We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Cantera Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Cantera Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save $60 on select meals
Ranked #9 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Beautiful little hotel. Good breakfast, lot of sweet treats. Excellent service. It is near the main street, not very close but good enough.
If you buy the lunch box to take it to the excursions, keep in mind the sandwich is kind of small and for us it was not enough, you should take a few snacks extra. I would come back for sure

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    147
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
325
19
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were only in El Calafate for two days and picked this hotel due to the great reviews and the reasonable price. We were booked in for the mountain view room. We arrived way before check in, but that was no problem. We were promptly checked into our room. I was surprised to see that our room had a partial view of the lake, I was so pleased! They name their rooms after the glaciers and we stayed in Upsala (in my opinion the most spectacular glacier!). The room was nice and cosy and immediately felt at home. The hotel staff were very professional and we were given a quick guide to our room. Complementary water was provided by the hotel as we were advised that the tap water was not drinkable. The hotel has all the facilities you may need. They even book tours to see the glaciers, we had already booked our tour so I cannot comment on their services. The main street is only a ten minute walk away, it is uphill on the way back. If you don't fancy the walk the hotel provided a free shuttle service from 20:00 to 24:00. This was a lovely touch. We however walked despite my fear of dogs! (trust me el calafate has it's fair share of stray dogs!). The breakfast is served from 06:00 to 10:00 which is great as most tours leave at about 07:00, so you can fill up. The hotel also provide a packed lunch service for your trips. The breakfast was wonderful, a great selection. I have a sweet tooth so the home made cakes were a welcome treat!!! My two criticisms are, firstly you had to let the water in the shower run for a fair while for the hot water to come. Secondly, during breakfast I felt "under the microscope" I didn't feel relaxed as the staff are constantly present and watching you. Apart from that I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our accommodation at La Cantera at El Calafate certainly exceeded our expectations. The lake and mountain views were stunning, especially at sunrise /sunset. Our room was spacious with plenty of room to unpack, relax and at times just be messy. As others have mentioned staff efficiently booked tours and were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent, foods included fruit (fresh, dried and cut fruit salad) juice, cereals, variety of eggs dishes, freshly baked breads and pastries. We did enjoy the lemon pie too, whilst not something we would normally have for breakfast, we were on holidays so why not?
The most enjoyable part though was our evening meals. Chef, Augustine, planned various appetizers, entrees, mains and desserts that were simply superb. After the first evening, we actually had dinner each evening (4) in the hotel which we have never done before on our holidays. It was enjoyable to taste chef's modern flavours and traditional regional dishes. He also very quickly realised the type of wines we enjoyed and made excellent suggestions. Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms with lake views in the main building on the end were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here last October and found the staff very friendly and willing to help out in any way to make our stay pleasant. The manager even arranged to book and pick up the tickets for the glacier cruise of our choice, which saved us considerable time. The breakfasts are very good.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with views across the lake, town and the Andes. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights in El Calafate, wished could have stayed longer to extend the stay at La Cantera. Service was perfect, Giorgina in particular made our stay soo easy, smooth and hassle free that made us happy to be there. Recommendations for excursions were right, breakfast was very good (ask my gf for the homemade cakes), room big and clean. Location was not a big issue as per other reviews: most of the tours come to pick you-up, car service is provided for free between 20-24h and when not available they even refund your taxi bills! Walls are a bit thin, so depending on your neighbors, it might get a bit noisy.Two thumbs up for a great hotel and a great staff. Well done!

Room Tip: Superior: not big difference but Jacuzzi in the room is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

La Cantera was a great choice for us in El Calafate. The service was great. They provided many great options for excursions. The Glacier tour, the cabelgadas(horseriding) was spectacular and the trip to El Chalten. We were so glad that we had them arrange them for us. Be advised that you can only pay for these in cash.

Our room was very clean, even after we went out for dinner, came back and it was cleaned again. Wonderful. The breakfast is a gigantic display of lovely treats. You will not go hungry. You will get more that you thought you were paying for staying here.

Additionally, the restaurant is amazing! We dined here two of our 5 nights and loved each meal. The chef was an absolute delight. An aperitif to start, a canape next, soup, our main and then dessert. All of which were fantastic. Come to find out he is very well educated in the culinary arts (trust me, it shows) and is looking to open his own restaurant. This is the best food in town, believe me. And there are some pretty good restaurants in El Calafate too.

Bottom line, even though it is up the hill, it is a pleasant walk and a great place to come home to at the end of a long excursion day. Taxis are cheap if you don't want to walk and they also run a nighttime shuttle for dinner. What more could you want?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Lovely hotel, very cozy. I stayed in a Mountain view room located on the corner so We could see both Mountain and Lake. The hotel is located on top of a hill so you have a nice view of the city and the lake. You can walk to the main street (about 300 meters). At night, they provide a car that drive you to the center and it can also pick you up before midnight.

Helpful and friendly staff that speaks english. Also, the food is delicious! Excellent Chef!!

Room Tip: The mountain view room is more private. The lake view is beautiful but faces the entrance of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Cantera Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cantera Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
La Cantera El Calafate
La Cantera Boutique Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia
Address: Calle 306 #173, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#4 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#5 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — La Cantera Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the amazing environment of Argentine Patagonia and its Glaciers, La Cantera Boutique Hotel Calafate is built on the top of the city, ensuring a seamless perspective and having access to both the city’s shopping center and any attraction you may want to visit. Inaugurated in 2004, it was the first Patagonian Boutique hotel in the area. The building was thought to provide such a cozy feeling that our guests can intermingle with the environment without isolating themselves from it. Let us guide you along the Hotel, we want to provide you with hospitality and an exclusive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your La Cantera Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cantera Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.