We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for quiet rest.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samari Spa Resort to your Saves list
Samari Spa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. de las Amazonas | kM 1 via al Puyo, Banos 2000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Banos
Kharkiv, Ukraine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for quiet rest.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I was in this hotel with the wife two years ago - an excellent place, this building of the former monastery is converted now under hotel a little.
Wonderful romantic place, I recommend. Here very affable and kind personnel, many of which say on ангийском that gives the chance free dialogue with them if necessary.
Round hotel находяться mountains that does a landscape around very remembered and attracting.
We cannot forget till now this place and intend to visit him again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    47
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
135
91
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed at this Hotel during the last weekend , it was an excellent choice I have been there for food, but staying at the Hotel was excellent. I was going to put a very good, because the first day
service at the restaurant was slow, but they came to apologized to us, After that everything was fabulous. We even saw the eruption of "Volcan Tungurahua", and the mushroom of ashes was fantastic, we were in the swinmingpool, and to see the 12 kilometer around 9 miles mushroom of ashes was terrific.
The spa and the massages were very good. The food excellent but above all I was on the town of Baños, and I rented an small car with my wife and grand children, and forgot at the renting agency, my drivers license, and my ID , when I returned to Quito I had to called the Hotel for some help, and the person of reception Mrs. Mayra Montoya, went out of his duty to help me, and went to the renting company, obtained the documents for me, and sent me by express mail.
This is what I call service. Besides that the place is fabulous you can walk in the gardens, see the mountains , and the place is very quite. Ask for a room not near the highway. Top Service.
this is the best a Hotel can give you

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not near the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We loved this hotel which is a converted monastery however we were one of only two rooms occupied and it was like a ghost town. There was only a skeleton staff and the spa closed early at 6pm even though they told us it was due to close at 7pm. Despite this however we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Not for those who don't like steps though as there are loads of steps up and down to get to the rooms. Also safety is a bit of an issue with a dangerous candle holder which has sharp edges and which you knock every time you stand up from the toilet seat. Also bathroom was not as clean as we would expect from an upmarket boutique hotel of this nature. Lower cleanliness than its competitors in Ecuador.

Room Tip: Watch out for the steps and be careful in the bathroom when you move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I recently stayed here and found everything to my liking. The staff were curtious, they had enough english speaking staff to accomodate me and they left me feeling cared for but yet they gave me my privacy. The grounds are stunning (kind of like Central Park in the middle of New York City) and the food was top shelf.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you're looking to relax for a bit in Banos as you trek into the Ecuadorian rainforest or into the Andean mountains, Samari Spa Resort is the place to go. We stayed there for just one night and can't wait to go back for more. Everything from the silverware to the lighting was arranged in a way that spelled out comfort and tranquility. The afternoon views of the green mountainside and the adjacent fog were breathtaking. There was soft, instrumental music playing all around the grounds, and it only amplified the sense of serenity as you waited for your meals at Samari's neat restaurant. The food was of high quality and delicious. The locro and ceviches are highly recommended. The staff was very helpful and kind. We were also able to squeeze in massage sessions at the spa for everybody in my group. The rooms: spacious yet very cozy, with everything from a complimentary basket of native fruits and sweets to cable TV.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at Samari in December 2013 and were very happy. The setting is beautiful and quiet, the rooms are like little houses set in a lush garden with views on the surrounding mountains. The staff was warm, professional and diligent. The food was good, with a very varied offer. Although this is not what I prefer, portions are huge. You get complimentary ‘canelazo’ when you arrive at the restaurant at night, and amenities in the room such as fresh fruit and toffees (on top of the rose petals on the beds!). There is soft music and nice essential oil smells leading you to the spa, in an old convent-like renovated building, where you can also enjoy an interior pool beneath a spectacular glass roof. We were happy with the way we felt they welcomed our two small kids, aged 2 and 5 (which was not the case for another well-known rival establishment in Baños). Samari is not the cheapest place, but you definitely don’t feel robbed and it offers a small haven of peace if you wish to disconnect from everyday life. We live in Quito and would definitely recommend the place/go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medellin
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you have thought of a break in a place surrounded by mountains and with all the comforts of a good SPA and the budget is not limited, it is the right place. It has a beautiful pool of warm water, massage, hydro therapy etc.. Just do not expect the same sensory experience is reflected in the supply of food, which although adequate, not actually represents the name of the dishes offered, the Caesar salad is anything but steadily, the pasta sauces not correspond to its name, is really good dish that is offered on a volcanic rock to be cooked to your desire.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Address: Av. de las Amazonas | kM 1 via al Puyo, Banos 2000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Banos
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home".Samari Spa Resort is the result of 8 years of hard work and a vision which took into consideration thousands of details with the final objective of offering guests a destination with a unique style of providing relaxation and well-being.Our vision is to be a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels, offering high-quality product and services with a high level of attention.We are the first 5 star hotel in central Ecuador and together with our 40 partners we share these 5 values:• Professionalism . Responsibility• Honesty and Transparency . Creativity• TrustHolding true to these five values, we all strive to reach a common goal:To be the best hotel-spa in the countryWelcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Baños de Agua Santa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samari Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.