We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“muy interesante / very interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Harberton

Estancia Harberton
Beagle Channel, Ushuaia, Argentina
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 33 attractions in Ushuaia
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“muy interesante / very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

La estancia cuenta con una historia muy interesante, pero por sobre todo con un alto nivel de conservación de los talleres, las herramientas y construcciones construidas por los fundadores de la estancia.
Los guías son muy amigables y con ellos se pueden recorrer varios lugares, como la casa principal o el galpón de esquila.

The Estancia Hamberton has a very interesting history, but above that it has a high level of conservation of the workshops, tools and buildings built by the founders.
The guides are very friendly and they can take you through several bulfings, including the main house or the shearing shed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    105
    50
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bus ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Know that this is a 2 hour bus ride from the center of Ushuaia. Nice that along the way we learn about the settlement of this area. Highlight of the Estancia is the boat ride to the island for a walk with the penguins. Fortunately, the guides are very protective of the natural order and take pains to keep us all on the paths. Great photo ops! Try to go on a day 5 cruise ships are not in town.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Piratour excursion to see...and walk with... the penguins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Piratour is the only excursion where you actually land on the island and can walk with the penguins.
We took a tour at 2pm with a small group of 18 led by Santiago and his driver Chico
The bus travels for about 90 minutes first on Tarmac roads but for about 40 minutes on gravel tracks until you reach harberton.
We stopped along the way for photo opps.
At harberton you board a small rib craft and head for the penguin island colony. There is only one on the beagle channel.
You are literally landing on the beach sliding off the front of the craft and are immediately Among the penguins. There aren't dozens of them or hundreds there are literally thousands here.
Two main types and you will spend more than an hour carefully tip toeing around the penguins . They are not frightened and will happily be within 1 or 2 metres without problem. You see the breeding ground and nesting areas. It's wonderful and not to be missed.
All too soon the boat is back and a 15 minute trip back to the estancia.
Here you can take a coffee and snack. There is also the museum to visit which houses one of the most important collection of large fish skeletons in the world. A short but interesting talk by one of the volunteer biologists here .

A fascinating trip and excellent guiding by Santiago

Price today was 1000 pesos for two people.

The trip returned to town at around 7.30 pm

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Its the only way to get to walk among the Penguins on Martillo Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We arranged this trip before we arrived in Ushuaia with Pira Tours and we were very satisfied with the arrangements made by them, including the provision of an English speaking and very knowledgeable guide.

Although its along 1 1/2 hour ride from Ushuaia, it is well worth the effort to be able to get to walk amongst 2 different species of Penguins, a large number of Magellanic and a small group of Gentoo's.

The first part of the 80 km ride, for approx 45 minutes, was on the Pan American Highway, which goes all the way up to Alaska, the RN3.

The last 45 km was on a National Park road that was unpaved and wound its way through quite a dense beech forest at times. The ride on the semi rigid boat over to the Island took 15 minutes with cormorants flying and penguins swimming through the water on the way.

Only 20 people are allowed onto the Island at any one time so we felt very privileged to be able to land and walk amongst the Penguins there. A ships excursion was able to beach its catamaran on the Island but none of its passengers were allowed to land. Although they did see the beach full of Magellanic Penguins, they unfortunately were not able to see the small colony of Gentoo Penguins that were also breeding there, as they were standing over a ridge on the shore line.

There is a small cafe/restaurant at the Estancia with a selection of food and drinks available, as well as clean bathroom facilities. There is also an interesting separate Museum/Research Center with lots of skeletons of sea mammals, with murals showing what they actually look like, which I found very interesting. The Center knowledgeable researchers provided an excellent guided tour around the facilities there.

My images from Ushuaia, the Estancia and Martillo Island can be seen on "http://www.flickr.com/photos/57729348@N02/sets/72157632821080105/"

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great penguin watch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were aboard Seabourn and only in Ushuaia from noon until 7 pm. We had contacted Pira Tours via email and arranged for 10 of us to do their "Walk With Penguins" via Estancia Harberton. They charged $95 US per person that could go on credit card, plus $60 Argentine pesos (about $12 US) that HAD to be paid in cash, per person for "park admission". I think the way they make you pay in advance (giving them copies of your actual credit card) is something that bothered some of our group, so I did the payment on my card. It all worked out fine. The whole attraction here is that Pira Tours are the only ones that can beach their boat and let you walk among thousands of penguins. (They are actually behind a rope line, but you can get really close.) We had booked this trip because our other scheduled penguin stop, in the Falklands, was considered "iffy" due to weather. We WERE able to walk with penguins at Volunteer Point in the Falklands, so this trip was a bit redundant. But we loved it. The van ride was an hour, and the boat ride aboard a fully-enclosed "rib" was only about 10 minutes. We all took thousands of pictures. The small 1-room museum anly takes 10-15 minutes to go through before you head back, but is worth the visit. This is ALL about penguins. If you like being close to them and walking among them, this is a rare opportunity. Otherwise, not really worth a trip to the ranch.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Estancia Harberton also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Estancia Harberton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Harberton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Estancia Harberton to your Saves list