We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aijpel Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Aijpel Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Aijpel Bed and Breakfast
Vicente Canga No. 1837, Ushuaia, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

very rarely have i stayed in a place so downright lovely. susanna and fernando are super nice people and regularly went out of their way to make me feel totally at home and part of the family. the place is a little way out of town (a nice 10 minute walk) and is completely silent at night, i slept like a log. i will definitely come back here again when i visit ushuaia next time. 10/10.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The nicest place you could stay We arrived at 2am after a horrendous 36-hour bus journey and Susanna was waiting up for us. It's a family-run b&b so it's much more homely than a hostel, we felt really safe. It's spotlessly clean and warm, and they have Earl Grey tea! We took the 6am bus out of Ushuaia and Susanna got up at 430am to make us breakfast (cheese toasties, cakes, tea and yoghurt). I couldn't imagine a nicer place to stay. Thanks Susanna!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The owners of this B&B are very kind. They picked us up from the busstation and in the morning brought us to the harbour. They also gave us advise about excursions and restaurants. Because we arrived late in the evening it was very convenient that we could book our excursion at the B&B.
We had a nice room at the first floor with a small but clean and efficient bathroom. Wifi worked in our room and they also have a computer you can use. Breakfast includes toast, croissants, coffee/tea, juice and yoghurt.
The B&B is about 4 blocks away from the centre (sightly downhill).
We found this a very comfortable B&B with very kind owners.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

As others have mentioned, this is a true B&B. I had a lovely room in the family's home, and the decor was homey and cozy. However, the location is in a quiet, residential neighborhood that's a bit of a walk from the town center. Walking downhill towards town took 20-30 minutes, but I opted to hire a taxi to head back after dinner, and the owners were happy to drive me back to the airport at the end of my stay.

The hosts were helpful, but friendly conversation suffered from the language barrier. Spanish is not among my language repertoire, and the email dialog in making the reservation owed much to Google translate (my mails were all in English; their replies all in Spanish). We made do, but it definitely put a damper on anything beyond the most essential communication!

This was the third place that I stayed in Ushuaia, and as a solo traveler, I definitely enjoyed being closer to the city center. The room here was definitely the most pleasant, so I probably would have preferred it more on a couple trip, enjoying the cozy room and having someone to chat with on the walk to/from town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

This is a B&B in the traditional sense - the downstairs rooms are literally right next to the family living room. Luckily, this is not a problem in the evenings, as the host couple is very quiet and goes to bed early. However, during the day when I tried to catch a quick nap, that didn't work because of their niece coming over to play - fair enough, that's why it's B&B. The hosts were in general very friendly, but make sure you have a phrase book with you as their English is quite patchy. We had one of the downstairs bedrooms which meant we had to share a spacious bathroom with another room, which is always a little awkward. The bathroom itself was nice though, with a good hot shower. The upstairs bedroom seemed to have an ensuite.
The room itself was small and very basic (no TV, but good Wifi). The beds were somewhat comfy.
One of the more negative points was the breakfast. We stayed for 3 nights, and every day, it was exactly the same. We also believe that some of the breakfast rolls might have been the same over the 3 breakfast, as they became quite dry in the end. Another part of our travel group was lodged at a different B&B and we were always very jealous when we heard what their hosts had come up with for dinner.
Getting into the two main streets of Ushuaia is a 10-15 minute walk down a hill. It's not very far, but also not so close that you could get home quickly after a dinner. I guess being somewhat away from the centre makes accommodation a bit more affordable.

Don't get me wrong: I'm giving this 3 stars because it's an average B&B. It's not particularly good or bad, it has a few positives and a few negatives. You will have a nice stay, but I'm sure there are also better places out there.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ensuite, just so much easier and less awkward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

It´s a family run bed&breakfast with owners that go out of their way to make sure you have a good stay in Ushuaia. The only thing is that it's located in a residential area of the town, not a tourist area. But it´s a short and absolutely safe way down to the city - or else, the owners will book you a cab - really inexpensive (around 13 Pesos in February 2012), so that´s not really a problem. Well kept, clean (I'm allergic and had no problems at all), delicious breakfast and a friendly and warm atmosphere. I would definitely recommend the place to any friends and family of mine going to Ushuaia, as I would most certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We were greeted at the airport by Susana and her husband, who waited an hour for our delayed flight. they were very friendly and gave us a quick tour as we drove to the house. We stayed in the upstairs bedroom with the private bathroom. The room was an adequate size but the bathroom was very small, however the room was very warm.
After settling in, we walked down to the town center which took about 15-20 minutes. Susana warned us against walking a certain way due to it being a drunk teenager hangout. While i appreciate the warning, it kind of made us uneasy about the neighborhood. We did not encounter any issues on our walks.
We ended up only staying one night since our flights changed but Susana's husband and son were extremely kind and drove us to the airport.
It is a nicely kept B&B, really clean and nice hosts but a bit small.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aijpel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aijpel Bed and Breakfast

Address: Vicente Canga No. 1837, Ushuaia, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Aijpel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aijpel Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.