We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural paradise in the middle of beautiful Baños!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samari Spa Resort to your Saves list
Samari Spa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. de las Amazonas | kM 1 via al Puyo, Banos 2000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Banos
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Natural paradise in the middle of beautiful Baños!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Samari is by far the best spa resort in Baños. Hospitality was excellent and bedrooms were ridicuously clean! I highly recommend this amazing place to anyone visiting Baños! and food was delicious, offering a wide range variety in Ecuadorian cuisine which puts the cherry on top on one's trip! It's a paradise I tell you! As if this was not enough, installations and infrastructure are breathtaking!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    47
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
135
91
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Samari Resort has been the best choice I did during my last holidays. The place is absolutely amazing. Actually it is much better than it looks in pictures. From the entrance to the last corner the place is full of beautiful details. The service was excellent all the time, I had to have earlier breakfast one day and they helped me without any objection and every night I found the table lamps on at the room and a hot water bag under the blankets to warm the bed plus a delicious nut covered with chocolate on my pillow.

I had a beautiful room with fireplace, Jacuzzi and a little rest room with view to the river. The way from the room to the front desk was full of beautiful places to stop and make pictures including a piano and peacocks. The pool and the spa area is beautiful at day and night. Definitely it is a place to enjoy full time with your couple or your family, it is unforgettable. I will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banos, Ecuador
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Samari Spa Resort is an amazing place, where you can enjoy a lot of pleasures as relaxing, have adventure, taste wonderful food, an excellent staff, comfortable rooms, everything, it is a place that you love at the first time and you would love to come back or never leave, I just love the spa, especially the treatment “Purificacion en la Montaña” I am relax, I enjoy it. Thanks for everything. Congrats. Continue being wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riobamba, Ecuador
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

samari undoubtedly have quality attention, their green areas and rooms convey the peace I search to clear the mind relaxation and pamper my body needed in their spa,excellent attention and delicious food, worthy to be a 5 star hotel


whit the full conviction of back

Room Tip: the suites are so beatifull but any room of this hotel will be comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The SPA resort is WONDERFUL and very relaxing. The food is great and they offer typical Ecuadorian food.

There is a beautiful swimming pool where you can enjoy time as a family and couple. Green are also available for playing (nice football field) or taking walks.

If you go as a couple it is very romantic and you can enjoy each other in many different ways (SPA, walks, around a nice meal, at the bar, swimming pool, parting in Baños and so on).

The rooms are nice, big and clean. The toilets have a very relaxing ambiance, and the beds are just wonderful, so soft!

If you arrive by a car, there is no problem because you can always find a parking place in the hotel.

It is easy to get into central Baños and the hotel staff can help you organize fun trips into the Ecuadorian Jungle, rafting in the Baños river, walks, and so on.

I liked Samari so much that I have been there more than once (as a couple, with family and with friends) and each time has been a different and great experience. The staff is also very good and helpful.

I really recommend Samari for any kind of trip (family, couple, solo, or friends) and we won´t be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAULINAGALLEGOS, Propietario at Samari Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review. We are pleased to know that you have had an excellent stay at Samari Spa Resort

We look forward to welcoming you again in your house in Banos, Samari Spa Resort, for an even more enjoyable stay. I remain at your entire disposal for any assistance you might require.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were a little reluctant to book given some poor reviews but the women we liaised with by email managed to convince us they were unfounded and reassured us on a few key points. One key concern we had was to ensure we were able to arrange through the hotel our onward journey to Guayaquil to catch our flight to Galapagos. She assured us they could help us when we arrived and we relied on that promise. On arrival we were very impressed with the property - it is gorgeous and beautifully maintained but that's where it stops. We arrived hungry after a long journey and were ushered into the cafe. We ordered and waited and waited. First the drinks took forever then my meal arrived. Luckily I shared it with my partner as his never arrived. There was continual confusion over meals our entire stay and even when we pointed our selection out to the waitress from the menu they got it wrong every time. The room itself was gorgeous and bathroom lovely too though there was not adequate lighting in any room - bathroom was the worst. Nice touches with chocolates on the pillow etc as you would expect for a high end resort. Back to the transfer -on check in we were told the woman I would need to speak to that I had been emailing would be in later. The next morning we asked again - still not there but would be soon. This meant we waited around as the transfer was critical for our onward flight. We continued to ask for assistance and were now being abruptly told no - no one could help us. We were finally told the manager had arrived but could not be found which was outrageous as she was avoiding us! Finally the only helpful person the entire trip was a guy on the late night reception who when we explained our situation (again) called and arranged a taxi directly to Guayaquil for the next morning. We do not understand why no one could help us and it was not because the request was "lost in translation" . We had no phone so needed their help. The next morning the woman I had dealt with originally finally spoke to us by phone and apologised and offered us free massages or another night free! We were leaving in less than an hour so this was totally useless compensation for ruined, stressful and wasted and expensive two nights in Banos. We have never had such a terrible experience with a hotel and the management really needs to be questioned. The resort itself is stunning - staff and service worst we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I booked in for a 2 hour Samari Experience yesterday - a 1 hour massage and a 1 hour facial. I arrived at 2pm as arranged. The massage did not start until 2.20Opm and ended at 2.55. I looked at the clock in the room as I thought it felt quick! The facial lasted an hour. Both were ok but nothing special, and I felt there was a lack of attention to detail. My therapist did not tell me her name and didn't ask mine. She yawned quite a lot during the massage! She left the room a lot during the facial. When I told the man at the desk that the massage was only 35-40 minutes he was pleasant enough and rang the therapist who told him it started at 2pm! Rubbish! Not good for a place that is marketing itself as top end to deliver less than impressive service and have staff who lie about it when challenged. Underwhelming.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Address: Av. de las Amazonas | kM 1 via al Puyo, Banos 2000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#1 Spa Hotel in Banos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home".Samari Spa Resort is the result of 8 years of hard work and a vision which took into consideration thousands of details with the final objective of offering guests a destination with a unique style of providing relaxation and well-being.Our vision is to be a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels, offering high-quality product and services with a high level of attention.We are the first 5 star hotel in central Ecuador and together with our 40 partners we share these 5 values:• Professionalism . Responsibility• Honesty and Transparency . Creativity• TrustHolding true to these five values, we all strive to reach a common goal:To be the best hotel-spa in the countryWelcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Baños de Agua Santa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samari Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.