We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice facilities, bad personal at night time.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Santa Cruz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospedaje Santa Cruz
Save
You added Hospedaje Santa Cruz to your Saves list
Calle 16 de deciembre, Banos, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Israel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice room, nice facilities, bad personal at night time.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hostel appear on the lonely planet.
The rooms are good, and nice kitchen.

However, the personal that works at night time is horrible. We asked him to access the safety box and he said he has no key. Only After we insisted he got the key out.
The guy sleeps in his car instead of working and instill a bad atmosphere.
At 10:30 he closes the lights everywhere although people are still using the public areas, just that he could get back to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husand and I spent 2 nights at this hostal and that seemed like too long. In our opinion it was the worst place we have stayed in the months we have spent traveling around S. America.

Why? The place is rather small, with rooms all centred around a common courtyard area. Our room was located in front of the reception so we heard every phone ring and every time guests got buzzed in...and we especially heard all the drunken guests who stumbled in late at night.

As for our room: it didn´t benefit from any natural light and was dark. The shower only had hot water which meant it was scalding. We were without any running water for 14 hours one day. The room had a very unpleasant odour. And our bathroom shared a window with another room´s bathroom, which meant it wasn´t very private.

On the plus side: there was free Internet and a covered area that had 3 tables huddled around a small firepit. There was a common kitchen (but it was very, very small).

Not sure why this place keeps getting mentioned in travel books, because there are much better options in Baños.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banyos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

If you like being told when to go to bed? the guy comes round and turns out all the lights in the communal area forcing you to go to bed at 11ish even though the fire is roaring, and ice-cold water showers are definately on the menu, although after 3 days we complained and finally had a hot one. Also he charges $2 each person ($4 per couple) to watch a dvd/video which is as old as the hills (you could buy a new one for $1.25 !

There are a lot of hostels in the area and competition is high, I would definately consider others.

  • Liked — open fire
  • Disliked — ice cold showers, having the communal area lights turned out at 11pm and $4 to watch an old movie
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

This hostal is listed second in the Lonely Planet guide as the sister to their first listing: Hostal Plantas y Blanco. That hostal was booked, so they brought us to this sister location around the corner. It is very much a young traveller's hangout - with a noisy open bar area and tv, which is great if that's what you're looking for. In our room we literally shared a wall and window with the roosters who lived in the lot next door, and the crowing began around 4:30 a.m. The floor of our room was dirty, and the hot water was intermittent. For the same price - literally - we went one block away to the Hostal El Pedron, and it was wonderful.
Unless you want this noisy, youth scene, don't stay at either Hostal Plantas y Blanco or at Hospedaje Santa Cruz.

  • Liked — It's inexpensive, but so are others with much more to offer
  • Disliked — Noisy!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hospedaje Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Santa Cruz

Address: Calle 16 de deciembre, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Banos
Number of rooms: 18

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Santa Cruz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.