We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Almacen de Ramos General

El Almacen de Ramos General
Maipu 749, Ushuaia, Argentina
02901/424317
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 90 Restaurants in Ushuaia
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Miscouche, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

It's the best dinner, that i've had in Argentina during this week! This restaurant is not only about food. Here you may feel the atmosphere of the South Argentina

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    313
    77
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A good place to stop by after a day in Ushuaia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a good place to get some rest (and perhaps your Internet fix) after a long day exploring Ushuaia.

We stumbled upon the place after a long an enjoyable day of exploring Ushuaia area. It is about a block off the main drag (I always try to get away from the main drag when I'm looking for a restaurant). We ordered drinks for kids, coffee and mate for ourselves. It was our first time trying mate. The waitress spoke no English, we speak no Spanish. However, she was very patient, took her time to explain the menu, how to prepare and drink mate, etc. Free internet as advertised, and quite fast for a cafe.

The place itself is kinda neat. They have all kinds of old machinery, psoters, what have you on display. It's fairly eclectic, but if they tried to create an inviting and interesting decor, they certainly succeeded.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Coffee and internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

After having no internet access for a few weeks (was on a ship) and a couple of hours to kill before my flight out, I asked the locals for a good place for a coffee house that had good internet access. This is where they suggested, and it did not disappoint. Staff was very helpful in getting me set up with the appropriate adapter and plug in, good wifi connection, and great place to catch up with things. Coffee was good, and they had a very wide assortment of pastries to tempt you. Its a busy place with a lot of locals coming and going.
Its set up with quite an assortment of antiques and things along the walls, and was fun to take in and see all of he things they have collected. Easy access to anywhere in Ushuaia (its not very big), and very close to the pier if your either disembarking or getting ready to leave on your southern trip to the Antarctic.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The perfect place at any time of the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was probably our favourite restaurant in Ushuaia. The best part about this place is that it's open all day and has options throughout the whole day.

Their wine list is impressive and mostly local (we got a bottle of Jean Rivier Mendoza that is one of the best wines we've ever had). The place used to be an old general store and the walls are covered with odds and ends. It's cozy, and generally always humming with activity.

There's a standard menu for sandwiches, drinks, pastries, coffee and tapas. Then there is a changing chalk board of "platos del dia" which have soups and main courses. We ordered from both menus and were never disappointed.

Just an FYI - since it's so busy, you might need to "flag" down a waiter.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
“cozy, cute, and tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I popped in here based on Trip Advisor recommendations. At 1130am, it was quiet and cozy. I ordered the smoked salmon panini (salmón marinado). It was tasty, though nothing particularly special. Seems like a good go-to place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed El Almacen de Ramos General also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to El Almacen de Ramos General? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Almacen de Ramos General, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.