We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalma Resto

Kalma Resto
Antartida Argentina 57, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
00 54 2901 425786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 91 Restaurants in Ushuaia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Signature cuisine in the End of the World.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We were very excited by several of the reviews we read here and went to Kalma yesterday, despite some warnings from locals. The place is small but nice and Jorge, the chef/owner, appears to run it efficiently. The appetizers were good but the (four) main courses were sadly way below expectations!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    69
    32
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food, great chef/owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Kalma Resto is set in a nondescript building on the outskirts of downtown Ushuaia, so you wouldn't necessarily expect it to be one of the best restaurants in town, but it is. The food is good, but the exuberance and attentiveness of the chef/owner/maître d' /sommelier/waiter/busser Jorge made the visit memorable. The pasta dish I had was excellent, but half of our group had the paella, which they deemed to be average, not great. The special touches Jorge lends to the experience, however, put this restaurant at the top of the list for some of our group. Kalma Resto definitely deserves a visit if you're in Ushuaia for a few nights or more.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Surprise at the end of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

You wouldn't necessarily pick the restaurant by looking in the window. However if you are looking for the surprise of a chef trained at a Michelin 3 Star restaurant in Spain, featuring great presentation, personal attention, and all at a very reasonable price, go to Kalma. Visting with Jorge was a pleasure. Deserts were unusually good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a personal touch of the chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The day before we went on our trip tothe Antarctic peninsula with the m/v Plancius of Oceanwide Expeditions we planned toeat at Kalma. Unfortunally it was closed that day. After we returned today (13th december) we decided to have another go on this restaurant. And that we know :-) The food was excellent and all from nearby places, some even from Jorges own garden. We ate a delicious preared King Crab and Black Hage and a salad with camenbert. The desert was as good as it was weird to me. Chocolota, ice and olive oil, if you're there trie and have some while talking to the chef in this superb restaurant which will not aim for a Michelin star but in Holland the certainly would deserve one!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“don't miss. Creative food and great lomo de cordero fueguino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were at Kalma by the end of October. Jorge is really nice and a great chef. The homemade bread is amazing as well as the lomo de cordero fueguino - a regional lamb but served in a very unique way, juicy and fatless. All the dishes were well explained and absolutely creative. The tasters between courses are incredible. Regional dishes like centolla very well cooked and served. Short but impecable list of wine, which increases the bill, but how not to have a great Argentinean wine to match a great meal? Don't miss the desserts. At the end of the meal, Jorge took us to the kitchen to meet his small staff. A very nice and well appreciated way of managing people.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalma Resto also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Kalma Resto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalma Resto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.