We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yaganes 74, Ushuaia, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We were really pleased with this hotel. Stayed for three nights. Good location. The room was excellent, with a bedroom, bathroom and sitting room/kitchenette, all well furnished and provided for. Breakfasts were good, and the staff really helpful and pleasant. Would recommend anyone to go there when in Ushuaia.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina I, Director Comercial at Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear John LR
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We thank you for your comment about the hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Regards,
Cilene del Faro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    189
    35
    10
    8
See reviews for
143
161
19
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Despite not the friendliest staff, the rooms are suites and therefore large and comfortable. I had a room to the back of the hotel. I would have preferred the front but they were all allocated. I thought that isn't a problem as I'm only there 1 night after all. All was fine till 2am when the most almighty noise came from a bar the other side of the road playing loud music till 6.
The breakfast wasn't very good. The wifi was ok. It is quite well situated to visit the Prison museum, and at the end of the shopping street.
The spa looked interesting but I didn't have time to check it out. The view from the top of the lighthouse was great too, which made me even more annoyed I wasn't in a room at the front because not only would I have not been kept up all night, the view of the port and the ships was great as well.

Room Tip: Room on front overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina I, Director Comercial at Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Josse S
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We appreciate all you comments and suggestions to improve, I will send a copy of this to our General Manager. There are always opportunities to be better and we value your input.
About the nightclub the hotel had presented several complaints at the city hall about this issue but we haven't received any solution yet. We are very sorry about this matter.
Regards,
Cilene del Faro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

modern euro hotel with some apartments in which we had 2 full bedrooms, 2 full bath, outer living room with view and adjacent kitchen…comfortable, not elegant but large and good value for the 4 of us. Cannot understand some poor reviews of the breakfast unless one is not used to continental breads/cheese/meats/eggs and coffee/juice/fruit. Very helpful staff with good recommendations for channel cruises, car rental and national park visit. The pool/spa is quite small but not usually found in a 3 star or even 4 star place 1000 km from Antartica! Location is at the end of the downtown streets across from the Naval Base so there is a nice view of mountains from the front rooms. Upper floor front has been turned into a semi-circular setting area with great views.

Room Tip: apartments have best view and sleep 4 easily, if not 6 if allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina I, Director Comercial at Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Suzanne M:
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We thank you for your comment about the hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Regards,
Cilene del Faro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The main advantages of this hotel are location and cleanliness .
It is located next to the main street (San Martin) , so it was near restaurants, shops and touristic information centre.
The cleanliness was excellent.
Breakfast was good but there is no restaurant and bar service, which I don't believe it is essential because the hotel is very well located.
The staff was friendly, especially the manager, who was Brazilian and give us excellent tips.
Wi-fi signal was not very good.

Room Tip: Great location and cleanliness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina I, Director Comercial at Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Karina Fuji:
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We thank you for your comment about the hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Regards,
Cilene del Faro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Apart from the spectacular view and clean rooms, a comfortable bed and some balconies, this is definitely NOT a 4.5 star hotel or suit.

The furniture is uncomfortable, no desk or chairs for working, dreadful and limited choice of breakfast.

The best we could rate it and being generous was 3 star.

It might be the best of a bad bunch in Ushuaia, but most definitely not worth the money.

As there is limited competion in Ushuaia, we stayed at another 4.5 star hotel that was worse.

There is no room service and no restaurant.

And just to top it off, there is a dog next door that barks most of the night keeping you awake.

Room Tip: If you have to have a room, try the top 5th or 6th floor with a balcony overlooking the ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina I, Director Comercial at Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Darby M:
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We appreciate all you comments and suggestions to improve, I will send a copy of this to our General Manager. There are always opportunities to be better and we value your input.
Regards,
Cilene del Faro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Cilene del Faro is a nice hotel to stay in Ushuaia. Ask for a room with a view to the lake.
The hotel is simple but comfortable and very well located: near the harbor, the main street, restaurantes and the museum.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view to the lake are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina I, Director Comercial at Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mr Umnome,
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We thank you for your comment about the hotel and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.
Regards,
Cilene del Faro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in the family apartment which was very comfortable with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a small kitchen/living area. The staff are very helpful. It is well located just off the Main Street of Ushuaia near shops and restaurants, however, this did mean we were kept awake by loud music.

Breakfast was disappointing as for a 'buffet' there was a very limited selection. There are 2 coffee machines in the hotel, however despite the pricey room charges, you had to buy tokens for these machines which produced a small sugary coffee. We were also slightly disappointed to be provided with a coffee machine and kettle in our apartment, but no coffee to use.

It is perfectly comfortable to stay here, although nothing special.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina I, Director Comercial at Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mr CharzH
Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Ushuaia.
We appreciate all you comments and suggestions to improve, I will send a copy of this to our General Manager.
Regards,
Cilene del Faro Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa

Address: Yaganes 74, Ushuaia, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ushuaia
#4 Family Hotel in Ushuaia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa will not fall short of your expectations. We have a full range of services designed to make your stay a unique and unparalleled.From a complete living room, kitchenette and breakfast bar, to a classic bar atmosphere that will dazzle you with breathtaking views.We also invite you to enjoy our spa, where you will find a place to distension and relaxation.The hotel also has indoor parking, a business center with 2 PCs with internet access and Wi-Fi in all our facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cilene Del Faro Suites And Spa
Cilene Del Faro Hotel Ushuaia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilene del Faro Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.