We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for relaxation in El Calafate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manzana 642 | Punta Soberana, El Calafate 9405, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 71 hotels in El Calafate
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good option for relaxation in El Calafate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rooms were very spacious and clean. The overall cost/quality ratio is quite good. It is a bit far from town, but it makes things more relaxing, and the setting is quite tranquil, especially with the beautiful views of Lago Argentino. The breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    64
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
138
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

stayed 3 nights in january 2013 , very nice comfortable hotel , the only thing was that there is no air conditioning and in january it was a bit warm, the rooms on the ground floor were worried about opening the window at night. the service was good and good english was spoken by the staff. the view of lake argentina is amazing ,very blue water .didn't try their restaurant , we ate in el calafate town , which is a fantastic place for eating and shopping. there are many restaurants . the hotel has a shuttle each hour into town , too far to walk . anyway a very pleasant stay at the hotel ,which is very clean and modern. recommended for people looking for peace and quiet.

Room Tip: room facing the lake but not on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

As we arrived around 7pm to the hotel we had to hurry into town before 8pm as than the tour shops closed. We were lucky to be able to book the tours we wanted I would recommend using google and other websites to search for the things you want to see and do in El Calafate/Patagonia as many tours on sight will be sold out for the days you would like to do them this trip requires planning.
The diner we had in the minimalistic restaurant of the hotel was very good really amazed by it. Price quality was very good. We had 3 starters mains and deserts with coffee and bottle of wine and water for 576$A approx. 110-120US$. The service was amazing too very nice friendly and helpful.
The starters were very well prepared and tasty. The main course of Lamb Patagonian Style was amazing! The beef chorizo was good although not cooked raw as was requested it came medium. The wine was cheap but very nice full bodied and drank rather too well ;-) The view from the restaurant is very nice especially at sunset! The colors of the aky amazed us as did the color of the Lago de Argentina (Lake of Argentina) it was a very deep azure blue.
The room was clean and very basic. The bed was a huge king size for me alone which was great and I slept very well. My friends had a room with two separate beds which looked much smaller. The bathroom was clean with soap, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion but no shower gel.
The internet connection is good through out the hotel. One password for all.
The next day we were very disappointed by the breakfast as it was compared to the diner of very poor quality. The eggs were too runny we didn't eat them. The cheese looked sweaty. The ham looked not nice too. I don't eat ham but I could tell the quality was low. The cereals were limited as the yoghurt too watery was more a drink than actual yoghurt. The huge amount of pastries didn't compensate for the breakfast quality. The juices were not nice either I had just tea and water. The third day at the restaurant was again very good and the food was great the trout I ordered was slightly salty but had a delicious smoky flavor. The beef chorizo my friend had was much better prepared than the first day I had it, I think you have to be very specific in explaining the preparation method of the beef.

Check-out was a bit chaotic as the bill was paid in full by me before hand and they gave me a bill to pay all in total and I remarked this and they said they didn't know anything about my booking or booking company. This I had to proof my handing over the payment slip. So bring all your print outs from home incase they need proof that you paid already. After this all was fine and I could wonder off.
All in all it was a lovely hotel but certainly not 4**** and for me the location was too far away and the view did not compensate this. I would recommend staying closer to town this also safes huge on travel costs to and from the airport and on tour activities. The rooms were a normal nice comfort but nothing special no tea-coffee maker or bathrobes nor an excellent breakfast making this hotel for me a 3*** hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very nice hotel, with a great view of the brilliantly blue Lago Argentino.

Positives:
- Excellent view
- Quiet
- Nice restaurant
- Pleasant service
- Clean & nice rooms (modern by South American standards)

Negatives:
- Bit far from the town centre - about a US$10 taxi ride.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here a few nights, cancelled the rest. Many big groups stay here and they end up taking over. Hotel is far from town 15 min drive. They do have a shuttle bus every hour, but not before 11am and not after 10:30. Unfortunately, the shuttle fills up and then you cannot get a ride. Hotel has a beautiful view of the lake, but we did not have a lake view-what is the point of staying out of town if you don't have a view? It was also expensive; $160 a night. You can get much better places for cheaper. The breakfast was just OK, no fresh fruit and the waiters did not clean up when others left; the tables were dirty and covered in crumbs. The restaurant has a beautiful deck over looking the lake but doesn't even have chairs out there. On the positive side, one of the desk guys was quite helpful in recommendations and was welcoming, but he was the only helpful member of the staff. The rooms were spacious and housekeeping did a good job.

Room Tip: Do not bother if you don't have a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here five nights at the end of December 2012 with two kids. I can not recommend this hotel enough. We visited a dozen comparable hotels when we were there in search of massage. Edenia is not a spa. But it has unbelievable amenities. It has great views from most rooms. The friendliest service, a good restaurant in an amazing setting. We went on hikes right in front of the hotel to the lake and back. Total of 3 mile loop. Hotel is slightly out of town but has free shuttle every hour back and forth.

We stayed in eight different hotels in Argentina. This was our favorite and one of the cheapest. One thing I wish was different is the thin walls in the hotel. But we figured out that this is the case with even the most expensive hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is well out of the town of El Calafate. It is very nice, clean, professional, etc. It is a little like staying at a Marriott hotel in the U.S. The service is nice, but I was glad we had a car because you are totally outside of town.

Next time I would stay right in town, but we did have a nice time. Good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel

Address: Manzana 642 | Punta Soberana, El Calafate 9405, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Patagonia > Province of Santa Cruz > El Calafate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in El Calafate
#20 Romantic Hotel in El Calafate
#22 Family Hotel in El Calafate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edenia Punta Soberana
Edenia Punta Soberana El Calafate
Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel El Calafate, Argentina - Patagonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edenia Punta Soberana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.