We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place for all seasons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samari Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Samari Spa Resort to your Saves list
Samari Spa Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av. de las Amazonas | kM 1 via al Puyo, Banos 2000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Banos
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A place for all seasons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A place for all seasons
I returned to Samari hotel with all my family after nearly 2 years but this time to celebrate a wake after the death of our father.
Just as the first time when I celebrated the happy occasion of my birthday Mrs Tanya -the hotel owner - was just as welcoming this time as she was then.
My family and I were able to find peace and quiet amongst the beautiful gardens and we gathered in one of the gazeboes where with good humour ( as he would have liked it ) we talked and celebrated the life of our father whilst the younger members of the family had a ball in the spa and swimming pool.
The rooms are as usual very big and comfortable they had flowers sprinkled on the beds and we had a basket of fruit in each room.
All meals were arranged and supplied by the hotel and they were very tasty and plentiful with an Ecuadorian flavour to it. At night after dinner the owner Mrs Tanya made available "La Taverna" ( bar and games room) to us where the whole family relaxed and enjoyed a drink or two and sang along to the video clips being played on the TV.
On the last day as we were finishing our lunch Mrs Tanya came to say hello and the whole family burst into an spontaneous round of applause for Mrs Tanya as a gesture of thanks for a job well done.
After our stay at the Samari hotel we all felt re- invigorated and at peace after a very stressfull 2 weeks following the death of our father and also I felt very relaxed before my long and arduous trip back home to Australia.
Ecuador does not have seasons only eternal spring especially in Banos, and the Samary Hotel is a welcoming place to celebrate happy occasions as well as to recover from sad occasions, so I will be right to say that the Samari hotel is indeed a place for all seasons.

Room Tip: The cabins have the most beautiful rooms and are set in the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    47
    16
    4
    9
See reviews for
134
90
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked into Samari for two days during our vacation as a splurge for our last two days in Ecuador. The desk staff seemed confused and not forthcoming with any information concerning the hotel. They did not provide any information about the spa, hotel grounds or area...even after another trip to the desk. We did have an issue with lack of WiFi in our room that was finally corrected with a router being placed in our room.
The grounds were beautiful although we heard road noise all night long. All in all a pretty place to stay, but definitely not worth the cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This wonderful hotel has something for everyone. It is rustic yet modern, loaded with antiques. The restaurant service could be a bit better, but the food was consistently good. The spa has a gorgeous and impeccably maintained large pool surrounded by massage rooms and excellent massage therapists at reasonable rates. Our room was a bit remote, but worth the walk to a duplex set of rooms in a beautiful garden setting. Room rates seem to be somewhat negotiable especially when the hotel is not crowded so be sure to ask.

Room Tip: The more distant rooms are secluded which is nice, but the walkways can be a bit challenging for old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Quaintly located between the Ande Mountains and the Amazon Basin, the Samari resort is without question a world-class resort. From its detail oriented service to it's beautiful and rustic architecture, staying here makes the problems of the world melt away.

My wife and I frequently travel to this resort and time only seems to refine all it's elements. The food is as delicious as it is presentable, the beds are plush enough to sleep for hours on end, and the spa is the dose of tranquility not found anywhere else in Ecuador.

As an architectural designer, it's wonderful to arrive at a place that feels unique – it not only looks, but feels peaceful and full of serenity – the harmonious integration of nature and rustic design is unlike anything I have ever seen before. And while it does not have the streamlined look of a modern resort, it surpasses the norm of one by raising the bar and offering all the same amenities and comforts, but with all with a Unique Samari style.

I not only recommend staying at Samari, I suggest taking the trip to get there. It's worth it. In fact, it's no accident that my wife and I got engaged here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was over the top beautiful and comfortable. The spa was a peaceful oasis with a beautiful swimming pool and hot tubs. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. The location is just a few minutes from downtown Banos by car. there is a river behind the hotel and the grounds are so green and beautiful. Recommended 100%. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Samari Spa Resort has some of the most beautiful grounds that I have seen in Ecuador, with lots of flowers, an immaculate lawn, lovely stained glass lamps, and small cottages scattered throughout the large property where many of the rooms are located. The rooms, including the bathrooms, are spacious and nicely decorated and furnished. The spa is beautiful with a swimming pool under glass and lots of different treatment rooms surrounding it. The spa services cost about 1/2 what they would cost in the U.S. for the same service, and the spa staff is excellent. The restaurant at the property is good, but a little pricey for Ecuador. Samari is not in "downtown" Banos, and there is no restaurant nearby within short walking distance, so you either must eat at their restaurant or take a taxi ($1 one-way) into town. The staff overall are terrific, friendly and helpful. We had a problem though when we stayed there. The first morning we were awoken at 0615 by the smoke detector "chirping." We reported it to the front desk when we went in to breakfast. I guess they worked on it during the day, not sure, because at midnight the thing started chirping again and we had to change rooms in the middle of the night. Much as I liked the resort, I cannot say that we had a good night's sleep either night we were there and the hotel offered no compensation other than an apology.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My parents and I loved Samari======>>>>> Made our trip perfect !!<======!...The staff are very friendly and efficient.-.......The rooms, restaurant were clean and the food was delicious. The shower is fabulous and even the towels and linens are first class excellent..... the art is bright and original and adds a nice punch to the room....SAmari spa a great place to come back to after a long day of exploring. <3 <3

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Samari Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samari Spa Resort

Address: Av. de las Amazonas | kM 1 via al Puyo, Banos 2000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Tungurahua Province > Banos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Banos
#1 Family Hotel in Banos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Banos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samari Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Quechua Samari means "relax and feel at home".Samari Spa Resort is the result of 8 years of hard work and a vision which took into consideration thousands of details with the final objective of offering guests a destination with a unique style of providing relaxation and well-being.Our vision is to be a new point of reference for Ecuador's luxury hotels, offering high-quality product and services with a high level of attention.We are the first 5 star hotel in central Ecuador and together with our 40 partners we share these 5 values:• Professionalism . Responsibility• Honesty and Transparency . Creativity• TrustHolding true to these five values, we all strive to reach a common goal:To be the best hotel-spa in the countryWelcome to Samari Spa Resort, the new way to enjoy the pleasures of life in Baños de Agua Santa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Samari Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samari Hotel Banos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samari Spa Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.