We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm and confortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shehuen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shehuen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shehuen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rio Santa Cruz 2340, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
world
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A warm and confortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Shehuen it's a very nice hotel. It's situated a bit out of the centre, but just 10 minutes walking. And the view from there is amazing! You can enjoy it from most of the room and during the breakfast. It's really wanderful and unforgetable.
The service is very good and the reception guys had been very kind and available. There's a pool also
I was there for 3 days in dicember and there was a very confortable and warm atmosphere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    59
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
76
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were booked into this hotel through a tour company. We were very surprised and disappointed with how far this hotel was to town. As well, we found that the WIFI which was only available in the common area to be quite slow and inconvenient. However, the room was clean and good size but it did not take long for us to realize how thin the walls were between the rooms. That first night we were kept awake into the wee hours of the morning due to the noises created by other guests. We complained to the front desk clerk about this so he went to their room to have then quieten down. Even in a more subdued voices, "everything" could be heard. We were going to check out and move to another hotel for these reasons but the manager offered us another room upstairs and off to the end to make up for the night before. We did stay for that second night due to their efforts to make our stay more comfortable. We did not eat dinner at the restaurant but had breakfast there as it was included with our room cost. The breakfast had a pretty good selection of items, mostly for those who like sweets.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor at the end of the building would be quieter since you may hear what is goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived here for a one night stay and were perplexed with the distance from the centre of the town, and the 'dodgy' surroundings with dirt gravel road.

Our room is situated by the laundry and therefore took one hour to air out, as the soapy smell in the air had us both coughing.

The lobby is nice, and the view of the Lake is lovely - but when we walked into town we saw other places that were a little more in the middle of places to go. We couldn't have dinner here and so settled for a larger lunch instead of walking all the way back into town!

It's not a horrible place, but I don't think it's lived up to the 4.5 stars given by tripadvisor ratings!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I must admit that our first impression of the hotel was "Oh no!". But as soon as we entered, we were greeted by one of their managers who was helpful, friendly and so keen to give us our welcoming drink (homemade red wine served cold, surprisingly nice!). In addition, he carried our heavy bags to our room and decline a tip. Talking about A+ service!

The hotel was a bit quirky but in a good way. They dyed their bread just for fun and everyday they had different colours. And here we were thinking it was the glacier water...

Hebe, who is one of the managers, was very helpful. He recommended a few places for dinner and they were spot on. We loved their homemade red wine so much that they gave us a bottle for free when we left. So, would i stay here again you asked? Abso"bloody"lutely!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed there by myself for 3 days (2 nights). The hotel itself is not located in the main street but within a walking distance. It up a small hill and has a magnificent view of the Lago Argentino. The room was nice and clean, and also the bathroom. The TV had a few channels in English which was nice. I used the massage service after taking the "Big Ice" trek on the glacier, and apparently not al hotels offer this service, so I was lucky. Being vegan it wasn't easy to manage with food but the staff was very attentive and went along with all my meshigines. There's free Wi-Fi in the lobby area which was very useful. I was lucky to be there on days with quite warm weather and no rain so the heating was too much for me, so I left the window open at night. My sister who stayed there 3 months before told me it was freezing so the heating is a must. I would definitely go there again if I ever revisit El Calafate, and I warmly recommend it.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view to the lake. Better ask for the rooms in the top floor if you like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

Would highly recommend to stay here. Can walk into town and back though up hill on way home but Taxi s are cheap staff are friendly and very helpful food good too

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The manager Daniel made us feel at home, he was very helpful in our stay.

The pool are wonderful and it´s great to relax a little at the end of the day (i can´t remember for sure... but guess the pool is not open at night).

The hotel is around 4 or 5 blocks away from the 'center avenue' of the city... but the city is so small (basically one avenue) that you can walk. but if you need taxis, it wont cost you more than 5 dollars.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shehuen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shehuen Hotel

Address: Rio Santa Cruz 2340, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#29 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shehuen Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Shehuen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shehuen Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shehuen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.