We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, not in center, fine experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alba's House

Alba's House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alba's House to your Saves list
Alba's House
Belakamain 247, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 44 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good value, not in center, fine experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of days waiting for a cruise to Antarctica. The room was clean and nice. Wifi did not work in the room. There is no lounge area or sofa to sit on so if you want to relax, you have to sit on your bed or sit in the dinning room. Breakfast was good, near a nice bakery and supermarket, but there is no kitchen or place to cook. It was a good 10-15 minute walk into town. Ms Alba was sometimes helpful, other times aloof. She was slightly irritated that our Spanish was not that good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ushuaia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This casa (this place is not a hostel, owner says so!) is located 20-30 minutes walk from the center. Really close to a big supermarket but everything else is min. 10 minutes walk away. If you want some tourist attaction this is not your place.
Price is not cheap but not expensive either, somewhere in the middle compared to prices in the city.
Breakfast is ok.
Rooms are clean, gets cleaned everyday, clean towels and every room has a heater inside.
Kitchen is not available (this is not a hostel, remember?!) but there's a electric kettle in the common area so there's always hot water.

The irritating part about this hostel is the owner: She behaves you like you're her dumb small child who needs his/her beheviour to be sorted out. You get your answer to a question with an ironic little speech (about how to get the heating working for example, or when you get your keys to the door). She does not do this to everybody sometimes she likes you and sometimes not I guess. This is not a place you stay for free so this kind of behaviour is not acceptable.

So in overall: Maybe first go and meet her and see if she likes you or not :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Miss Alba is very atencious. When we came, she explained us about the city, the weather, etc. She gave us a map pointing for us supermarket, restaurants and some points that would interest us.

The room is very simple, bathroom ensuite. The cleanliness is poor inside the bathroom.

The B&B is not central, it´s about 10 to 15 minut walking from the main street, it have everthing you need near (drugstore, supermarket, restaurants, bus station, taxi, bakery..).

Good value for money for private room in Ushuaia.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The pension is located approximately 1km or 15min from the city center, towards the airport. Located in a quiet neighborhood. The rooms and bedrooms are finished in wood, which creates a very pleasant climate, like a mountain hut. You can really feel the atmosphere of the end of the continent. Owner is very nice and helpful. I recommend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Experiencing some B&B and Hostels you will find the guestkeeper sometimes very hearty and interactive with their guest, sometime you'll find them down-to-earth and transaction-orientated. The latter counts for Alba B&B.

Considering the room and the private bathroom (towels included) everything was all right. The room was spacious and the bathroom had everything needed.

Breakfast was already organized for every table in the morning- guest were on their own and could serve themselves.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The location is not so bad. The city is small, so everything is close. The place is about 10 minuts from the main street - on foot.
The hostess is not friendly. She gave me some ironic speechs for little things, like when i called her by the ringbell as she hasn´t given me my keys.
She tries to push some excursions. I dont know if they are more expensive. As she was unpleasant i refused it.

The rooms are nice. Clean and warm. Not noisy.
The bathrooms are ok. I could see the bathrooms from two others rooms.
The shared bathrrom is ok as well. Clean.
There is a room for one person as well.
The breakfast is good and fair. Coffee, milk and yogurt. There is cereal, bread, butter, jam and also a piece of cake.

The price is good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

A great little ´house´about 20min easy walk to the main restaurant´and shopping precinct....good walk to work off the icecream!!! We have been staying here for nearly ten days and just loving it. Breakfasts are served every morning from 8am -10pm and include the most delicious coconut cake as well as toast, cereal, yoghurt, tea and coffee. The rooms are clean and when we re-booked she made an effort to convert the 2 single bed room into a double bed for us. Clean towels and shampoo and soap included. Rooms are incredibly warm and showers are hot and very soothing. Aftter we returned from our trek we had all our dirty and smelly clothes washed and cleaned in 24 hours. She is very very helpful in booking taxis, local tours etc for you and when you arrive will provide a map of the town as well as info on local attractions and tours. You are rovided with a key to the gate, house and your room and you can come and go as ou please. She also has a small lap top and wifi you can use at anytime at no extra cost........i just wish we could speak spanish to get to know her more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alba's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba's House

Address: Belakamain 247, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer quiet simplicity, where quality service and friendship are valued. There are few rooms, so we have a very personal contact with each guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Alba's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alba's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.