We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   De la Ermita 3462, Barrio Bahia Cauquen, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is far away from downtown Ushuaia, which is good in my POV. It is just by the Beagle Channel, so try to get a room facing the strait. It is just gorgeous!
Rooms are spacious and the service is very good. It is well worth the price.

Room Tip: Channel view is mandatory!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
tonirodrigues
Thank you for your comments.
And for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    109
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
81
289
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We spent one night at Los Cauqenes, about 25 minutes from downtown Ushuaia on the Beagle Channel with gorgeous view of the water and mountains. The alpine-style building is built into a hillside, and each room has its own wooden pitched ceiling. The whole facility is beautiful and clean; the restaurant, bar, and lounge all look out on the water. The staff was exceedingly helpful.

We had a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant. I had a salad with brie and roasted tomatoes for a starter. We both ordered black hake, which was not all that flavorful, though the salsa helped and rather grew on me. The side of tiny roasted broccoli and cauliflower heads was delicious.

The breakfast buffet, included in our rate, was adequate, with a fairly very large assortment of sweet pastries. Los Cauquenes has a spa, swimming pool, sauna, which we didn't use it. The hotel offers regular, free bus service to and from downtown.

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely setting. My only reservation is the distance from town.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Eclipsegroupie
Thank you for your comments and for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, it´s always great to hear back from our guests.
Thank you
The Team at Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We recently stayed for 3 days at this hotel with our 1 year old daughter. While the views of the Beagle Channel and mountains from the hotel are striking, we were most impressed by the level of personal service we encountered consistently during our stay.

While checking in, we were greeted with champagne and led quickly to our room. We had booked a suite to have a separate area for our daughter who goes to bed early, and were automatically upgraded to the Lupino Suite (as a member of SLH). The room was quite large with a very modern bathroom, separate spa tub room, and windows overlooking the Beagle Channel along with a large deck with outdoor seating facing this scenic backdrop. We spent a fair amount of time in the hotel itself during this stay. The pool is wonderful, perpetually warm, and is connected to a smaller heated pool outside which you can swim too. There was also a relaxation room adjacent to the spa, a hot tub, and a fully equipped gym (besides the spa itself). There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. The breakfast buffet has many options, and the restaurant/bar menu has several tasty choices. Public spaces all have great views (bar, library, lobby). There is also a large outdoor deck with seating. A free shuttle runs to downtown every 1-2 hours.

But back to the impressive service... I have never experienced such impeccable and personalized service in a hotel. Feeding our 1 year old daughter is difficult, particularly finding food that she can eat reliably. We frequently asked for combinations of food for her that were not individual items on a menu (e.g. mashed potatoes or roasted tomatoes), and the food appeared right away as requested, and they charged us reasonable prices. This experience with food extended to us as well. My wife is vegetarian and noted some limited choices during our Argentina trip but was able to order off-menu items as well. We also frequently had to eat dinner with the baby earlier than we would like (and before the restaurant had opened for dinner), but the bar staff allowed us to order off either the restaurant or bar menus. Service was always accompanied by a smile. One night, we were sitting in the bar by the fireplace, and my wife asked whether the fireplace was functional. Within minutes, someone had started a fire, and we enjoyed drinks in a cozy atmosphere. The concierge was really wonderful and routinely booked our excursions along with appropriately timed taxis. Each evening we would received written confirmation of these excursion plans.

During our stay, we took the Train to the End of the World, as well as a catamaran trip to see the famous lighthouse and seal island. Unfortunately, the penguins had left for the winter, so we were unable to take the Pira Tour trip.

All in all, we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Travel_Snack
Thank you so much for your review.
It was a pleasure for us to have you as guest in Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa.
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
Warm regards,
The Team at Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night, and certainly enjoyed the stunning location on the Beagle Channel. When we arrived, reception was very busy, and it took a while to check in - however, with the views from reception, this was not a major problem. The room was large and very bright and airy, with great views into the mountains behind - in fact all the public rooms were large, which tended to give them a somewhat cold feel. The restaurant menu appeared to be very exciting but, with the exception of the king crab soup, we found the food to be somewhat disappointing. The breakfast was, however, good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
David68_11
Thank you for your review and for choosing us while in Ushuaia.
We appreciate your comments and value your opinion, thank you.
Regards,
The Team at Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel in Ushuaia with an absolutely stunning view of the Beagle Channel and mountains. The staff is extremely helpful and will go to any extent to insure your stay is perfect. The hotel bar is a nice afternoon with wonderful views. Restaurant offers excellent food and has a nice buffet breakfast every morning. Highly recommended if you are interested in visiting the end of the world.

Room Tip: We booked a Junior Suite and the view and space provided is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Jimed323
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Regards,
The Team at Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Ushuaia. Right on the Beagle Channel, you can watch the ships go by, the birds and ducks play and the weather change right out your window. The public spaces are welcoming and varied - several different places to watch the water or read a book. The restaurant has windows all around. The level of service is high. It's about $10 to taxi to town but there is also a free shuttle so the need to taxi is limited. A lovely spa. Plan your spa visits at least a day in advance. You'll enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Channel views are worth it. Windows open to sea breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your recommendations NonFu and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We appreciate your comments.
Best,
The Team at Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, NJ
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is slightly outside of Ushuaia, but in my opinion that's a GOOD thing. Ushuaia is not a very attractive place--a really ugly mishmash of a town and this hotel, in contrast, is located on the Beagle Channel with a stunning view from the rooms and the restaurant. We liked the food very much and there's a bar, again with a lovely view of the channel, where one can sit late at night and have casual food.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have the view, but just make sure. That's the main reason to go to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loscauquenes, Manager at Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Carolyn B
Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We appreciate your comments.
Thank you for choosing us for your stay while in Ushuaia.
Best,
The Team at Los Cauquenes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa

Address: De la Ermita 3462, Barrio Bahia Cauquen, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ushuaia
#2 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Luxury Resort & Spa located on the beaches of the Beagle Channel. Located at one of the most exotic places in the world, at the shore of Beagle Channel and with a beautiful view of the snow-covered peaks of the imposing Andes Mountain Range, Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa has direct beach access, and spectacular views in all areas, highlighting its unique in-out pool.. Location, distances and climate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Cauquenes Hotel Ushuaia
Los Cauquenes Resort And Spa
Los Cauquenes Ushuaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Cauquenes Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.