We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lago Roca

Lago Roca
Los Glaciares National Park, Ushuaia, Argentina
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$51*
and up
Tierra del Fuego National Park Half-Day Tour with...
Ranked #7 of 32 Attractions in Ushuaia
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you are up for a nice pic nic in a marvelous place, you should go there. The scenary is AMAZING! Went there with my boyfriend and a friend and had a great time!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    139
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellín, Colombia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

the title pretty much describes the place. Try not to miss it... I got the best pictures from our trip there. The scenery is quite something and it made me remeber the Glaciar National Park in Canada around Banff... Beautiful!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

It was nice that you started and finished the summit hike along lago roca. It was a beautiful spot to relax your feet after the long hike. Cool to look just down the lake and find out that chile was just on the other side.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“A pretty lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

A pretty lake with a fine view of the mountains. In particular, we enjoyed the varied, plentiful plants of numerous varieties; our guide was particularly good at explaining them all to us.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Horseback Riding at Lago Roca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I strongly recommend the horseback riding at Lago Roca. The guy responsible for the horse ridings is Luciano Cuenca, you can take a look at his website here http://cabalgatasdelglaciar.com/. There you will find all the horse ridings he offers. I did only the Lago Roca that takes only one day, so I'll write about only this one.

Luciano picked me up in my hotel at 9AM and drove me, my wife and 3 other persons to his Estancia (farm), about 40min from El Calafate, where there he prepared the horses while we waited, talked and enjoyed our mate tea and the beautiful scenery of Patagonia. His Estancia is in a beautiful place located inside the Los Glaciares National Park (where is also the famous Perito Moreno glaciar).

We rode the horses inside the Park enjoying a calm ride and the landscape. He took us up a hill where we had an incredible sight of the Perito Moreno glaciar, the mountains, the river, lake Roca and the mountains. After that we rode more until the shore of a river where Luciano prepared the meal for us. Everyone ate the good argentinian chorizo. For me and my wife, we had a delicious vegetarian meal prepared by Luciano too (you must tell Luciano before if you have any food restriction).

After the Lunch we headed back to the Estancia around 3PM. Luciano then drove everyone back at their hotels.

This is a MUST do if you are in Calafate. Luciano is a nice guy who loves what he does. The ride will give you a feel of the true patagonian spirit. This is not a mass touristic activity as the Perito Moreno minitrekking, so you can enjoy more peacefully the Patagonia.

Cheers and bon voyage,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lago Roca also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Lago Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lago Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.