We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur to your Saves list
Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur
Gobernador Valdez 323, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Ushuaia B&B and Inns
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We like this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

It was our second visit Ushuaya and second stay in this B&B . It is not Marriot or Los Cauquenes . It is rather like suburban simple but cosy house . It seems I visit my old dear friends . The main treasure of this place is it hosts Francis and Alejandro . Very amiable and helpful . I'm very thankful for you . I recommend this place who appreciate simplicity and heartfulness and I can't recommend it who prefer luxury . We miss you . Evgeny & Elena . Moscow

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    21
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
53
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

You find the b&b near the center of Ushuaia(7min. Walk to the harbour/ citycenter). Francis welcomed us with open arms. She gives à warm feeling. She also gives à lot of information and can arrange taxi's/ tours. Everything morrning the breakfast is served at à big table in the livingroom. This is very welcome after à good quiet nightrest. The double rooms are not big, but you have enough space. They have a personal touch. Every two bedrooms share one bathroom. The rooms and bathroom are very clean. We don't know other options in Ushuaia, but when we come back to ushuaia we defenitely would stay here. TIP: excursions: THE 4 hour trip with patagonia adventure explorer is very good and above all the trip with Piratour to the Pinguin-island. Both have an office at the opposite of the informationcenter at the harbour. Don't forget to get à stamp in your passport of ushuaia . You can get it at the informationcenter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Woow...this was really marvellous. Very good beds, good bathrooms with hot showers, beautiful house with extremely friendly (multilingual) hostess. Good breakfast with (finally) good black coffee. We're going to miss the hospitality.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a studio style cabin at the back of the property, cosy and warm, good bed. I think it comes a bit to easy for the people of Ushuaia, the effort to make the stay something to remember is not there, generally their tourism is overpriced as I think this apartment was. The little things which are so easy to fix like a fry pan that is clean, decent saucepan, some kitchen utensils that are not years old and can be replaced for a few dollars seem to regarded as not essential. Floor rugs that should have been throw out years ago. It would be so easy to give a better impression. Owners were friendly but going through the motions, been at it to long.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This place has both a Bed & Breakfast and cabins. They are both in the same place but in different buildings. The B&B is in the main house where Alejandro and Francia lives (I think they have 4 rooms), and the cabins (I think there are 3) are next to and behind the main house. If you stay in the cabin you can also use the main house.
I stayed in a cabin with my wife and brother-in-law and it was excellent (I don't know about the B&B because we didn't enter the rooms). The cabin is well equiped with a TV, a DVD player, heaters, a microwave, a cooktop, a coffeemaker (with filters), tableware, glasses, plates, mugs, a minifridge, etc. The one we stayed has a bathroom, one room for a couple, one living room with two sofa-bed, a kitchen in the living room with a table for dinner.
There is a simple breakfast included in the cabin (different from the B&B breakfast) with bread, butter, juice, coffee, sugar, etc. We bought some eggs and cheese in the local supermarket to complement.
The location is very good, near to the main street and city center where there are very good restaurants, markets and shops. We stayed during the winter to ski in Cerro Castor. Due to our location we were always the last to pick up and the first to be delievered (that was perfect, hehehe).
The owners are great, nice, honest and gentle people who always helped us with our problems and needs.
The price was also very good. We payed US$ 95 per night (divided for 3 persons, so 31 for each, a bargain in Ushuaia!). I think the cabins are the best option and best cost-benefit in Ushuaia.
The only problem though was the somewhat thin walls in the cabin we stayed, since it was very next to one of the other cabins. But that wasn't a big deal for us.
Totally recommend it and totally surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Rooms in the house are on the small size. The beds were very good and it is in a very quiet neighbourhood, so we always had a good nights sleep. Alejandro and Frances are very nice Hosts and very helpfull (the dogs are also great and the house does not stink of dogs!). Winter activity tip; we went dog sledding (180 pesos/person) and cross country skiing (40 pesos/person/hour) at Las Cotorras. 25km from town by bus (100 pesos/person return).

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This is the first time I've stayed somewhere that wasn't a "hotel". It did not disappoint. Alejandro and Frances were extremely helpful and kind during our stay. There dogs were also fun to be with since they're very friendly. Staying at the house felt just like home. The B&B is a about a 5-7 minute walk to the main streets, which was fine because it was secluded enough away from all of the noise. It's very close to the super market as well as the restaurants. Frances and Alejandro know just about everything about Ushuaia, so if you need any recommendations they're always willing to help! If you're going to plan a trip to the end of the world, I would definitely recommend Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur

Address: Gobernador Valdez 323, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Ushuaia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house and cabins are located 500m from downtown Ushuaia in a quiet neighborhood. We have two twin bed rooms with shared bath at the house. Three cabins located in our garden, have a room with a matrimonial bed, two extra beds in the living room, a kitchenette, fridge, bathroom. Free WiFi connection. Breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galeazzi-Basily Bed & Breakfast y Cabanas Aves del Sur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.