We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but shop around for better value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tierra Del Fuego

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ushuaia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tierra Del Fuego
Save
You added Hotel Tierra Del Fuego to your Saves list
Gobernador Deloqui N0 198, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Adequate but shop around for better value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Reasonably new looking hotel providing clean and tidy rooms with firm beds. Located one street off the main drag but on a corner so rowdy cars can disturb at night. Breakfast was adequate and staff reasonably helpful. If you have a choice shop around for better value as we felt it was a bit pricy. We stayed at three differnt hotels on three successive nights here in Ushuaia and this would probably be our third choice - but there was not much between any ot them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    69
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
54
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

if you visit Ushuaia, and don´t want to safe some money in order to spend it in excursions, I recommend to stay at this hotel. big rooms, clean, with a continental breakfast that is ok. The price is more then correct for the quality of price that they offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is located one block from the main shopping street, and is within walking distance to the harbor area and several small museums. We were placed here because our selected hotel was over-booked, so were glad to have a place to stay. The room was very large, but what does that matter if the beds are uncomfortable? We were placed in a twin room on the third floor and the mattresses were not very comfortable. The bathroom was very basic and clean. The breakfast was very basic, cereals, bread, cheese, and ham, no eggs. The fitness center had a treadmill and what appeared to be a 30 year old exercise bike in a small room in the basement. This was not a bad hotel, but was very average and not worth what we paid. The only reason I gave it an Average rating and not lower, was because it was clean and in a central location, but it is a very average property.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Nice hotel that caters for bus trips. It is situated one street up from the main shopping street and near the museums and banks. The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff were polite with many of them speaking a little English.

The rooms either look out over the harbour or over the mountains. The reception and dining areas were airy and had large windows. The main problem was the heating. It was constantly on and all of the rooms, corridors and public areas were overly hot while I was there. The weather was quite mild and on cooler days I’m sure this would have been welcome. However, the inability to turn off the heaters meant the windows had to be open and consequently traffic noise and dogs barking was an issue at night.

The breakfast was cereal, ham, cheese, bread for toast and a variety of pastries and jams, as well as tea and coffee.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights recently. Rooms were spacious. Bathroom clean. We had the corner room on the first floor. If you opened the windows it was noisy with the traffic, but when the windows were closed, it was very quiet. Nice view of the mountains, rooms facing the channel would have better views. It is one block from the main street and close to prison museum. It has a small minibar and wifi in rooms that worked well. Beds were comfortable. Breakfasts are the usual Sth American fare - too much sweet biscuits and cakes, bread, croissants. I would use this hotel again. Service staff were accommodating. Excellent heating throughout hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

After staying at a many different hotels and hostels since arriving in South America, I got here to Ushuaia a couple night ago. When we walked it we found a great friendly staff. The desk clerk spok English perfectly, while I am trying hard to,learn Spanish it was nice to talk English again.

To walk into a hotel and be greeted with a honest smile and laugh, not the ones put on for you, was great.

The entire staff was warm, friendly, super super helpful and just great all around.

My room ,105, was clean and comfortable. it was nice to be able to open a window, get some fresh air without a lot of noise.

If I ever come back here this would be my hotel of choice.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, clean and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

It is a lovely hotel and very well located. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable with great vew. The bed was great. The bathroom was comfortable and with hairdryer and heating. Great pillows and towels. Free Wi-fi in the bedrooms. Also free security box in the bedroom. Free Internet spot in the lobby. The man at the front desk was very nice, as well as the other members of the stuff. The breakfast buffet was good but basic.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tierra Del Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tierra Del Fuego

Address: Gobernador Deloqui N0 198, Ushuaia 9410, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Tierra del Fuego > Ushuaia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Ushuaia
Number of rooms: 43

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tierra Del Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.