We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur to your Saves list
Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur
Gobernador Valdez 323, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A pleasant B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this B&B due to the positive Tripadvisor comments and we were not disappointed. Situated a short 10 minute walk from the main street in a quiet neighborhood the property was clean and tidy, but the bedroom was a little basic. The owners, Alejandro and Francis, were fantastic and very helpful, with 3 friendly dogs. The WiFi for my wife to work was excellent. Breakfasts could have been a bit better but tied us over almost to lunch, and we were given use of the kitchen to prepare lunches and cook dinners. We would recommend this accommodation to others visiting Ushuaia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Galeazzi-Basily. The owners, Alejandro and Francis, are so incredibly friendly and warm. They are very knowledgeable about the area and have great information about the activities available in Ushuaia. If staying at the B&B, you are literally staying in their house with them so it is very inviting and comfortable, with lots of homey touches (and three really great dogs!). The bedrooms are on the smaller side compared to other places we stayed, but that wasn't an issue at all. The bathrooms are clean and comfortable, with plenty of hot water for showers. Breakfast consisted of various breads, jams and dulce de leche, as well as cereal and yogurt. Francis happily made more toast for us after she noticed we had finished our basket. We enjoyed the location because it was on a quiet street and was only about a seven minute walk from the center of town.

It was definitely one of our favorite places we stayed in on our five week trip around Southern Argentina and Chile and we would happily stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a great time at Galeazzi-Basily. Alejandro & Francis make you feel at home the minute you enter their house. My boyfriend Marcel got ill and had to stay in bed for two days. Francis was very sweet, comforting me that he would be fine and meanwhile, making him rice and telling him what to do (and what not to eat :-)). Rooms are very comfortable (the cabins are great as well) and the bathroom you share with only one other room is always clean. Francis and her son gave some good advices for the must-sees in Patagonia, which helped to make it the best stay in Patagonia we could imagine. The city-centre is only a couple of blocks away. Stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a shared bathroom double bed with breakfast included. Paid £43.38 per night (around US$67). In summary, I give this 5 stars for the very welcoming nature of the owners, Alajandro and Francis, who effectively opened their home to us. Wonderful hosts. The room is expected for the price you pay I think. Happy to recommend this place as I feel it offers great value.

PROS:
1. Very welcoming hosts. Took time to explain to us what Ushuaia is all about and suggested an itinerary for us to follow. Maybe corny for me to say, but they treated us as if we were family visiting. For example, when we were on our way back, she offered to send us to the airport, as she was picking up her son from there too.

2. Free tea, coffee, water anytime from the living room. And homebaked cakes too during tea time - very tasty.

3. Location: close to town - less than 10 mins walk to the Main Street.

4. You only share a bathroom with 1 other room - so, not really a problem.

5. No problems with hot water.

6. Comfortable beds and pillows. Heating system was good.

7. No problems with hot water.

8. Full use of kitchen if you want it.

CONS:
1. The room can be considered a little small but it was not a problem for us.

2. No hanging space in the room - but I think this may be typical of rooms in Argentina. A hanging space would have been nice if one is staying for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, in one of the cabins. Everything was ok, but not more than that, and for the night rate they charge, i definitely expected more. The daily cleaning doesn't meet any standard (they don't even clean the floor, just wash the breakfast dishes), all the kitchen facilities are old and somehow dirty or chopped, and the water heater is a nightmare - you need to regulate the water flow 4 times during a 2 minutes shower, otherwise its too cold or too hot. Again, nothing too bad or that you cant leave with, but not appropriate for the rate charged.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We would have loved to stay longer at this bed and breakfast so book early if you can. We really felt welcomed by the hosts, Alejandro and Francis, who provided us with a wonderful room, excellent advice about the local glacier hike, and who went out of their way to ensure all of our needs were met.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the cabins in back, but they looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

It was our second visit Ushuaya and second stay in this B&B . It is not Marriot or Los Cauquenes . It is rather like suburban simple but cosy house . It seems I visit my old dear friends . The main treasure of this place is it hosts Francis and Alejandro . Very amiable and helpful . I'm very thankful for you . I recommend this place who appreciate simplicity and heartfulness and I can't recommend it who prefer luxury . We miss you . Evgeny & Elena . Moscow

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur

Address: Gobernador Valdez 323, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house and cabins are located 500m from downtown Ushuaia in a quiet neighborhood. We have two twin bed rooms with shared bath at the house. Three cabins located in our garden, have a room with a matrimonial bed, two extra beds in the living room, a kitchenette, fridge, bathroom. Free WiFi connection. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.