We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel during our trip through Argentina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra de Leyendas

Save Saved
You added Tierra de Leyendas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tierra de Leyendas
Tierra de Vientos 2448, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SKI WEEK PACKAGE
Ranked #1 of 55 hotels in Ushuaia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel during our trip through Argentina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

This small hotel was the best hotel we stayed at during our trip through Argentina. Our room was modern and very charming and had a very nice view on the Beagle channel. All people of the hotel were very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent. We received very good recommendations about excursions around Ushaia. Sebastian is a remarkable cook and we stayed there for dinner every night. Ushaia is a small town and with a taxi you can go anywhere for just 25 to 35 Pesos.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    49
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
240
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed at Tierra de Leyendas during November 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our hosts and all the staff were lovely, and excellent English was spoken. The staff also made great tour recommendations.

We are used to staying in luxury boutique style accommodation – often at a higher expense - but opted for this hotel due to previous tripadvisor reviews and a desire to avoid some of the bigger hotels in Ushuaia. We are very pleased we did.

Accommodation was simple, clean and good value. But the real selling points were the staff, the views – pay a little extra to ensure a Beagle Channel view from your room– and the food. Sebas was previously a chef with the Marriott and this experience was clear. We opted to eat in the hotel for two nights and found the food easily as good as some of the more well-known restauarants in town. The seafood was a highlight.

Room Tip: Book a room with a Beagle Channel view. The
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

First of all, I would like to thank Maria and Sebastian "owners of the hotel"
the great hospitality we had from them was just indescribable, We have stayed there 2 nights and it was almost enough to see most of the attractive spots in Ushuaia although it could have been much better if we could have stayed longer. Rooms are very clean and tidy, Wifi is free in the hotel, never have breathed a fresher air like that little hill where hotel is located..
The rooms view is just amazing..I had the mountain and some of the ocean view and my friend had the mountain and town view... both views were incredible
I would highly recommend this hotel and yeah, Dont forget to order the Grilled Salmon from Sebastian..I would the best Salmon ive ever had!!! ha ha ha
Hopefully ill have another time to make it to this hotel again.. maybe as a honeymooner ha ha!!! Thanks

Room Tip: Mountain and Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyendas, Propietario at Tierra de Leyendas, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
We really appreciate your stay. It was a real pleasure to host you and I still remember the anecdote regarding mi grand father stamp. Great coincidence to found on my restaurante table a stamp from the 50s of your friend´s birth town! We would love to host you again on your honeymoon! Maria and Sebastian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Felt at home from the first moment! Stayed 3 nights and everything was perfect. Great hospitality, helped with booking trips, comfortable and clean rooms, delicious food and resturant was perfect. Beautiful setting, nice to be out of town! Would go back for sure!

Room Tip: Picked us up at the airport, nice to be out of town. Amazing views from the rooms and dining area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This hotel is in a residential neighborhood a few miles outside of downtown; cabs are cheap. Brealfast and dinner are superb.

What makes this hotel is the staff -- they are very knowledgeable about the various sites and activites in Ushuaia, and share that information freely and well. I was particularly pleased that Alejandra advised on the order in which we should do activities to get the most out of our time -- advice which was correct.

Don't stay anywhere else -- they also have a fantastic view of the Andes and the Beagle Channel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We booked Tierra de Leyendas because we longed for a quiet location with a spectacular view of the Beagle Channel... and ended up absolutely were thrilled with our stay. Not only did we get our wish for peace and an unparalleled view, but this hotel gave us so much more--personal, impeccable service from the delightful owners and staff, delicious breakfasts and dinners created by Sebastien (an extremely talented chef as well as an owner), great recommendations for excursions, sightseeing, and dining for lunches and Sunday dinner, a comfortable, spacious, and spotless room and bath, and the sense of staying in the most perfect spot "at the end of the world" (as Ushuaia calls itself.) For more accolades and specifics, read more of the reviews. Let me just say the glowing reports are absolutely accurate and well-deserved! Thank you so much, Sebas, Maia, and Alejandra!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My 2 daughters and I stayed at the Tierra de Leyendas. We couldn't have found a prettier place. Sebastian greeted us with his chef's uniform and gave us a drink on entry. The room details and colors were lovely and clearly designed with care. The breakfast was spectacular. Sebastian is a wonderful chef and puts together a varied mixture of fruit, cheese, cereals, yogurts, fresh juice, and all sorts of wonderful baked goods for breakfast. The hotel is slightly out of town but taxi service was easy to find. It was a great place from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tierra de Leyendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra de Leyendas

Address: Tierra de Vientos 2448, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have created the place we would like to arrive at if we were travellers… Outside, we are surrounded by the purest views in South Patagonia.Inside, we enliven the rooms with myths and tales hidden in the times. As a whole, a rustic style boutique hotel decorated with fine local materials, creating a warm and informal atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Tierra de Leyendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra De Leyendas Ushuaia
Tierra De Leyendas Hotel Ushuaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra de Leyendas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.