before my birthday, so on the birthday morning they played Stevie Wonder's "Happy Birthday" for me. Very memorable! The owners are also full of helpful advice on further travel within Ecuador. They're world travelers themselves. This was the most peaceful night's sleep we had in all our travels in Ecuador!

Room Tip: The loft in the red room is so lovely for reading
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were lucky enough to spend five days at Magic Stone and it was easily the best place we stayed in Equador. Aase and Ove were super friendly and very helpful. Our room was beautiful, clean, private and so comfortable. There was all the hot water I needed.

The location was perfect. Quiet, because it is on the edge of town, yet just a short walk to everything.

The breakfasts were amazing. Fresh baked breads, delicious crepes and excellent coffee. All for about $5.

Banos is a great town and well worth the visit - even better if you get to stay at the Magic Stone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We cannot agree with the review from "joellejeancharles". I guess they misunderstood something and do not get the difference between a B&B and a hostel. As the name says you get a room and breakfast! And the rooms are really really nice and lovely decorated. The location is perfect, it's 5 minutes to walk from the center of Baños and therefore really quite at day and night. Ove and Aase (the owners) are very friendly and helpfull, The breakfast is really good. Everything is homemade. (And the price is totally fine!) Thank you very much for the nice stay. We really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

following the reviews on trip advisor (number one), we went to this place just 2 days before Christmas. it was for 3 days but we spend just one night. you have to know, the rooms are separate from the main house without commun space.The room (red one) is beautiful but no space for sitting. the bed is right between 2 walls, not lot of space. the bed was good but the shower was not regular ..very hot during one minute, very cold during 2 minutes. ..you have to wait the hot water come again. It was rainy all the afternoon, and nobody ask us to go in other place to take a best time, even when the owner brings us some homemade delicious cookies. it is not enough to be nice! also, take care about the breakfast...you have to pay each item and each one are very expensive. we paid 40 dollars for two, without breakfast..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magicstone, Owner at Magic Stone, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear joellejeancharles !

We are sorry to read your review in Trip-advisor and we would like to give others a possibility to hear our explonation about what happend while you were here.

First of all you were right about the water-problem you had when you arrived. We found out that is was a broken public water-main in the street and we told you that in a very short time it would be fixed as there were already workers from the townhall there.

You also write that we don't have a commun space here!
We only serve breakfast in our private house, and that's not a commun space where people can come and go.

You write that there is no space for sitting in the red room !
In the room there are 3 chairs and a desk and there is a doublebed and also a singlebed and the room has a flat-screen with 45 tv.channels and also wi-fi.( The room has 22 square meter ).

You write that it's not enough to be nice and serve homemade delicius cookies!
What's wrong about being nice to serve FREE cookies for our guests?

You write "take care about the breakfast, you have to pay each item and each one are very expencive" !
We have choosed to let our guest decide if they want to order breakfast here, that's why we don't include it in the room-price.
You can have a nice breakfast with homemade bread and fresh ground organic coffee and eggs or crepes or fruitsalat for only 5$ and no guest have ever complained over the prices because all the ingredients is first class. ( But you never ordered breakfast here so how it possible to claim about that ) ?

You write that you paid 40$ for one night for 2 persons !
You knew already the price before you made a reservation here, and that's our normal price when you only stay few nights . Everywhere hotels higher the prices for Christmas time, carneval, easter ect.ect.

Ove & Aase Magic Stone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magic Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Stone

Address: Calle Ambato | El Campamento de los Pinos, Banos 0059, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place is located in the far end of the main street, towards the waterfall. Ask for: "Campamento Los Pinos" Magic Stone is a great place to relax, with hammocks in the garden and amazing views. If you need information about tours in the area etc, we are here to help and you can order our famous breakfast with homemade bread and jam, fresh pressed orange-juice,crepes, fresh ground coffee/tea,scrambled egg ect. everything in best quality.Magic stone make day-trips only for our guests to a special place in the highland jungle where nobody else are coming, and to a very low price.We look forward to see you here in Magic Stone. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Stone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.