We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location and a good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ushuaia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ushuaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ushuaia
Lasserre 933, Ushuaia, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 55 hotels in Ushuaia
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and a good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night and was very happy to be located looking out over the magnificent mountains and lovely small city of Ushuaia. It felt like a ski lodge and was warm and charming inside with good service and a lovely lounge looking out over the view. Very nice - not sumptuous but wonderful for a few night stay at a reasonable price

Room Tip: Try to ask for a view - most have it though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    26
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
23
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

On a hill above the town, it is away from the noise and bustle (taxis are cheap if you can't face the walk!). The rooms are spacious but basic and the bathrooms have a full-sized bath! (Bring your own plug). The public sitting area is bright and comfortable with table service for drinks and snacks (no cash). The large dining room does full menu dinners and the breakfast is the ubiquitous cheese and ham but with a greater selection of breads and cereals than in some places. Wifi worked throughout the hotel but was best in public rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It's a little outside of town but is fairly large and very accommodating to groups/teams. Back to back years with multi-week stays we've never had a problem and they have been great to us. Food is reasonable and they have a nice lounge on the main floor where you can hang out and use the internet with beverage and food service.

Room Tip: close to the lobby/lounge and you might pick up a wifi signal in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

this is an old hotel that serves old clientele. situated on a hill about 1.2 km from the town center. after traveling in Argentina & Chile for moe than 2 weeks, i can say that breakfast is very basic here. need a taxi to go back to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Gap tours used this hotel prior to, and after, their Antarctic cruises. It is a big good looking hotel that is a 20 minute walk downhill to the main shopping strip. The rooms were nice and quiet. The breakfast was very ordinary. On the day we went to the cruise we absent mindedly left a pair of sunglasses and a USB beside the bed - we know we did. We came back to the hotel to enquire whether our items had been handed in. The guy at reception looked in the drawers, he stepped out of the room and came back and said "no, nothing here". A more perfunctory search would not be possible. We came back 2 weeks later after our cruise and got exactly the same routine - my wife and I laughed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel a few days while I waited for my cruise to embark. The room was adequate but a little old. The breakfast was just ok, not much of a selection. Wifi is only available in the lounge area, not it the room. The view from the dining area is awesome. The hotel is not in the main area of town, so a 15 min walk is necessary to get to food/drinks/shopping/port/bus etc. It was decent for the price though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is located on a hill overlooking Ushuaia. The view is really nice but the disadvantage is that you have to walk approx. 20 mins down to the city and of course also back :-) But caps are everywhere and cheap.

The rooms are rather large in size and clean but old-fashioned and a bit dark. As we had a room on ground floor we couldn't open the window over night due to safety reasons. Safety box and toilet flash were not working properly (most people of our group had the same problem), so we had to call several times for staff to fix it, they always showed up by return.

The lobby is large with nice seating area and nice view.

The breakfast is poor, not even fresh fruits available and nothing hot.

Staff was friendly but not over-average.

Overall this hotel in not bad and also the location is not that bad as the nice view compensates the downhill-uphill walking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ushuaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ushuaia

Address: Lasserre 933, Ushuaia, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 55 hotels in Ushuaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ushuaia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ushuaia to your Saves list