We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Chimenea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Chimenea to your Saves list
Hostal Chimenea
Luis A. Martinez y Rafael Vieira, Banos, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Banos
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hostal Chimenea is more a hotel than a hostel.
We thought we booked a double room, but make a mistake and got a twin room, the owner was so helpful, after one night in the twin we got another room with a double bed. The rooms have a balcony with a view of Banos.
Room is cleaned every day by really sweet girls, so friendly.
For breakfast are different options, very cheap and a lot of things. Fresh fruit, juice, eggs, pancakes, good choices.
Thanks we liked our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    86
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
24
80
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We were originally going to stay 3 nights but extended to 6 because of the comfortable hostel and the many adventure activities available in Banos for cheap. The hostel is lovely with a nice garden and beautiful terrace overlooking the city. They offer great breakfasts for sale, and have a spa available for massages and facials and a steam room. The sports massage was great and just what I needed after a day of canyoning. Rooms are clean, shower is great, staff are friendly and helpful. Great value for money, and the perfect spot to enjoy the beautiful mountain surroundings and activities on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our time here. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly and it only took a couple of minutes to walk anywhere in town from it.
The communal area upstairs was good with cheap beer and a nice atmosphere. We made a lot of friends here and got a lot of tips on where to go next as well.
Even though you have to pay for the breakfast, not only was it pretty cheap but it was soo tasty with huge portions. Brilliant!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Good - very clean, friendly staff, always someone at reception which is great security, amazing price, close to hot springs, only a couple blocks to main square, includes towels, nice pool (though cold), lovely breakfast area

Bad - might have to ask for soap

Notes:
One of the nicest hostels I have stayed at!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I found the Hostal Chimenea to be clean and quiet. It is well located within 2 blocks of the center of the commercial and artisan district as well as less than a block from the famous thermal baths of Baños. Internet service is available for those who want to stay connected to home. The staff is courteous and several of them are passable with English. The Hostal offers laundry services and a breakfast for a small additional charge as well as a steam bath, a pool and a on site massouse. Room rates are extremely reasonable, especially compared to US and Canadian prices. As of this writing, a single room with bathroom facilities is $10 per night US. (Hot water is plentiful in the showers) American money is widely used here so prices are easily comparable with home.
I recommend this establishment for visitors to Baños.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floor are recommended because they offer more light, a view, and are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hostel had a roof terrace breakfast restaurant with amazing views. Breakfast is extra. The bedrooms were clean, roomy and had hot water. We even had a small balcony. It was great value for money. The jacuzzi was not working while we were there but the small swimming pool was. There is no real garden as shown in the photos as it is more of a car park. The photos on the web site are OK but the photos they send you with your booking are not of this hostel (or at least many are not). I have no complaints and would stay there again. The hostel is situated at the edge of town so it is not a noisy hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We spent our 1st night in another hostal and had an awful night. I had picked up the flyer for this hostal while in Quito and decided to check them out. We got a room with 2 beds en suite for 8.50 USD per person. Worked for me! The room turned out to be quite lovely with a little balcony and a view of some of the mountains. It is practically across the street from the large public swimming pool (2 USD for adults, 1 for kids) and close to the thermal springs and waterfall. It is a close walk to the center of town and numerous restaurants. Hosts were very friendly. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace is quite good for the price. After 12 the kitchen becomes the community kitchen so you're able to prepare your own meals the rest of the day, although with local restaurants serving 2- to 3-course meals for $2 you may not want to.

Plenty of HOT water with good pressure. Beds were very comfortable, and we had plenty of blankets to deal with the chilly evenings.

Cons: WiFI was intermittent. Some times you'd have good speed and then it would die. It can get a little loud. There is a lot of activity that happens across the street very early in the morning, and if you're near the stairs you'll hear people talking as they go up or down, esp if you're on the 3rd floor near the kitchen area. Our bathroom sink leaked, so the bathroom floor was always wet and slippery. The curtains that cover the windows are super thin, so the room doesn't get very dark (which won't bother everyone). Because they serve breakfast (not included) there is no community kitchen to make your own meals until after 12 PM. A minor bother, though.

Note: They do have a swimming pool which is free to use but it is COLD. Just be ready for that. We ended up paying to use the public pool across the street because it wasn't as cold. Also, like many places they do not accept credit cards so you will need to pay in cash to checkout.

All in all we were VERY happy with our stay there and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms by the 3rd floor staircase. You get a lot of extra noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Chimenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chimenea

Address: Luis A. Martinez y Rafael Vieira, Banos, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banos
#3 Spa Hotel in Banos
#4 Family Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Chimenea is a comfortable, safe and modern hostel: we offer dorms and private rooms with ensuite bathrooms, balconies, hot water and excellent views of the surroundings. Our prices are 6.50; 7.50 and 8.50 per person include internet and tax. Our hostel offers a panoramic terrace, private parking, restaurant/cafe, guest kitchen, laundry, book exchange, DVD-videos, board games, luggage storage, free internet and Wi-Fi, steam health bath, swimming pool and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Chimenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Chimenea Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Chimenea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.