We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Nires

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Los Nires to your Saves list
Hotel Los Nires
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. de los Nires 3040, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night before our Antarctica cruise. The tour company picked the hotel for us. We were booked at this hotel but other travelers were booked at other hotels. The hotel is nice enough but it is a long distance to the city center. There was a van that went down town but it wasn't advertised very well. We thought that the dining room had very reasonable meals. The mountain view from our room was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    106
    39
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
113
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This would have been very good if it's not for transportation as hotel is few kilometers away and cost 30-40 Pesos one way. Great Service and food is pretty good. Rooms are very spacious at least ones I stayed. few steps down for walking to bay

Room Tip: Most of the even number rooms has great bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I was here two nights before our ship left for Antarctica. My cabin mate on the ship joined me the second night. Our room was on the second floor facing the mountains, which are beautiful. The restaurant, which served excellent fish, has a fantastic view over the Beagle Channel. The first night at the hotel the sunset was breathtaking. One needed to take a taxi into Ushuaia, about ten minutes. The hotel staff were always happy to call a taxi and one generally arrived very quickly. The room was lovely and warm, when I arrived so much so I had to open a window but after turning down the heat it was perfect. The bathroom was lovely with a huge tub and lovely towels. The room itself was a good size. There was internet in the lobby area, but quite slow.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Out of town but good views overlooking the Beagle Channel. Free shuttle bus into and out of town. Taxis cheap anyway. Room and bathroom well equipped, large, warm and airy. Restaurant comfortable and food very acceptable, Breakfast a little restricted but not too much of a disadvantage. Waiting staff good humoured. Desk staff pleasant, helpful and with good command of English. Looks as though an extesnion is being built but our guide said it had ben that way for a while (doesn't detract from the amenity or views of the hotel though).

Room Tip: Ask for Beagle Channel views, not on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maun, Botswana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The hotel was in a residential area, about 10 minutes (by taxi) from the centre of town. It had great views onto either the Beagle Channel to the south, or the mountains to the north.
Rooms were comfortable and clean. The interior of the wooden “ski-lodge" style building, is conductive to a cosy atmosphere, however, that is where it ends.
While most of the staff was helpful when approached, they were certainly not very warm and friendly, and did not go the extra mile to assist guests without being asked.
Carry own luggage, find room by yourself, figure out room & hotel orientation without any assistance from staff, figure out meal times and location of restaurant etc.
The on-site restaurant was nothing special. There was no option of having eggs for breakfast, even if you were willing to pay extra for it. Dinner was not great - not terrible - just fine...
I had the impression that all basic standards were met, so no extra effort was being made to impress and "wow" guests. I suspect it is a owner/management issue, rather than a staff issue, as all the individuals ( especially FOH staff) were friendly enough.
My feeling on our entire stay - nothing horrible, nothing super special - everything only just fine...

Room Tip: Rooms face either the mountains, or the Beagle channel- so specify based on your personal preferance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January for 2 nights on our way to Antarctica. The hotel is located about a 10-15 minute taxi ride away from the downtown area or the airport. There is wireless internet at the hotel, very slow though. The restaurant was just ok. It seems that they are understaffed and it took a long time to get our meals. Our room had 2 twin beds and was very basic. The room was very clean. They do need to repair the broken window. Lets in the cold air. Nice sized bathroom. The shower has a glass partition instead of a shower curtain or shower door. I was cold while taking a shower. All in all for where it is, the room was adequate for our needs.

Room Tip: Not sure how to pick a good room. We were all the way at the end of the hall. I imagine that most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 separate nights. It is situated out of the centre but has a free shuttle service to and from town. The views of the Beagle Channel and the mountains are superb. The hotel has the most amazing and helpful staff. Travelling on my own, I had two major problems which they helped to sort out for me. The food was very good ( ate in the restaurant both nights). It is worth noting as one reviewer has commented on the breakfast - breakfast generally in Argentina is fairly simple. I found it to be perfectly adequate. The rooms were comfortable, clean and supplied with the usual requirements. I can't praise the staff highly enough for the help they gave me.

Room Tip: Select a ground floor room if you have heavy luggage - no lift but staff happy to take your cases
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Nires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Nires

Address: Av. de los Nires 3040, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
#13 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Nires 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Los Nires Hotel
Los Nires Ushuaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Nires, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.