We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where my daughter got engaged 4 years ago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaupe

Kaupe
Roca 470, Ushuaia, Argentina
542901422704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 91 Restaurants in Ushuaia
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Argentinean, Seafood, International, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Truro,cornwall
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Where my daughter got engaged 4 years ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I wanted to visit because my daughter got engaged to David out in the Beage channel and then came to this restaurant to celebrate. We went and had a meal that could not be faulted. Excellent service. The best in Argentina. Good atmosphere. Up a long hill from the main street in Ushuaia - popular so you need to book in advance. I asked if they would sell me two napkin rings so that I could give them to my daughter as a keepsake and they were happy to oblige. A lovely evening and good wine too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    86
    28
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in Ushuaia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The restaurant is very good, with great service and food. We tried the tasting menu of New Year, harmonized with Rutini wines. The price is right. Try to book a table near the window.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent seafod and stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We saw the good reviews for this restaurant on trip advisor and made an on-line booking before we traveled out to Ushuaia through the restaurant's website. This was easy to do and they emailed us to confirm the booking and reminded us 24hrs before.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the Maitre d' made great suggestions for starters. Over the course of the meal we ate scallops, king crab and sea bass and every dish was wonderful.
We booked for 7pm, which is a little early to eat in Argentina, but by 8pm the restaurant was filling up so I would definitely recommend to make a booking.
The restaurant is on a hill above the town and has lovely views of the Beagle channel.
Three courses for two people with a beer and a glass of wine came to a very reasonable 600 pesos (around £75) and I think it is a must do when in Ushuaia.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The best seafood of my life... Sensationally interesting menu, with wonderful complex flavours evolved from the best freshest ingredients. We had the two kinds of ceviche which were amazing, and two versions of the Merluza - both perfect. Take the maitre d's advice too on whats best that day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwadijk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wonderfull situated, fine service, good atmosfeer. The food is delicious, price is a bit higher, but for the class very acceptable. A must do! Reservation also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaupe also viewed

Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
Ushuaia, Province of Tierra del Fuego
 

Been to Kaupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaupe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.