We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Austral

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Austral to your Saves list
Hotel Austral
9 de Julio 250, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great value and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Small family run hotel in Ushuaia. We booked early and despite inflation still received the quoted room rate. Very conveniently located only one block from the main shopping street and restaurants. Friendly and helpful proprietor who speaks excellent English. Our room, number 6, was quiet, spacious but overly warm for our liking. Breakfast was adequate but no savoury options. Good value and highly recommended for a few days in Ushuaia.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    102
    21
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
130
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I had a wonderful four night stay at the Hotel Austral. The room was huge which I admit was a nice change of pace after several small rooms. The hotel was quiet, warm, and the shower worked great. The staff was amazing, making reservations and calling taxis and answering all questions just like a concierge at an expensive hotel. The breakfast was good, with fruit available which was a change of pace. The hotel had a small bar and sold snacks as well. The internet worked perfectly all week and the wireless worked in my room as well as in the lobby. For the price the hotel is an amazing value. And the location is perfect--a quick walk to almost every good restaurant, and easy to walk down to the pier for boat trips. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

After spending 2 nights in a very average B n B we decided to look for something alittle better and thankfully stumbled across Hotel Austral , so close to town , so neat and clean and offering everything you need with out breaking any holiday budgets ! We liked it so much we have booked in for our final 2 nights when we return from our antarctica cruise !

Room Tip: All good rooms , set away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

ok, that title is a corny line we saw on a place mat at a local restaurant, but it made us laugh. This was a friendly little hotel to spend 3 night at while exploring the Tierra del Fuego. We ended up in an apartment in the lower level of the building next door which worked out well as there were 3 of us. We had a separate bedroom with double bed, and a single bed in the living area/kitchen.

The room was clean and had plenty of space for the 3 of us to spread out. We didn't really use the kitchenette, but it could have been used to prepare a meal with a burner or two, fridge, and dishes were provided in the cupboards.

Breakfast in the main hotel lobby area was perfect each morning. Pastries, fruit salad, toast on demand, coffee, juice, just enough to get you going in the morning. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ushuaia.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

The staff at Hotel Austral are really lovely and helpful. It's a lovely comfortable hotel only 1,1/2 blocks from the main street and you will appreciate that when you see how steep the streets of Ushuaia town are. The bedrooms are dark, but we are only there to sleep, they are a good size with comfortable clean beds, the whole hotel is very clean. There is a lovely bright common area with a nice view of the town and harbour. The restaurant is very big and the breakfast, traditional Argentiniane were good, staff will try to meet requirements. They kept excess clothes when I went to Antarctica at no extra charge. The living area is also here with a TV and free internet (one computer, but not a problem, seemed to be available when i wanted to use it). This hotel is in a really location, it's clean, with comfortable bed and the staff friendly. They lock the door so one has to ring to get admittance, so it is very safe - a traveller needs nothing else. I would definately stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walcha, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Austral with friends for a total of 9 nights in February/ March, 2011 while travelling in Tierra del Fuego. Patricia, Roberto, Facundo, Carolina and the staff were wonderful hosts. Their reccommendations for tours, restaurants and sight-seeing were spot on and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. They made our stay so much more enjoyable by providing a home-away-from-home in Ushuaia. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, the large lounge was a great place for us all to relax and the views of the mountains were amazing.
We would unreservedly reccommend staying at Hotel Austral for anyone travelling in Tierra del Fuego - friendly hosts, great location and very good value for money.
David and Jane Moore, NSW, Australia

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

This was a much better location compared to another five star hotel I stayed at previously up in the 'mountains'. It is one block away from the main shopping street - San Martin.

Breakfast was the typical style for Argentina, and there was a varied choice, staff was very accommodating and would ask if you preferred fresh toast etc?

There is a book exchange in the main area / dining area where you could leave your books and read others. That same area had an internet service which was free of charge, of course you should consider other guests, but I thought this was a plus, as this was not available in the 5 star I stayed in.

The owners are a lovely couple and would give advice on activities etc and even have a chat with you. That was refreshing.

The problem I had was the bathroom in the room I stayed it smelled very much of mold. I could not sleep with it open at all. My allergies started acting up because of this. If I wanted fresh air I would have to leave the sun roof window open whilst asleep at night as the main window was facing the main corridor everyone would pass by. Maybe it was only this room which had the problem. I stayed in the first room on the right (cant remember the room number).

Interesting that the cost of the room was similar to the five star hotel, but Hotel Austral was worth more than the five star hotel because of the location and layout (despite the mold).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Austral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austral

Address: 9 de Julio 250, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ushuaia
#4 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Austral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austral Hotel Ushuaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Austral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.