We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st class hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Andino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Andino Hotel to your Saves list
Alto Andino Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Gobernador Paz 868, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
West hartford Ct
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“1st class hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

From the outside, one would not expect much. However once in the room, the Alto Andino was nicely furnished and comfortable. the fully equipped kitchen was nice, although we were not there long enough to make much use of it. Best was its location. it is walking distance to the waterfront, where many tours depart. Also walking distance to the historic jail, the casino and shops. Breakfast was in a lovely room with views of the harbor and the mountains. Breakfast also included scrambled eggs- the only place that offered them during our Argentina/Uruguay trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    131
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
63
171
18
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Alto Andino for 2 nights. It was a small but clean room with a queen bed. Though the place was a bit cramped ( Americans need a lot of space ;-), The room was well furnished and quite modern. The front service was pleasant and friendly. Ushuaia is built on a steep hillside with most of the houses facing the bay. In spite of that, the view from the top floor is stunning! It is a great place to have breakfast, lunch, dinner and a cup of coffee. The location of the hotel is quite central and walking distance to most of the cool / hot spots in town.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevators. They do make a pretty loud sound every time the door opens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My parents and I loved staying in this hotel. Very clean, very quiet, very comfortable, and very nice bathtubs for soaking in. Breakfast was really good. We could order eggs and bacon. The best thing about this hotel is the quiet breakfast-lounge-bar on the top floor. The panoramic view is beautiful. We spent hours just sitting there watching the amazing mountains, the Beagle channel and the frequently changing weather and clouds. Every restaurant they recommend was great. There is a convenience store immediately across the street and a fabulous, cheap empanada restaurant a block away. The hotel was very quiet (full disclosure: I sleep with foam ear plugs). The hotel is about two blocks uphill from the main center of town, but the hotel was always wiling to call a taxi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had very high hopes for this property after reading many glowing reviews for it online. While I was met with a room with a nice view, it did not make up for the dirtiness of the room, including stained carpets, filthy blankets, dirty dust ruffles, etc. Also, the room was very hot and stuffy. Oddly, the bathroom was very clean. The view from the breakfast room on the 4th floor was spectacular. Internet worked well in the common areas, although signal was weak in the room. Overall, I was very disappointed by our stay, but not sure if there are any better options as it seems there are limited options in Ushuaia.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a nice view but are very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice modern hotel with great view from restaurant/bar/lounge area. Rooms are small but still very clean and modern. We had room on 3rd floor with Beagle channel view and it was the best!

People on front desk are very helpful even though not all of them are fluent in English. Breakfast was good - with the best views!. We like the location as it is 2-3 blocks uphill from main street (San Martin) so close but quite. There is a grocery store nearby and Dublin bar is on your way up so you can have a beer before during your trip up:).

Overall - we were happy with our stay at Alto Andino.

Room Tip: request room on 3rd floor with a view over the Beagle Channel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ntexas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The view from the top floor restaurant is fabulous. Only the top floor rooms below the restaurant have a view of the harbor. All the others are blocked by the hostel just below. There is a number of opaque windows which prevent looking out of many windows. The breakfast was excellent as was dinner. An excellent layover after a trip to Antarctica before returning to Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Stay in room just under restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

While I agree with other posters that the hotel is a few blocks up the hill and the rooms are nothing special, two things stand out that make the Alto Andino a very good option. First, since the rooms are more like apartments than hotel rooms, it makes it very easy when one person wants to sleep late for the other to go to the other room and read or do something else without disturbing their companion. Second, the restaurant and bar on the 5th floor have a 360 degree view that is exceptional, and makes enjoying a drink or meal that much more pleasurable. Staff was friendly, free breakfast adequate.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Andino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Andino Hotel

Address: Gobernador Paz 868, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 Hotels in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alto Andino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alto Andino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Andino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.