We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kuar Restaurant / Bar

Kuar Restaurant / Bar
Av. Perito Moreno 2232, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
0054 (2901) 43-7396
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 restaurants in Ushuaia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

On the channel, this restaurant has killer views for sunset. It's a bit funky. It's a bit out of town. But we had no problems getting a taxi although we did try to walk there from the center before realizing we shouldn't. Crab is the big Ushuaia food. And it's delicious here. We had Patagonia lamb and local seafood. All good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    165
    55
    12
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
461 reviews 461 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Great food, good ambiance and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were recently in Ushuaia and had the opportunity to visit and dine at this restaurant. There eight in our party and we were celebrating the birthday of one of our friends. They sat us in a large table overlooking the water. If it hadn't been raining we would have enjoyed a beautiful sunset but nevertheless the view was wonderful! The staff was extremely attentive and took care of our every request. The food was excellent , fresh and cooked to perfection. We ordered a variety of items from appetizers to deserts and everything was tasty, beautifully presented and freshly made. The wines recommended by the wait staff proved to be excellent. Even when the restaurant became busy; the staff never forgot about us. By the end of the evening we were on friendly terms with the staff and they saw us off like we were old friends. Would definitely return and highly recommend this restaurant. It is a bit out of town ; so taking a cab is highly recommended. We went through about 6 bottles of wine, had appetizers, desert and main course plus coffee, tea and cappochino and the per person bill came to about $52 US dollars...This is a true gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and Personable Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went to Kaur for our Valentine's Day dinner. Kaur features a very cosy and intimate setting, designed for special occasions. The restaurant offers great views of the Beagle Channel, which to be honest is really not as romantic as it sounds (from the restaurant, the channel just looks like a regular lake), but it was great nonetheless to be dining by the water. Service here is great, with the head waiter going from table to table, introducing the specials of the day and making sure diners had everything they needed.

My dining partner had a menu of the day, which comprised a starter, main, dessert and two glasses of wine (very economical), and I ordered from the alacarte menu. I wasn't impressed with my pasta (spaghetti with soya sauce) and my dessert (tiramisu) but the menu of the day was great. There's also a good selection of wines on the menu.

Towards the end of our dinner, a live band came onstage to perform, making this the perfect way to end the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food great view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had dinner here prior to joining our expedition ship to Anartica. We watch the MS Expedition sail up the Beagle channel as we dined on delicious king crab followed by tierra del fuego lamb...
I booked via an email some weeks before travelling and was amazed to find our tabe duly reserved right by the window. We dined on a Saturday night ad it was busy so make a reservation if you want a window seat. Short taxi ride from ushuaia centre.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food and service with a superb view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate at Kuar restaurant. It's about 2km out of town so you need a car or a taxi to get here. It is set right on the water's edge with superb views over the Beagle Channel. As the sun set behind us over the mountains, from our window table we watched two sea lions swim lazily by. The foreshore is floodlit and you can continue to watch geese, oystercatchers and other birds as they feed along the rocky beach. The staff were friendly and there was a good choice on the menu, including black hake, trout and king crab. Everything is cooked fresh. The Tierra del Fuego local lamb was particularly good, as was the recommended wine from the Mendoza region.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuar Restaurant / Bar also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Kuar Restaurant / Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuar Restaurant / Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.