We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place - Quiet!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Mirabeagle

Hosteria Mirabeagle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hosteria Mirabeagle to your Saves list
Hosteria Mirabeagle
De Los Nires No. 3220, Ushuaia, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a lovely place - Quiet!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

All the rooms look over the Beagle Channel. The Hotel is out of town (32 Argentinian Pesos in a taxi) and very quiet. There is minimal passing traffic and as a result the hotel is really peaceful. The only problem we had whilst staying was communication (we speak minimal Spanish and the hotel owner no English) and when details of our departure flight pick-up time did not arrive (went missing), it was difficult to sort out. Breakfast adequate. Lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Great value in an expensive city. Panoramic views of the Beagle Channel. Helpful staff. Good sized room, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not a big buffet, but was more than the minimal "coffee with media lunes" that is considered breakfast elsewhere in Argentina. Location is ~4 km from the centre of town. That's good for the views and a quiet stay (we read that many of the downtown hotels were noisy), but a long walk or a taxi ride from anything. Hotel does not have a restaurant. Contrary to other recent review, wifi worked fine for us from room and breakfast bar. Have to agree that if you ended up here on a tour, the lack of restaurant and distance from the centre of town would be issues. But if you are traveling independently, the views and savings may make it worthwhile.

Room Tip: They are all good! Every room has a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campo Grande, MS
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, not many options, but quality ones. The greates thing was the view, really amazing. You can take a walk by the beach and see some animals.
Yes, it's a little away from the centre and the road is not pavimented, which is not such a problem. For a touristic city, the centre was really disappointing. Taxi will cost around 30 pesos.
But the biggest problem, for me, is that the hotel does not allow any food or drink from outside. They say there's a fine of US$300 if you do that (I don't know even if it's legal). Such a great view and I can't appreciate it with a glass of wine of my choice!

Room Tip: As far as I noticed, all the rooms have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Defintely too far from city center: it is not worth if you are not going to Ushuaia by car. It has no elevator, so it can be a problem if you have some heavy luggage. Internet connection doesnt work very well. The view from the room is excellent, right on Beagle Channel. A taxi ride will cost around 35 pesos.
Breakfast is very poor and there is no choice: it is prepared in the kitchen and served.
I should suggest other places in Ushuaia like Viejo Lobo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

i dont see what is negative about this hotel. Yes it is about 1 hour walk from town but the taxis are cheap and come within 3 minutes. The view is great and the staff are really friendly and helpful.
And as for the complaint about not speaking english, get over yourself, you are in Argentina. Get a phrase book.

Overall a very good experience

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

We stayed at the Mirabeagle for 2 nights with our trip through Maranella Tours. A 30 peso cab ride to town (with the tip!) The staff does not speak english; the breakfast is minimum (no eggs, no fruit, a lot of breads). Got there about 10pm not having dinner. We were directed to walk up the hill in the rain to another hotel (nice dinner there!). The rooms were clean, comfortable, no TV, no clock, but a nice view of the sunrise in the morn!
Would rate it higher if closer to town!

Room Tip: Physically see the room first!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heathert390
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Hosteria Mirabeagle has amazing water views which were the highlight of our stay. The staff was helpful and the rooms clean but minimalist. The staff serves a nice breakfast and they were very accomodating in leaving us some food the one day we had an outing leave prior to breakfast time.

The only thing that I would tell people is that the hotel is away from city center. The site we booked our room on said it was in the heart of Ushuaia so we came in with different expectations. Once we got to Ushuaia we wished we had stayed a little closer in.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Mirabeagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mirabeagle

Address: De Los Nires No. 3220, Ushuaia, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the side of the Beagle Channel, surrounded by a natural environment in the end of the world. All rooms in Mirabeagle have the best view to the beagle channel. Rooms have: private bathroom with Jacuzzi (whirlpool bath); central heating; telephone; TV; frigobar; room service. Services: breakfast room: living room; cable television; service Wi-Fi; service of internet; DVD; rent of mountain bike; excursions. Mirabeagle is the best option to rest in the nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hosteria Mirabeagle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Mirabeagle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.